We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Town Heritage Walks

| Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Family walking tour of George Town

Joann was fantastic, passionate entertaining and made some great suggestions to cater for our young... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Marc D
via mobile
Bespoke heritage walking tour

Our group of 6 seniors from Singapore and Canada are happy to confirm that Joann Khaw’s reputation... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
honwong12
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Read all 37 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
At George Town Heritage Walks, we will bring you on a journey through George Town's historic streets like you have never experienced before. Our on-going Heritage Walks are : 1) Facades & Five-Footways (Shophouse Architecture/Feng Shui) 2) Nutmeg, Pickles & Thieves (Morning market & China Town) 3) Foodilious Walk (Lunch/Dinner) 4) Street Art & Clan Jetty 5) Walk of Faith (Religions & Rituals) 6) Dinner and Night Market (Monday night)
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good8%
  • Average0%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
| Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 9 reviews
"air conditioned hotel"
in 2 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 2 reviews
"shop houses"
in 2 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 2 reviews
"street art"
in 8 reviews
"white coffee"
in 2 reviews
"joann"
in 24 reviews
"interests"
in 3 reviews
"tailor"
in 3 reviews
"tours"
in 6 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"architecture"
in 8 reviews
"depth"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 8 reviews
"georgetown"
in 8 reviews
"malaysia"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Joann was fantastic, passionate entertaining and made some great suggestions to cater for our young daughters (7 & 3). We only saw a small part of George Town but will definitely be contact with Joann to plan part 2 on our next visit to Penang.

Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Marc, It was a pleasure showing your family around. Thank you so much. Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our group of 6 seniors from Singapore and Canada are happy to confirm that Joann Khaw’s reputation as Penang’s finest heritage tour guide is well deserved. Her knowledge of Georgetown - deep, wide and rich- came across in the way she painted the historical and...More

1  Thank honwong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wong and friends, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Please thank everyone on my behalf. Have a great time. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited George Town with a group of 30 students and everyone loved every minute of it! Our tour guide-David was fantastic. He shared stories about George Town and about himself and his life in this beautiful city, which was very touching and inspirational. We...More

Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Manager at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marina, Thank you for review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Joann was a pleasure to hang out with. She delivered a brief introduction of the history of Penang within the air conditioned hotel before bringing us out. She pointed out the differing townhouses and shopfronts reflecting the styles of Penang's buildings across the decades. She...More

Thank VCCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hi VCCW, I had a great time taking your family around. You managed to see most of the interesting sites. Hope your parents were not too tired. There are still many places for your next trip :-). Thank you so much. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our walking tour with Joann. She is very knowledgeable & pleasant and took us off the tourist trail to view street art, shop houses & local stores & restaurant's. The juice stop was delicious! Highly recommended.

Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Pip, I had a great time with both of you. Hope to see you again. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I am really surprised to see most shops are closed during weekend, traffic was horrible to get to George Town and there is really not much to see except architecture and old buildings. I am also very surprised that within the World UNESCO Heritage boundaries...More

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Daniel, Traffic is bad due to several reasons. Firstly George Town is a port city and several cruise ships were in town the last few days. Secondly locals are back for the "Cheng Beng" prayers. Shops are closed because some people have taken the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Seven Terraces recently and they recommended Joann and we are so pleased they did . The tour started with a really informative talk about the history of Malaysia and some maps . We know that some people will be itchy to...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi S & H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Hope you had a wonderful time in Penang. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Joann Khaw has excellent English and is very well-qualified. She came to meet us at our hotel and began by explaining the history of Penang and Malaysia. She has a number of maps to help with her explanations, so it is clearly sensible to deliver...More

Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi R & G, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I had a great time showing you around. I am so glad you managed to catch the lion dance. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Joann was extremely knowledgeable about the culture, history, and area of Penang Island. She was also very personable and answered our many questions without hesitation. I'd recommend her in a heartbeat for anyone wanting a tour.

Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi Steve, I had a great time showing both of you my city. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Joann Khaw made Georgetown come alive for us. Very knowledgeable, tailoring the tour for us. She knows her history, and the people who live there. Would thoroughly recommend her, well worth it!

Thank Sjmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTHW, Owner at George Town Heritage Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Hope all of you enjoy your stay in Penang. Take care, Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 126 hotels in Penang Island
Yeng Keng Hotel
842 reviews
.03 km away
Chulia Mansion
922 reviews
.03 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
677 reviews
.05 km away
Nam Keng Hotel
284 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Junk Cafe
268 reviews
.05 km away
Y Not Cafe Restaurant
252 reviews
.05 km away
Passion Heart
165 reviews
.13 km away
Mews Cafe
976 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chulia Street
357 reviews
.00 km away
The Camera Museum
630 reviews
.14 km away
Kapitan Keling Mosque
555 reviews
.00 km away
Kuih Nyonya Moh Teng Pheow
62 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ajaykhandkar2015
28 April 2018|
Answer
Response from GTHW | Property representative |
Hi Ajay, your message just came through on the morning of 30th April. Sorry about this. Please contact joannkhaw (gmail).
0
Votes
Auraajaree
30 December 2017|
Answer
Response from ChicagoLouise | Reviewed this property |
It depends on how many people...our price quote was $60 each for two people, but it went down to $50 each for 3. And Joann was happy to accept US dollars.
1
Vote
wichanee
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GTHW | Property representative |
Please send email to joannkhaw at gmail com
0
Votes
;