We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tri Jaya - Day Tours

Medan, Indonesia
More
About Tri Jaya - Day Tours
Tri Jaya are a family run eco-tour operator based out of the Hotel Deli River in Medan, who have been providing personalised tours of Sumatra for over 20 years. We bring you to the most beautiful places on the island, such as Lake Toba, the orang-utan sanctuary in Bohorok, volcanoes in Brastagi, impressive West Sumatra, tropical islands along the coast and the elephants in Tangkahan. Whether you are seeking adventure, culture or history - Tri Jaya can make it happen!
Read more
Travellers talk about
118Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 102
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bettine H wrote a review 18 Sep
The Hague, The Netherlands2 contributions
In Indonesia we, 3 generations, visited Sumatra to find back a place from ‘oma’s’ youth. Searching on the internet we came across the website of Tri Jaya Tour & Travel in Medan. With the help of Diana Pardamean we planned a 8-day trip across North and West Sumatra. Unfortunately we had to postpone the trip due to Covid19. So we were very pleased we could still make it 2 years later. Diana kept responding quickly to all my questions and everything was very well arranged. We were picked up from the airport in Medan by our private driver and guide Dedy Suhaidi, who brought us to the beautiful Deli River hotel. There we could rest, swim and have a lovely dinner in the restaurant. The next day we went with Dedy on our trip. He showed us the highlights of Sumatra, including Brastagi, Bukit Lawang with its orangutans, the Batak heritage on Samosir island and Bukittingi. Finally we visited the the former womens camp in Bangkinang. We enjoyed our trip with Dedy a lot. He is a friendly and very helpful guide who knows a lot and answered all our questions patientely. In addition he is a safe driving chauffeur and a very pleasant travel companion. When you are looking for a Sumatra tour we can highly recommend Tri Jaya Tours and Dedy Suhaidi. You won’t regret it!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BJin wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
It was a waste of time and money. We stayed in Medan and the journey to the site is nearly 3hrs, the worst is our driver only gave us 25mins to walk around. When we wanted to walk down the stairs to the waterfall, his face changed and said it'll take us more than an hour to get down; which we have found out later(after this trip) that it was a total bull. We took another 3hrs back to the city, stopping momentarily for lunch and at a fruit market. Overall experience of this trip which was our 1st day and 1st time in Medan was very bad, made worst by a driver who seems to be 'forced' to drive us for the day and just want to get it over with.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from budgetqq, Owner at Tri Jaya - Day Tours
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time in leaving your review. We apologise to hear of your dissatisfaction with your tour. We try our best to account for traffic congestion with our tours, especially on the weekends, as this has unfortunately worsened and become quite problematic, with Medan locals looking for a short escape from the city. As per our program description, our drivers should be allowing approximately one hour at Sipiso-piso waterfall. We apologise that your driver did not afford you the time to let you walk down to the base of the waterfall. Taking your feedback seriously, we have spoken to Mr. Udin specifically to address this and to our other drivers. In future they have been advised to allow the one hour, regardless of traffic congestion, at the falls should our guests wish to walk down to the base of the waterfall. Concerning your overall experience, we apologise for your dissatisfaction in your driver. He will be addressed about this immediately as the satisfaction of our guests is of upmost importance to us. As a small-scale family operated business, we make every effort to accommodate our guests with the best experience possible. We are saddened to learn of your experience through this review and wish we had the opportunity to address your concerns directly and personally whilst you were here. We hope that you will visit Medan and Sumatra again and give Tri Jaya another opportunity to discover and explore its beauty. With best regards, Management of Tri Jaya Tour & Travel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
albert7368 wrote a review Aug 2022
Voorschoten, The Netherlands13 contributions2 helpful votes
We really would like to thank you for the beautiful Sumatra trip. The trip, the landscape and the nature were very beautiful to experience. One absolute success factor was our driver Anto. Mas Anto is a very experienced and careful driver, who knows his island well. In additon to the program, Mas Anto showed us many things we are really interested in. When we had health issues, Mas Anto took very good care of us till we were fully healthy again. We really enjoyed it, Thank you very much, Mas Anto
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mikebakkar wrote a review Aug 2022
Sacramento, California49 contributions47 helpful votes
We enjoyed the Private Tour to Karo Highlands and Lake Toba. Mr. Sulistio the driver was knowledgeable about the area and history and excellent driver and speaks perfect English. He arrived to our hotel on time and was very polite and kind.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ccss96 wrote a review Jul 2022
Central Coast NSW3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Anto is a world-class guide, he is well travelled and extremely knowledgeable. He is also very intuitive, knowing when we were truly interested in something and picking up on when we were ready to move on. We were picked up, on time, from our Medan hotel in a very comfortable, air-conditioned Toyota, which Anto drove safely and expertly. The sights are worth the trip, in fact the waterfall blew us away and the lake is impressive. The traditional Batak houses are beautiful and a reminder of simpler times. Do this tour, but make sure you ask for Anto!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456