We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry)

272 Wakefield Quay, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 21 634 608
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to end visit

Was thrilled to find out about this harbour cruise on my last day visiting Nelson. Very... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2017
Lynette A
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Outstanding service and hospitality

Just visited Nelson, NZ and had a wonderful experience seeing the various sights and meeting the... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2017
Semicurious
,
Saratoga, California
Read all 29 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Ferry provides an , " On Demand" Ferry Service. Call me and tell me when and where you want to go and what time you want to return. Ferry Service to the Historic Lighthouse, Visit inside, Service to Haulashore Island for a picnic, hike or swim. Walk the Unique Boulderbank, Harbour cruise and visit to Lighthouse.
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
272 Wakefield Quay, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 21 634 608
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Was thrilled to find out about this harbour cruise on my last day visiting Nelson. Very informative, loved the rustic bach and especially the lighthouse visit, what a treat. Skipper friendly and informative.

Thank Lynette A
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Just visited Nelson, NZ and had a wonderful experience seeing the various sights and meeting the people there. We took a ferry (called 'The Ferry') for a ride around the harbour. The owner, Bruce Robertson, a thorough gentleman and very knowledgeable, gave us an overview...More

Thank Semicurious
Reviewed 15 February 2017

It is such a treat, even for a Nelsonian to visit the unique Boulder Bank and Lighthouse with Bruce. He has a wealth of information, is very safe and capable. It is a delight to view Nelson from the perspective of the island, Boulder Bank...More

Thank marylyn66
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Boat is fine, skipper is too but the short distance for price is terrible. Would be much better if half the price.More

Thank Kelly S
theferry, Owner at The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry), responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thanks for your review, $22.00 to Haulashore Is or $27.00 for a trip to the lighthouse. I cannot agree with you about pricing being to expensive. The Ferry is a $100,000 vessel, yearly maintenance, Maritime Survey cost, Moorage, ETC. Accountants suggest fares should be double....More

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice time with Captain Bruce, who was more than helpful to get us out to the lighthouse on very short notice. It is a great service and a wonderful experience.

Thank kicsiplussz
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We came with a very specific objective, a treasure hunt ! We wanted to come first to the deserted island and find some "treasure" then we got back on the ferry and went to take a look around the old lighthouse and learn a little...More

Thank Sue P
Reviewed 6 January 2017

You can see the Boulder banks lighthouse from here. Nice place to take photos and fish (if you are interested). This is a much better alternative than walking 8km on boulder beach to see the lighthouse. There are many restaurants that offer a range of...More

Thank AloysiusMD
theferry, Owner at The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry), responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We appreciate your comments and very happy that you enjoyed the ferry Service

Reviewed 24 December 2016

We did cruise inside of Nelson Harbour. Beautiful Sunday with blue sky, nice and calm cruise with the skipper owner on the boat, The cruise started from the wharf and going pass two big cargo ships, timber and containers ships anchored. Then we entered and...More

Thank santo t
theferry, Owner Operator at The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry), responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Thanks for your feed back, always appreciate ones feed back.

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Maybe I was after something different, but the entire experience was 'meh'. The lighthouse was unspectacular, the ferry ride was similarly uninspiring and the rocky ground just made walking hard work. Once there, there are no facilities (toilets) and no shelter, but equally really nothing...More

Thank JLE2013
theferry, Owner at The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

I am Sorry you did not enjoy your trip to the Lighthouse and Boulder bank What date did you make this trip? The Boulder Bank is totally unique and the Lighthouse is the 2nd oldest in NZ, hope your next tourist excursion is More exciting....More

Reviewed 21 July 2016

We took this Ferry Trip for a special occasion - our grandson's fifth birthday Pirate Party and were very impressed with the ferry service. The couple running the service were very safety conscious and patient with a group of excited kids. We were dropped off...More

Thank Ruth33_12
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harbour Light Bistro
468 reviews
.45 km away
Boat Shed Cafe
1,198 reviews
.48 km away
The Styx
400 reviews
.03 km away
Nahm
223 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
139 reviews
1.48 km away
Trail Journeys Nelson
123 reviews
1.47 km away
Theatre Royal Nelson
12 reviews
1.47 km away
Craft Beer Depot
47 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ferry (a.k.a Haulashore Ferry) staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit