We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penguin Place

#10 of 106 things to do in Dunedin Features Animals
45 Pakihau Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
+64 3-478 0286
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.54*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
More Info
US$125.62*
and up
Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
45 Pakihau Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-478 0286
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

This is a fantastic way to see a highly endangered animal with minimal intrusion into their natural lives. This preserve works hard to increase and conserve the habitat of the Hoiho. You will get a solid education on the habitat and history of the penguins...More

Thank Stephanie B
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Very informative guide. Saw penguins at the rehab centre and heard their stories. Only one cam t the beach but large sea lion sitting scaring them away. Loved the fur seals we saw on the way. Amazing work on helping the survival and rejuvenation of...More

Thank MarkTeakle
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and supporting our project here at Penguin Place. We are glad you enjoyed the tour!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You have to keep quiet and observe the yellow-eyed penguins from a distance. It is quite interesting to see them moving about in the open.

Thank Trumpboyer86
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and supporting our project here at Penguin Place

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately our tour was disappointing. Some bad weather conditions probably had an impact on experiencing the penguins returning to the beach. The tour guide did her best to keep us interested while we moved from bunker to bunker hoping to see a penguin come ashore....More

Thank Matt T
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and supporting our project here at Penguin Place. How many penguins you see does very from day to day and this is something that is out of our control it is the fun of Wildlife. Patience is always key when...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017

We had called the Penguin Place earlier to book a tour as per the brochure we had obtained at one of the I-sites. About 30 kms along the harbor, really twisty road from Dunedin. Got there a little early so got on an early tour,...More

Thank Kenneth H
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your experience here at Penguin Place. Thank you for visiting us and supporting our project.

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This is a must see since Yellow Eyed Penguins are endemic to the Otago Peninsula. Luckily for us, since it was molting season, they had quite a few penguins in their hospital area so we got to see them up close. When we went out...More

Thank nek227
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and supporting our project at Penguin Place.

Reviewed 17 April 2017

This visit to Penguin place was really made all the more interesting because of our guide, his knowledge and enthusiasum for all things Penguins made this a great couple of hours, after an initial introductory talk, you get chance to visit the penguins who are...More

Thank DAVID H
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for visiting and supporting our project.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

The staff here are amazing in their dedication and understanding. It was a privilege, and a sobering experience, to see these endangered penguins at such close quarters. Wow!

Thank HScarfaze
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for supporting our project here at Penguin Place. We are glad you enjoyed your experience.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The guide, Ben, was very passionate and knowledgeable. We went on the evening tour, around half 5 to try and see the Penguins coming home for the day, but we found out that the can come and go between around 2pm-10pm....More

Thank Nik-Nak2189
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for visiting us and supporting our project here at Penguin Place.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is an amazing facility and I am grateful as a resident on this planet that the people at Penguin Place have dedicated their lives to preserving this penguin population and for providing a protected area for these forest dwelling penguins to safely continue on....More

Thank Kari B
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here with us. Thank you for supporting and contributing to our project here at Penguin Place.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
1908 Cafe Restaurant
402 reviews
7.72 km away
The Portsider
66 reviews
8.73 km away
Blueskin Nurseries Cafe
64 reviews
13.67 km away
The Galley Cafe and Bar
21 reviews
8.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Otago Peninsula
1,527 reviews
2.29 km away
New Zealand Marine Studies Centre
17 reviews
7.77 km away
The Royal Albatross Centre
1,337 reviews
2.36 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
craig r
hi Cazellie and others! what tour did u do and what did it cost pls? how long was it - we don't want to be there all day . . . we would board at Port Chalmers if possible Advise from staff is welcome too! :-) thnx Craig
22 June 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from ChristianSuiMex | Reviewed this property |
Hi, we went with Monarch Cruise from Dunedin port at 13h. They didn't pick up at Port Chalmers when we where there but you maybe can ask them. We paid aprox 260 nzd for our family of 2 adults and 2 little boys. Tip: we had a... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
GreenQueenColleen
I have a choice of 9:30 am or 1 pm. What time do you think would be best. I have read evening is the best. The sun sets rather late there so I am perplexed...
8 January 2015|
Answer
Response from penguinplace | Property representative |
Our first tour is 10.15 am. At this time of year both this and the 1.15pm tour are likely to be similar. For bookings and enquiries contact us via our website. Thanks
-1
Votes