We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours

Features Animals
The Maritime Building | Paihia Waterfront, Paihia 1045, New Zealand
+64 9-402 7421
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands offers Northland’s most comprehensive range cruises and tours. The Fullers name has been synonymous with cruises in the Bay of Islands since 1886. Today the passionate and knowledgeable local team are proud to showcase the wonders of the region including cruises to the famous “Hole in the Rock”, dolphin watching/swimming cruises and day tours to the Hokianga, Kerikeri, Russell and Cape Reinga via 90 Mile Beach.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cape reinga” (179 reviews)
“boom net” (24 reviews)
“dolphin cruise” (78 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
The Maritime Building | Paihia Waterfront, Paihia 1045, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-402 7421
Ways to Experience Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours
from US$81.10
More Info
from US$73.50
More Info
from US$89.40
More Info
from US$60.30
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cape reinga"
in 179 reviews
"boom net"
in 24 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 78 reviews
"rock cruise"
in 79 reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 77 reviews
"day trip"
in 92 reviews
"great sights"
in 42 reviews
"kauri forest"
in 38 reviews
"sand boarding"
in 62 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 65 reviews
"bus driver"
in 17 reviews
"free ferry"
in 19 reviews
"island stop"
in 38 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 58 reviews
"top deck"
in 20 reviews
"urupukapuka island"
in 49 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

WOW we had a beautiful Sunny July day to enhance our experience to the hole in the rock. The skipper Richard was amazing and provided excellent commentary throughout the cruise. Caught up with some dolphins fishing. Got through the rock without incident and enjoyed a...More

Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We took the hole in the rock tour from Paihia. It was a bit rough and they gave people the option to bail out before they left to reschedule or refund. Was impressed with that. Well prepared for the rough seas and good care provided...More

Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cruise takes 3 hours return. You can ride either in Paihia or in Russell. Limited seats on the top deck(about 30). There was not a lot of commentary on the way to the Hole in the Rock so we didn’t know where we were...More

Thank Happy-Fam-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Manager at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Happy-Fam-Man, Thanks for joining us for a Hole in the Rock cruise. I'm sorry to hear you weren't able to travel right through the hole but at least when the sea's rough it's a very impressive sight! All the best for your future...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got to see a lot of dolphins which made it worth it. We were excited for a chance to swim with them and paid the extra money. We knew it wasn't a guarantee that we would get to, but it seemed like the staff...More

Thank ashley06182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Manager at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora Ashley, Thank you for joining us to cruise the Bay of Islands and I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed not to be able to swim with the dolphins. As our crew would have explained to you, swimming with dolphins is strictly controlled...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the Cape Reinga and Hole in the Rock combination. Both tours were fantastic. The guide was quite knowledgeable. Though the weather did not allow us to sail through the hole in the rock, we did get quite close for a photo. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Sanjal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Sanjal, Thanks for your great review, it's awesome to hear that you had a great time with us! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at Fullers GreatSights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We set out for the bay of plenty island excursion on a day that was unfortunately rough and raining. The team of extremely professional crew ought to be applauded for their sincere and diligent care taken on the rough seas. We were supposed to swim...More

Thank Sarvikra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Sarvikra, Thank you for sharing your lovely review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your cruise with us. It's a shame the dolphins were feeling a bit shy on the day though! Our crew members are always very patient with passengers and I'm sure...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

wow this cruise was amazing. seeing dolphins was a bonus. The skipper was so funny and really knowledge really trying hard to get us close to the dolphins. Thank you fullers we had a great half day on your beautiful modern boat. It was cold...More

Thank ChlozCutey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora ChlozCutey, It's great to hear that you had an awesome time with us! We do try and make sure everyone can see dolphins when we spot them. Make sure you do bring your family back we're sure they'd love it just as much...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We set off on the morning 'hole in the rock and dolphin' cruise and had such a great time. We were lucky to see dolphins, seals and penguins along our way. The Bay of Islands is stunning and the whole atmosphere was excellent, we were...More

Thank mariajocelyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Maria, It's great to hear that you had fun with us on our Hole in the Rock cruise and it sounds like you got to see plenty of wildlife! Thank you for sharing, I'll make sure your lovely feedback is passed on. All...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

My wife and i booked in for this cruise via Flight Centre in Melbourne. We travelled from Auckland to Paihia and arrived late afternoon staying for 2 nights at the Copthorne Hotel and Resort. The next day we arrived at the pier for our 3...More

Thank Steve255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Steve, I'm sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the Hole in the Rock cruise. I understand your disappointment, however, since dolphins are wild mammals, we cannot guarantee sightings on every cruise. Due to weather and sea conditions, we also cannot guarantee that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We travelled on a luxury catamaran to Cape Brett and the famous Hole in the Rock Bay of Islands and what a spectacular sight it was, just rising up in the water. Unfortunately we were unable to go through the hole as is was a...More

Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullersGreatSights, Marketing Coordinator at Fullers GreatSights Bay of Islands Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Kia ora BendigoVic, It's great when you can get up that close to the Motukokako Island (the Hole in the Rock) and see how incredible it really is. It's definitely something you have to experience for yourself! It sounds like you had a lovely time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
456 reviews
.16 km away
Ala-Moana Motel
61 reviews
.20 km away
The Bishop Selwyn
14 reviews
.22 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
567 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Letz Cafe
134 reviews
.08 km away
GREENS
883 reviews
.12 km away
Charlotte’s Kitchen
820 reviews
.07 km away
Cellini's Ice Cream and Espresso
183 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Paihia Harbour
1,047 reviews
.07 km away
St Paul's Anglican Church
11 reviews
.13 km away
Sea Shuttle Bay of Islands
142 reviews
.05 km away
Skydive Bay of Islands
356 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Soni B
21 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from FullersGreatSights | Property representative |
Kia ora Soni, sadly we no longer stop at Otehei Bay, our new four hour Hole in the Rock cruise stops at a secluded island that we'll pick on the day of your cruise. I'm sorry we don't offer swimming with dolphins on this... More
0
Votes
Isobel M
26 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FullersGreatSights | Property representative |
Kia ora Isobel, I'd like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced today. Your tour was cancelled yesterday afternoon and our team did make more than one attempt to contact you about this at that time... More
1
Vote
Dragonfly4035
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from FullersGreatSights | Property representative |
Kia ora Dragonfly, if a cruise or tour is cancelled due to weather or sea conditions, passengers are offered either a full refund or the choice to rebook on another day.
0
Votes