We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 10 Bridle Path Road, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-384 0310
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city),...

For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.16*
and up
Christchurch Gondola Ride
More Info
US$92.88*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On...
More Info
US$61.92*
and up
Christchurch Sightseeing Pass

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,367 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 637
    Excellent
  • 484
    Very good
  • 115
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Spectacular scenery

Lovely to go up but best of you combine it wit a walk along one of the tracks. Far better than staying in the gift shop. You need to get out and see the real New Zealand.

Reviewed yesterday
Nicola F
Add Photo Write a Review

1,367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,254: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely to go up but best of you combine it wit a walk along one of the tracks. Far better than staying in the gift shop. You need to get out and see the real New Zealand.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It was absolutely amazing up there. The gondola ride was cool, reasonably priced and nice restaurant/place to eat. Souvenir shop was cool as well. Recommend for tourists and residents of Christchurch

Helpful?
Thank IW98
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were taking Master Four for an adventure on the Gondola. Other than the lady in the shop all the staff were amazingly friendly. We were warned that the poor weather yesterday had affected the views but we were ok with that. The time tunnel was good but there were bizarre jumps in time. We had lovely coffee, chai and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glow_wormnz
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great views & superb ride on the gondola. The restaurant was good as was the coffee. Super little walks up there too and well worth it. Great to see where my ancestors had walked from Lyttleton up over the historic bridle path in 1851 - how did my Eleanor MAWSON do it with five children and what must her husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was really looking forward to revisiting a place I had as a child...unfortunately, it wasn't quite as magical as I had remembered! The gondola ride itself was nice, but the rest of the experience was average. There was not much 'energy' or 'vibe throughout the place.

Helpful?
Thank esh43
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fast, efficient. The gondola ride was smooth in both directions. There were many buses and cars in the car park but the gondolas were not crowded at all. The view from the top was magnificent in both directions. Lyttelton was clear and the view was spectacular while Christchurch was too. Had a mocha in the restaurant which took a while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mornay D
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gondolas are a easy trip up the Cashmere hills. Cafe at top that has good family food and a selection of hot and cold options. As it sits on the peak get great views over Christchurch and also into Harbour.

Helpful?
1 Thank 337jaxsd
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you had a relaxing time taking in the views of Christchurch and surrounding areas. Tasha :) More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed the gondola ride and the complimentary time tunnel. Unfortunately I brought a $17.50 BLT for lunch. The bacon resembled plastic and was quite frankly the worst BLT I've ever had. What a shame, we won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Callum B
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Callum thanks for taking the time to advise us of the issue with your BLT, we apologise that this was not to our normal high standard. I have spoken to our cafe manager and she has advised that she has had no reports of any issues. Could you please email me on gondola@welcomeaboard.co.nz with the date and time of... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We bought an multi-ticket which enabled us to travel on the old tram around Christchurch town, as well as taking the bus from town to the gondola. Unfortunately, on the day we visited, it was quite cloudy. Although this spoilt the views from the very top, the views on the way up were still spectacular. The little cafe at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole T
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the weather was not on your side but we are glad you enjoyed our lovely cafe at the top. Tasha :) More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have experienced the Christchurch Gondola and once again it didn't disappoint. We were lucky to have a beautiful clear day so the views were stunning. We had lunch in the café which was what you would expect from a tourist attraction, bit overpriced but it satisfied us all. We only had to queue for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna V
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear your second visit to the Christchurch Gondola didn't disappoint and you enjoyed our stunning views once again from the summit. Tasha :) More 

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Christchurch Gondola and other visitors
13 questions
Ask a question
Warton, United Kingdom
8 days ago
St Helens, Australia

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Christchurch Gondola staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?