We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outback at Isa

19 Marian St, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
+61 7 4749 1555
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A really good insight into Mt Isa history

This is a very well put together attraction. The movie should be seen first as it gives an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Warwick D
,
Sydney, Australia
A good visitor centre.

We had Coffee and tea in the cafe service was very slow made even worse by the fact we were the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Paul R
via mobile
Read all 130 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
At Outback at Isa, Mount Isa's major tourism facility, you will find the Mount Isa Visitor Information Centre (VIC), Hard Times Mine Underground Tour, Isa Experience and Outback Park, the Mount Isa Regional Art Gallery, Riversleigh Fossil Centre, Mount Isa Fish Hatchery Project and the Outback Cafe. We take enormous pride in providing the best possible service and experiences to visitors. Outback at Isa offers unique experiences, 7 days a week.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good36%
  • Average11%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
19 Marian St, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4749 1555
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very well put together attraction. The movie should be seen first as it gives an interesting insight into what made and what now makes Mt Isa the city that it is. After the movie the displays mean a lot more as does...More

1  Thank Warwick D
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Warwick D Thank you for the 5 star review and the feedback and tips for future visitors. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and look forward to your next visit to The Isa. :) Best regards Sue Wickes Guest...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had Coffee and tea in the cafe service was very slow made even worse by the fact we were the only customers at the counter. One staff member looked straight at me and walked away. When I was finally served I made the comment...More

Thank Paul R
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul R We are glad that you enjoy the Visitor Centre. We are very sorry to hear of your experience in our cafe. We will certainly look into this and take whatever steps that we need to make sure that this does not happen...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Take your time to view all this attraction has to offer from the information regarding the mining in the area as well as the various minerals that were mined here. It takes us back in time from the beginning of Mt Isa and how the...More

Thank Christopher C
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Christopher C Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We are happy to receive any feedback on how we can improve. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The museum offered a great insight into the diverse history of Mt Isa. From its discovery to the people who toiled in the unrelenting sun, to make a living. It offers great examples of the rich minerals of the area, and is really educational. Unfortunately...More

Thank sp1nnak3r
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sp1nnak3r Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the Isa Experience. We do hope that you will be back one day to enjoy the Underground Tour. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

My hubby and i had lunch here today. We both had salad sandwhiches, which were lovely and very filling. Coffee was terrific! The only problem was that our coffee came out first and by the time our lunch arrived we had finished our coffee. Very...More

Thank Lesleigh W
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Lesleigh W Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the visit to the Outback at Isa Cafe. We will certainly pass on your feedback. And yes, please do return and enjoy our sweets. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 18 March 2017

I stopped in here to find information about local towns and attractions. The lady was super knowledgeable and friendly to talk to, she gave us much needed advice. The cafe was very reasonably priced and the free wifi very useful.

Thank OZtakesover
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Oztakesover Thank you for the 5 star review. Much appreciated. We are so please that you found the information that you needed at Outback at Isa. Enjoy the rest of your journey. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

If you think there's not much to do in Mt Isa, try visiting the Outback Isa info centre coz you will be surprised what they offer from free tour visits to affordable packages

Thank Josjeevfood
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Josjeevfood Thank you for the review. Nothing makes us happier than surprising people ... in a good way. :) Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, great experience, relaxed atmosphere. The Cafe has a good choice, gift shop has a good range (even Mount Isa monopoly). The staff are knowledgeable, and are enthusiastic about their jobs.

Thank GrubbyJ
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi GrubbyJ Thank you very much for the 5 star review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Outback at Isa. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We loved our visit to the museum unfortunately we picked the wrong time of year to come to Mt Isa as it was very hot The staff were so helpful with information & I loved that you had book exchange for people

Thank Tanya H
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Tanya H Thank you very much for the 5 star review. Yes, it certainly is hot this time of year. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Outback at Isa. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 3 December 2016

Booked Riversleigh fossil tour and Hard Times mine tour (reviewed elsewhere). Spent an interesting 2+ hours with Alan being shown through the fossil section of the information centre. Got history of discovery of the fossil precinct, interpretation and research and a view of the processes...More

Thank JDandHK
Outback_at_Isa, Guest Relations Manager at Outback at Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Hi JDandHK Thank you for the 5 star review for the Riversleigh Fossil Centre Laboratory tour with Alan. We a please that you enjoyed the tour and found it interesting and valuable. Best regards Sue Wickes Guest Relations Manager Outback at Isa

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bambino Espresso
57 reviews
.65 km away
Carpentaria Buffalo Club
90 reviews
.70 km away
RedEarth Thai Restaurant & Takeaway
84 reviews
.79 km away
Rodeo Bar and Grill
76 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mount Isa City Lookout
165 reviews
.24 km away
Underground Hospital and Museum
62 reviews
.65 km away
''The Buffs Club''
47 reviews
.54 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
les m
Hi my brother in law and i will be driving up from Sydney in September not sure of the dates yet. hope to stay 2 or 3 days. Wanted to stay in a cabin in one of the local caravan parks.Is there a need to book accomadation before hand or can we rely on finding something when we get there. thanks
1 August 2015|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Owen R | Reviewed this property |
I would book ahead Check when the Rodeo is on as this will be a busy time both before and after Cheers
0
Votes