We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Providence Sailing Whitsundays

#19 of 64 Boat Tours & Water Sports in Airlie Beach Features Animals
| Abell Point Marina, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 427 882 062
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.51*
and up
Whitsundays Sunset Sailing Cruise
More Info
US$1,130.93*
and up
Whitsundays Private Sailing Charter
More Info
US$136.52*
and up
Whitehaven Beach and Dumbbell Island Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Providence V is a 62-ft gaff rigged schooner which offers day and sunset sails in the Whitsundays. DAY SAILS Catch the breeze on a tallship and set sail on one of our day sails for snorkelling at one of the best spots in the Whitsundays. (Thurs/Fri/Sat/Tues) Sail to Blue Pearl for a snorkel and then relax on the sandspit at Langford Reef . Morning tea, snorkelling and lunch on the beach before swimming with the turtles. Afternoon fruit platter as we head homewards. Fully licensed. Learn how to belay a cleat, sweat the mainsail or just chill on deck and snorkel . We supply all snorkelling gear and stinger suits. (Sun/Mon/Wed) Sail to Whitehaven. Walk up Hill Inlet to photograph one of the world's most photographed beaches. Lunch on board before we head off to Dumbbell Island for a beautiful snorkel with colourful coral and teeming with fish life. TWO-DAY SAIL: Why not combine a package with a two-day sail. Then you will see much of what the Whitsundays has to offer. SUNSET SAILS (Thurs/Fri/Sat/Tues) Slip into the sunset in style on our trademark sunset sail. Complimentary glass of bubbles and nibbles - what a perfect way to begin the evening. Combine with a gourmet dinner package at Peppers. We also offer private charters which include Christmas parties; Hens N Bucks; Corporate Charters and Weddings. We are fully licensed. Providence Sailing welcomes you on board.
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sunset cruise” (20 reviews)
“return ride” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 19:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
| Abell Point Marina, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 427 882 062
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

For the price that you pay, I'm sure you can get better. Morning tea was a chocolate browny (was nice) and cold tea and cold coffee. (horrrible coffee) picknic lunch was a wrap sandwich and a piece of omelet. No drinks provided at all! Afternoon...More

Thank Danny W
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Danny, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the trip. Morning tea consists of brownies and rum balls with tea or plunger coffee, or instant if you want it. Lunch is as you say a wrap with a frittatas which most guests find sufficient....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This cruise is a must do. I took the sunset cruise, which included champagne and nibbles. The crew were very funny and attentive, chatting to passengers, answering questions and pointing out areas of interest. The view of the twinkling lights onshore and stars overhead wax...More

Thank LisaP36
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The overall experience is nice and positive. The place is awesome, the crew is friendly and helpful and the boat is authentic. Although I felt the food was scarce, specially after paying 170$. 1 brownie, 1 coconut sweet, one wrap and half a piece of...More

Thank Miguel S
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your feedback Miguel. We do find some people have larger appetites than others which is natural. But generally a wrap with a frittata followed by a large fruit platter is sufficient. The time on Whitehaven beach is one and half hours not 30...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a beautiful day out on Providence. Such a gorgeous boat, and the crew (owner and his daughter - very much a family business) took amazing care of us. We set out earlier than other tours and had the sun glistening on the still...More

Thank Aus_abroad2014
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fantastic to hear you had such a great time on Providence with Jess and myself.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on the Providence for the sunset sail. The yacht was beautiful and the drink and nibbles were good. Unfortunately we did not sail! We actually sat in the one spot for about 1 1/2 hours of the 2hr trip. The sunset was lovely...More

Thank Lynn J
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry guys there was very little wind. We did set all the sails and where making about one knot of boat speed in glass out conditions. We don't use the motor unless its for safety reasons on the sunset. Theres nothing worse than a diesel...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The natural environment - notably Whitehaven beach and the reef make this tour great. However, on the day we went the boat had too many people on it- felt crowded and not enough seats. Additionally, I had expressly requested a vegetarian meal - as had...More

Thank Gazzax2
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear that you missed out on your specific dietary request. I do remember the day as I was Skipper that day. You where the only one to miss out on your specific lunch request which was Lactose intolerant. Unfortunately it was not noted...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of 6 recently went out from Airlie on the Providence sunset sail. It was beautiful. 2 of my family members get sea sick but they took tablets prior to leaving and were absolutely fine. We had champagne and nibbles. The crew were very...More

Thank bopper290
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear guys. Hope to see onboard again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Providence V is a well maintained old sailing boat and although it may take longer to reach Whitehaven Beach (3 hours) on her this was a fantastic day out. A group of four cancelled at the very last minute which mean't that just 4 of...More

Thank Penton
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks guys for your review. Great that you had such a memorable experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed that we could get to the Whitsundays but the service on board wasn't good at all! Why do I book a sailboat if the boat doesn't sail and just use the engine??? Than they advertise with awesome food and you can see in...More

Thank Kilian T
Grant L, Owner at Providence Sailing Whitsundays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Guys, Wish you had enjoyed the experience onboard Providence. We run to a time schedule on the day sail. Getting you ashore on Whitehaven is tide dependent, so sometimes the motor has to be used. Especially if the winds are very light. Providence is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent value for money. Super friendly crew. On board drinks reasonably priced. Sailing was beautiful around airlie beach bay. Small numbers just the right size. Definately recommend

Thank D55aphnes
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Providence Sailing Whitsundays staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit