We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gray Line New Zealand

#38 of 164 Tours in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 800 698 687
Website
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Luxury one day coach tours to the highlights of beautiful New Zealand,...

Luxury one day coach tours to the highlights of beautiful New Zealand, including Auckland city sights, the Bay of Islands, Waitomo and Hobbiton, Rotorua, Christchurch, Mt Cook, Queenstown and Milford Sound.

Come with us and experience some of the world renowned destinations and amazing attractions around New Zealand in the comfort of our premium touring coaches!

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.89*
and up
Auckland City Highlights Tour with Harbour Cruise and Sky Tower Admission
More Info
US$235.47*
and up
Full-Day Waitomo and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 112 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Highly recommend the Spectacular Auckland Tour.

We were only in Auckland for 2 days and were delighted that we had arranged to go on the Spectacular tour on Day 1. It includes a city bus tour, a harbour cruise, Sky Tower... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
zhena
,
Glasgow
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only in Auckland for 2 days and were delighted that we had arranged to go on the Spectacular tour on Day 1. It includes a city bus tour, a harbour cruise, Sky Tower admission and a complimentary Devonport ferry ticket! Apart from some slight confusion about the departure point of the bus tour in the morning everything else... More 

Helpful?
Thank zhena
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora zhena, I'm very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our Spectacular Auckland Tour. It's a great way to see Auckland's highlights as a group and have the opportunity to explore parts of Auckland independently. Thanks for the lovely feedback I'll pass it on to our team members. All the best for your future travels, Esther and the... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Caves really worth a visit, Maori shoe and thermal caves not enough time! The tour said there was coffee and tea but we received neither or had any time to have some because you did not have time to see sights if you stopped for a drink. Thus was a long tour from 7 30am until 830pm and all we... More 

Helpful?
Thank DANIEL G
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Daniel, Our day tours including Waitomo Caves and Rotorua sights are a long day. As these attractions are located quite a distance from each other, the bus travel between attractions is long and time at the attraction itself is limited. However, it's a perfect tour for those who are only in New Zealand for a short time and... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We booked our Auckland City Highlights Tour with Harbour Cruise and Sky Tower Admission through Viator/Qantas. This tour was operated by Gray Line and I think they call it “Discover Spectacular Auckland Tour” This tour was scheduled for approx. 5hours but depends on how long you take in the sky tower and how long you are on the boat tour.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MojiNegro
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Moji, Thanks for sharing your feedback, it sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable tour of Auckland with us! I'm glad you enjoyed being able to take parts of the tour in your own time. All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We booked a Milford Sound Day Tour including flyback and lunch with Gray Line, departing Queenstown for 18 Jan 2017. We had to pay for tour in advance, including the flyback option and were told if the flyback did not occur we would be taken back on the bus and the flight cost refunded. The flyback option was cancelled on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Bianca, We're sincerely sorry for the delay in refunding the flyback fare to you. We acknowledge this caused an inconvenience to you while you were here in New Zealand and we're very sorry about this. All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

Speyer, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I had an amazing experience doing the Milford Sound Day Trip with GrayLine. The coach seemed to be very new, was quite comfy and our driver was a very nice guy that gave us a lot of information about the area. History, geography, geology, legends. He seemed to know it all. It was a rather rainy day, but I personally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Lisa, It sounds like you had a great time experiencing Milford Sound with us! I've heard rain adds to the scenery and creates an even better viewing experience. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your day with us, we hope to see you on more of our tours! All the best for your future travels, Esther and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We booked a tour from Christchurch to Queenstown with Gray Line. Everything was confirmed 2 months earlier and they gave us a pick up point (Parkview on Hagley hotel at 7:35 am). We got there at 7:00 am after a 2 km walk with our luggages from our hotel. We waited till 07:50 and the bus never came. We called... More 

Helpful?
Thank lgaska
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora, We're very sorry to hear you've had a disappointing experience with us causing an inconvenience to you and your travel plans. If you'd like us to look into this further, please email us with specific details such as your booking reference number. Our email address is info@grayline.co.nz All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team... More 

1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this to take my mother away for her birthday. Our expectations were well exceeded. We had an amazing tour guide and driver called Lewis. He had extensive knowledge about the Waikato region and New Zealand. He was funny, kind, caring and informative. Excellent smooth driving throughout the trip. He went above and beyond his duty to ensure all... More 

Helpful?
Thank jocY8541LL
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like you really enjoyed your tour with Louis and Gray Line. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience of Hobbiton and the Waitomo Caves with us! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Our day trip to some of the major attractions in Auckland was a really good day out, albeit quite a long one. For the majority of the day, you are on a bus and some of the views are lovely, but are otherwise motorways or big open fields. Our driver was a nice guy, quite informative and somehow managed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdesou
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordniator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora We're happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with us and enjoyed our drivers commentary. Thanks for sharing your feedback! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

What an amazing day! Our driver Louis did an excellent tour, thank you for making our trip a great success.

Helpful?
Thank emeldalombard
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we're glad you enjoyed your tour! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Managed to book this tour last minute and it worked out great. Hotel pick up, very organised and did their best to be on time (considering that a lot of the tourists wandered off). The tour guide Lewis was excellent! Made the trip a lot of fun!

Helpful?
Thank Josefine W
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Josefine, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your tour and had fun with us on the day! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Gray Line More 

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New Zealand also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Gray Line New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gray Line New Zealand staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?