We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour

The Reef Fleet Terminal 1 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4051 0444
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.64*
and up
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$71.64*
and up
Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$35.06*
and up
Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“reef rocket” (49 reviews)
“semi sub” (78 reviews)
“green island” (331 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:30 - 21:00
LOCATION
The Reef Fleet Terminal 1 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4051 0444
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My Partner and I went on the cruise a week ago while we were staying in Cairns. It was a last minute decision and it was a great decision. The crew were helpful and entertaining from Check in to the ride back. The Full day...More

Thank Amanda C
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your kind feedback. I'll pass your comments onto the Marine operations dept and Res Manager so they can congratulate or res team and crew accordingly for their helpful service. It' really is great...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the full-day cruise to Green Island on the 'Big Cat' catamaran. We had both been to the island before, but many years ago, so we knew it was going to be a very relaxing day. The trip out was great, with excellent service...More

Thank stephena725
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Thanks Stephen, We appreciate your kind feedback and will be sure to pass your comments onto our staff and crew. Thank you for acknowledging our great value for money experience and hopefully we'll see you again with us one day. Thanks and regards, Chris Koscielny...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Green Island is fairly small. It seems to be a resort, and I guess, as a resort, it would be pleasant. But there were quite a large number of tours arriving the day we were there, and they seemed mostly interested in the glass bottom...More

Thank bdinmadison
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Thanks for your review bdinmadison, Sorry your day didn't seem to live up to your personal expectations. Yes we are very popular with families and passengers that don't have great swimming ability due to the close beach access and coral viewing tours we provide. Thanks...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Half day trip to Green Island. Prompt pick from front of hotel. Semi submersible and glass bottom boat experiences brilliant. I use a walker. Staff helpful. Steep steps accessing but well worth itMore

Thank cmblades57
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Hi CMBlades, Thanks so much for the 5 stars, good to see the GBB tour and the Semi Sub were a hit for yourself and family. We'll pass on your thanks to the helpful staff also. Thanks for taking the time to write in. Regards,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled to Green Island via the Big Cat, went snorkelling was was included in the cost, fortunate enough to have snorkelled with some green turtles, not much to see of the reef but we did see various coral formations in the included glass bottomed discovery,...More

Thank Clinton P
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Hi Clinton, Just a quick thank you for your comments and review. We really appreciate the 5 stars and your in depth feedback. Hopefully we'll see you with us on board again one day. Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This Big Cat excursion to Green Island was an extreme disappointment. The only Reef can be seen from the dock and is mostly dead. There are very few fish. The pictures advertised of people snorkeling close to the beach are showing people looking at seaweed...More

Thank Dan F
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Hi Dan, I see you reviewed on the same day as our previous reviewer and can only presume that the weather was poor that day with you both suggesting poor reports about snorkeling and the reef. If you take a look at some of the...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The boat was crowded and disorganised. Don't bother paying for the "buffet lunch" it is not worth the money, buy your lunch on the island. The beach snorkeling on the island is just awful, mostly sea grass beds near the shore and what coral is...More

Thank Brenda L
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Hi Brenda, Sorry to read your poor feedback. We appreciate everyone is entitled to their own opinion, I'm just confused as to how you can suggest this about snorkeling when you can see so many other reviews suggest the opposite. hopefully you can visit us...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017

We live in Cairns and have been to Green Island several times with Big Cat and have always loved it. The staff are amazing, good value for money and its great for kids with safe beaches. Must-do activities are definitely the Semi-Submarine which gives really...More

Thank Andyb0198
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Thanks Andy, It's always nice to hear from a locals perspective and that you've travelled with us several times before. We agree the semi sub is still the highlight activity to do as well a quick snorkel with a turtle. Thanks for taking the time...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We were looking for a one day 'cruise to see the Reef, and Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruise was perfect. Our boat left and returned on time; everything well-organised and ran with precision. The crossing took about forty minutes. It was quite choppy but...More

Thank LikeTraveler
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this review

Dear LikeTraveler, Thank you for your kind comments and review we really appreciate your feedback. Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Visited Green Island for the first time in nearly ten years. Despite a wet day which is the nature of the beast in the Far North this time of year, we had a good day. The staff on board the boat were 1st class. The...More

Thank Matthew J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Prawn Star
271 reviews
.30 km away
Waterbar & Grill Steakhouse
1,172 reviews
.19 km away
Tha Fish
944 reviews
.24 km away
Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
1,755 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
ZOO TO YOU HQ - Discovery Centre
10 reviews
.29 km away
Kuranda & Cairns Sightseeing Tour
127 reviews
.28 km away
Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom
1,460 reviews
.20 km away
Passions of Paradise Reef Tour
1,078 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
geetu
I am planning to visit and take the green island cruise. My senior citizen parents are going to be with me and I wanted to know if they will be able to take the cantaraman boat ride. I heard the waters are very choppy so the boat ride is very rough. The ride gets nauseous and our backs take a beating. Please advice
2 April 2016|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Geetu, Thanks for contacting us. Yes, we have no age restrictions with regards to travelling with us. The weather will play a major part in deciding how comfortable it will be on certain days and this is something we... More
0
Votes
Cookie1978
Hi we are thinking of booking to come on a half day tour , are we able to bring our 1.5 year old and his stroller ?
14 March 2016|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Cookie, No problem at all. Infants travel free of charge and the stroller is not an issue. there is a boardwalk on the island also which makes things easier for the stroller. Please let me know if you have any further... More
1
Vote
Reviewer2699
I am considering booking a tour at the start of November. I understand the tides can affect how much can be seen when snorkelling and we are considering booking a half day tour possibly. What type of tide is best?
3 October 2015|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Filipa, Looking at the tides at the start of November I can't see it affecting you too much. If looking at the first few days of November I would probably suggest the afternoon rather than the morning due to a higher... More
0
Votes