We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gone Fishing Cairns

Features Animals
Finger C, Marlin Marina | Marina Mirage, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Save
Review Highlights
Worst fishing charter ever. Jim's gone fishing

That was the worst fishing charter I have ever been on and Jim is the worst guides and a... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2018
gazybarnes
,
Wubin, Australia
via mobile
Fish cairns

What a waste of time!! Jim has the personality of a wet rag. Sorry i dont call somebody throwing... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2018
rospascale1
,
Wollongong, Australia
via mobile
Read all 131 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“barramundi” (13 reviews)
“great morning” (12 reviews)
“sea eagles” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Finger C, Marlin Marina | Marina Mirage, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"barramundi"
in 13 reviews
"great morning"
in 12 reviews
"sea eagles"
in 2 reviews
"legal size"
in 2 reviews
"guide daniel"
in 2 reviews
"mangrove jack"
in 2 reviews
"half day trip"
in 5 reviews
"different locations"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"fingermark"
in 11 reviews
"estuary"
in 10 reviews
"grunter"
in 2 reviews
"undersized"
in 3 reviews
"species"
in 4 reviews
"sharks"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

That was the worst fishing charter I have ever been on and Jim is the worst guides and a embarrassment to Cairns. Please don't waste your money!

3  Thank gazybarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim103299, Owner at Gone Fishing Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

There were 8 of you that drank two cartons of beer in the first two hours of the charter. You were drunk and very obnoxious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

What a waste of time!! Jim has the personality of a wet rag. Sorry i dont call somebody throwing your line out and just leaving it there until you get a bite fishing. If we were going after Barra jim obviously didnt want to use...More

3  Thank rospascale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Went out Barra fishing with gone fishing charters cairns, an absolute waste of money and time . Jim the tour guide needs to lighten up a little maybe this is not the right job for him , his people skills are non existent his arrogance...More

11  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

What a total waste of half a day in this beautiful place. Cairns doesn’t deserve operators that are cocky and arrogant. I didn’t know that part of my half day fishing that an hour and a half was spent watching Jim throw his net to...More

6  Thank nonuborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went on a half day trip (morning) & was very disappointed....Jim is a rude man who treats everyone like idiots. We spent the first 45 mins watching him trying to catch bait (thought he should've been prepared & already had it organised). We didn't...More

1  Thank trace246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim103299, Owner at Gone Fishing Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

If you had of taken the time to read our brochure or website it says that all trips begin with the collection of live bait. My day already starts at 5.30am do you suggest it should start at 4.30am. It also says that locations are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I did the half day tour which took us to 3 locations where we caugh minimal fish ( not deep sea fishing). Jim attitude needs to change or he needs to change his careeer. This was a waste of time on my holiday. Its not...More

3  Thank Ambertalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Well it pains me to write this but my partner and I returned to the jetty at Cairns after a morning fishing with Jim. We both looked at each other as we walked away and said what a rude pig of a man. From the...More

3  Thank nugget20369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Jim is unfriendly and disrespectful, and he seems don't wanna people to keep fish, cause he never ask anyone wanna keep fish, he just release all day. We booked a full day fishing trip with gone fishing on 7/8/2017, and Jim confirmed that for us....More

2  Thank 三色貓 三
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

So the fish weren't 'on' in the estuary when I visited at end of June 2017, 7 people on board and two nanygai were caught, one of which was undersized and returned to the deep. The boat was clean, the tour guide knowledgeable, professional and...More

1  Thank richgardixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Jim is one of the surliest man i have ever met - he treated us like we were at a war camp - he used his best bait for his wannabes - he had the personality of a wet sock, seriously if you don't like...More

2  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 63 hotels in Cairns
Hilton Cairns
2,442 reviews
.03 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
688 reviews
.14 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2,117 reviews
.18 km away
Pullman Cairns International
2,320 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Vivaldis Restaurant
420 reviews
.24 km away
Tamarind
857 reviews
.18 km away
Bushfire Flame Grill
976 reviews
.13 km away
Ochre Restaurant
326 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Doongal Aboriginal Art
59 reviews
.19 km away
Green Island
1,921 reviews
.09 km away
The Reef Hotel Casino
568 reviews
.12 km away
Underart Gallery
29 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gone Fishing Cairns staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;