We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road)

Neighbourhood:
Former French Concession
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 206 Xinle Road | Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Name/address in local language
Phone Number:
+86 21 5403 9982
Website
Today
10:00 - 02:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 02:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Come and relax with us in our flagship retreat in the former French...

Come and relax with us in our flagship retreat in the former French Concession of Shanghai!

Dragonfly is China's leading chain of contemporary urban retreats offering relaxing massage and beauty services to busy expatriates, weary travelers, and sophisticated local customers. Dragonfly retreats are oases of calm that feature fusion Asian decor, dim lighting, tranquil sounds, wonderful fragrances and a romantic ambience second to none.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 12 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 2
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Tres bon soin relaxant

It was 1h30 of pure relaxation, we really enjoyed it. Price is a little bit expensive but the prestation is great (1400 rmb for 1h30 for 2 people for 30 min scrub and 1hour... read more

Reviewed 2 January 2017
alice p
,
Paris, France
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 8: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Though slightly more expensive than the other massage chains, but this is one of the places where you actually get what you pay for. The ambiance in the Xinle Lu branch is very serene and peaceful (they just renovated the place). Staff are always speaking in hush whispers so as not to disrupt the tranquility of the place and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daphne_CBT
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this review

Thank you for your praise. We pride ourselves on providing a real, quiet and relaxing retreat - from the hustle and bustle of the city. All of us are surrounded by a steady stream of noise in our daily lives - and we occasionally need an escape - where we can relax our body, mind and soul. The quiet peace... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It was 1h30 of pure relaxation, we really enjoyed it. Price is a little bit expensive but the prestation is great (1400 rmb for 1h30 for 2 people for 30 min scrub and 1hour massage) The place is in a great location, surrounded by restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank alice p
DragonflyRetreats, General Manager at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your 90 minutes of relaxation. This is music to our ears because our motto is to "Relax the World" and our brand promise is that you will leave feeling more relaxed than when you arrived - on each visit! We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Dragonfly used to be very good but not anymore. The receptionist was in a hurry for unknown reasons. The room noisy from the club next door. They changed us to a so called VIP room but it must have also been a store room. It had a stale smell. I regret not leaving at this point as I had hopes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina L
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

I've been to a couple of local Chinese massage places and although they are cheaper, I recommend paying the extra for the professionalism and atmosphere of this spa. They cater towards expats by creating a western spa experience. The rooms at dim, with real waterfalls, and they treat you like royalty! Getting the membership card is worth it if you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank annja2015
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

With fond memories of our last experience at Dragonfly, my husband and I called in for an impromptu massage. I opted for the 'Top to Toe' (where head/shoulders and feet are massage simultaneously) and my husband opted for a head and shoulders massage. We were seated in plush, comfortable reclinable armchairs, a blanket and heat pack placed across our laps.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelbTraveller2012
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I went in a group of 4 without a booking and they managed to fit us in immediately. I opted for the Ultimate Indulgence package. The foot massage was great, but I found it too intense. I think it was personal preference as my friend who had the treatment found it very relaxing. The body massage afterwards was fantastic. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank chacharlee
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Typhoon Chan Hom stranded me in Shanghai. All the stress of work and travel changes vanished after Dragonfly's Neck and Shoulders Massage. Clean, friendly, professional, good value. Call to make an appointment to avoid waiting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelwix
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After almost a week of walking around Shanghai in summer sandals and the odd pair of heels, my poor feet have revolted in pain. I booked into Dragonfly for an hour long Oriental foot massage, hoping it would provide some relief. Upon arrival I was ushered into a darkened room, where the only sound is from a nearby water feature.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MelbTraveller2012
DragonflyRetreats, Owner at Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road), responded to this review

Dear MelbTraveller2012, We are SO happy that you chose Dragonfly and we were able to make a difference in your trip. We have designed our retreats in a way that allows you forget the worries of a long day and simply doze off as we massage away your aches and pains. We want to be the perfect place to come... More 

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road) also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dragonfly Therapeutic Retreat (Shanghai Xinle Road) staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Former French Concession

Neighbourhood Profile
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet, tree-lined avenues, French-style villas, interesting boutiques, lively bars and quaint cafes that are not typical of China. All of these mix and mingle with local life as Chinese markets and lanehouse communities are peppered throughout. Denizens of the Former French Concession can spectate a mahjong game on the street or get their bike checked at a tiny bike repair store on the way to their refurbished apartment tucked away among Chinese family homes.
Explore this neighbourhood