We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alter Action Sandboarding

Swakopmund, Namibia
+264 81 128 2737
Website
Save
Review Highlights
So Fun!!

A must do. Sand boarding with this outfit was amazing! Very casual and you will walk up the dunes... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
JenniferV999
,
Houston, Texas
VERY COOL!

This was really fun, and you definitely have to try it!! They picked us up from our camp which was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sharon V
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 128 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer daily sandboarding trips from Swakopmund. Trips depart at 9:30 am and includes transport from your accommodation, equipment, a DVD and a light lunch. We are back in town before 2 pm. Stand up boarding done on snowboards with soft boots and bindings. No experience necessary. 500N$ Lie down boarding zooming head first down the dune reaching speeds of 70kph. 400N$
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lying down” (5 reviews)
“great fun” (15 reviews)
“lunch drinks” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 13:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Swakopmund, Namibia
CONTACT
Website
+264 81 128 2737
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A must do. Sand boarding with this outfit was amazing! Very casual and you will walk up the dunes a lot, but all so worth it. They even did a video of our activities, which was an awesome souvenir. I had never snow boarded, so...More

Thank JenniferV999
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jennifer, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you had such a good time with us. It was a pleasure having you on the dune. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Best regards,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was really fun, and you definitely have to try it!! They picked us up from our camp which was so nice! They take you to the destination, and they will teach you how to sandboard. They have many different size boards and shoes and...More

Thank Sharon V
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sharon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and thanks for the nice words. We are glad you had a good time with us. Hope to see you soon again. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Kind regards, Anne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having trained while walking up to the Big Daddy Dune, these were easy 7 walk ups. We enjoyed every moment and I think it's the closest you can get to the ground at this speed. The first test-run was a bit scary but then it's...More

Thank all_the_places
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You get picked up from your accommodation and it's about a 15 minute drive to the dunes. All safety helmets, elbow guards and boards are provided. You get to walk up about 6 times and sandboard down 6 times. Going up is hard work! Coming...More

Thank Jennie W
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jennie, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure having you on the dune. Surely the walking part is the hardest one, but I hope it was worth it. I think you did pretty well! Hope to...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017

The kids opted for the sandboarding while my wife and I went for the 'lie down' boarding option! Great fun all round, as we hurtled down the dunes at up to 59km/ph! Good safety briefing and advice on each separate runs. The kids had only...More

Thank Fin M
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Fin, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure having you on the dune. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. Hope you got back home safely. Best regards, Anne

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Anne and her team provide a wonderful service/ adrenaline rush experience sandboarding the dunes outside Swakop! We thoroughly enjoyed the morning! We were collected and dropped back to our door, lunch & drinks (Rolls, soft drinks /beer) provided, DVD footage of morning also included in...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear what a great time you had. Hope to see you again one day on the dunes. Best regards, Anne

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Very well organised and enjoyable trip. We were picked up by Anne and driven to the dunes where her and the owner (Beth) instructed us. Both very friendly and helpful. We got to try both standup boarding and lie down boarding - tiring but good...More

Thank Dylan S
Reviewed 21 June 2017

First let me preface this review by stating it is being written by someone who is not very fit & is not very adventurous! This activity was planned by someone else in our group & I went along without researching first. I had no idea...More

Thank DMSmithbtf
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. You are right our activity is a bit scary for some people because especially the lie down boarding is a very fast sport zooming head first down thedune. That is why...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017

We had booked this for our last day but the company cancelled it last minute - said conditions weren't good - gave us another number for different company which they said did it in a different area. The phone number they gave us wouldn't connect....More

Thank cassy w
Beth S, Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Cassy, Thanks for your comments. Yes, we had to cancel the trip that day due to high east winds in the desert and temperatures of over 30 degrees Celsius. I did call you an hour and a half before departure time to alert you...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

My friend and I went Sandboarding on the hottest day yet for the year! Beth and her team are super helpful, friendly, accomodating and good at teaching people what to do from beginners to experts on the sand. The dune is a HIKE! Get ready...More

Thank melcalbear2000
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hello, Thank you very much for your review and coming boarding with us. We'll done on fighting through on such a hot day and not giving up. Normally the weather stays all year around quiet pleasant due to a cold breeze blowing off the ocean,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Village Cafe
667 reviews
5.84 km away
Kucki's Pub
992 reviews
5.75 km away
The Fish Deli
259 reviews
5.79 km away
Swakopmund Brauhaus
756 reviews
5.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Desert Explorers
514 reviews
.83 km away
Swakopmund Jetty
549 reviews
5.94 km away
National Marine Aquarium of Namibia
177 reviews
5.56 km away
Woermannhaus
47 reviews
5.89 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Alter Action Sandboarding staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit