We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1 Resort Drive,, Australia (Formerly Wildlife Park)
Phone Number: +61 7 4946 9078
Website
Today
07:30 - 17:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 17:30
Description:

WILD LIFE Hamilton Island is one of only a few places in the world where...

WILD LIFE Hamilton Island is one of only a few places in the world where you can experience the thrill and excitement of cuddling a koala. This is an excellent opportunity to get up close and personal with one of Australia's most famous and unique animals.

Other experiences include Breakfast with the Koalas, Koala Cuddle Photos, personal encounters with other animals including our Dingoes, Snakes and Lizards, our Keeper Tours (free with admission) and the Twilight Tour and BBQ.

For more info visit our website or drop us an email!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 467 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 130
    Excellent
  • 126
    Very good
  • 104
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Small but still fun activity for kids

This is a very small wildlife park and quite expensive but the kids ( ages 9 and 2) still thoroughly enjoyed it especially seeing the big crocodile so close up because of the... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
Jacomina P
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very small wildlife park and quite expensive but the kids ( ages 9 and 2) still thoroughly enjoyed it especially seeing the big crocodile so close up because of the glass enclosure. It will only take about half an hour to get around.

Helpful?
Thank Jacomina P
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked ahead for Koala cuddle through TicketMates but one must still stand in line and the online booking wasn't readily recognized. Would advise just turning up to check it out and then paying in person if still desired. Koala cuddle staff were unfriendly and rude to guests. Talking to the head animal keeper she was apparently quite frustrated with non... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for the feedback provided and I do apologise for any inconvenience while visiting with the essential pre-cyclone season tree works we had to manage on Tuesday. We did our very best to have the park fully up and running by Wednesday morning after the clean up. As you can appreciate, guest safety is important and we did need... More 

Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walking around the small zoo on the island, the animals, to me, didn't have a lot of space to run around. The enclosures were just that. Now I could be perceived as being bad by visiting the zoo and justifying its existence, but as I travelled half way around the world I was curious to see animals that I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to complete this review. Our attraction is a zoological park that has been accredited by the Zoo Association of Australia and as such the welfare of all animals in our care is our number one priority to ensure we meet the standards required by this accreditation process. While our koalas can be viewed at... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All the family went to get their photo with the koala bears! Nice time had by all! well worth a visit. Book as it's only early morning's they do it!

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review, so pleased your family enjoyed their unique photo experience at Wildlife Hamilton Island. Wishing you safe travels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the worst experience we had on Hamilton island. Breakfast was basic, everything was packaged in little sachets or plastic containers, even the fruit salad. We ordered eggs but had eaten everything before they arrived, food in buffet was cold. The animals were in dirty seemingly unkept environments, the crocodile seemed to be bigger than his pond., For $50... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodstrips4
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for your valued feedback. It is concerning to receive a revue like this. Our Breakfast buffet with the koalas is a unique experience and we are currently mid renovations giving this entire experience a huge face lift. Your reference to everything being packaged at breakfast does not offer guests a true account of our breakfast service unfortunately. While... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

A very small and peaceful place. We only went for the koala cuddle which was worth it but nonetheless we paid $40 for 5 mins with a koala, definitely overpriced. The animals seem well cared for and the staff are great! Not a must see on the island but is a great experience with a koala. I love the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ipek K
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear you felt we were over priced. Unfortunately when it comes to running a business on a remote island, particularly a Wildlife Park that requires fresh eucalyptus leaf to be delivered twice weekly from the mainland to feed koalas, costs can become challenging and price points do need to cover this. It... More 

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Main reason to visit was Koala cuddle which did not disappoint. Did not realize how patient you have to be since after all we are interrupting them to be held for pictures. I was finally able to take a picture with Lola who clearly was more interested in eating. There were additional Koalas on nearby trees so you get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mónica M
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for this positive well balanced review it is much appreciated. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

It was disappointing that prices for individual attractions are not advertised on the Hamilton Island App which would help families to plan and budget. The general admission price is the lowest and doesn't include other activities such as photo sessions. Our breakfast (adults) was $36 each, and while it was a nice breakfast with a good range of choices, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorri M
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for this feedback. As an independent business on the island we do have advertising limitations however we will certainly work harder to try and address the points you have raised with regard to pre-trip planning and cost understanding. The park entry ticket is designed to give guests unlimited access to our park for the duration of their stay... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

quite an expensive place although animals appeared very happy we booked a cuddle koala and had photo taken which was an amazing experience staff were very friendly informative and helpful great place yo see crocodile up close pet kangaroos meet freddie the cockatoo and learn all about each of them

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us on Hamilton Island. The welfare and care of our animals is a high priority which does sadly cost a little more when based on a remote location such as ours. While we appreciate the feedback on cost however we do ask that consideration be given to the unique aspects of... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Thought we'd try one of the other restaurants on our package. More suitable for excited kids for breakfast rather than romantic breakfasts. Try eating your breakfast with the smells of koala's just two feet away from your table. Add to that the sounds of petrol driven leaf blowers at 7.30am while sipping on your orange juice. More suited to young... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdougy
WILDLIFEHI, General Manager at WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our site. I am obviously highly concerned about the heading of the review as it indicates your food was contaminated by koala urine? Please kindly advise on how this possibly happened as the animals are separated from all food surfaces and I fail to see how it could have happened. Obviously when... More 

Travellers who viewed WILD LIFE Hamilton Island also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to WILD LIFE Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of WILD LIFE Hamilton Island and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from WILD LIFE Hamilton Island staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?