We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Dive Adventures

Features Animals
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Margate 4275, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 82 456 7885
06:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 18:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours

We offer a professional, safe service to experienced divers who want to...

We offer a professional, safe service to experienced divers who want to dive with sharks on Protea Banks.

This reef is for experienced divers only and not suited for beginners.

We also offer our Sardine Run program from end June to end July on the Wild Coast. This is suitable for anyone, diver and non diver.

We have perfected our Sardine Run over many years of experience and can offer an unforgettable, safe ans successful experience.

21 years in business

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 16 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
  • 0
    Very good
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Amazing dives

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive safety and procedures. Also I can't describe how good diving with sharks is...every... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2017
James L
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 13: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive safety and procedures. Also I can't describe how good diving with sharks is...every dive delivered! 100% going back.

Thank James L
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in Margate and do a shark dive for his birthday. We stayed and dived with African Dive Adventures. Firstly, their accommodation is top class! They have a self catering flat in ramsgate, and a villa in margate that has 6 bedrooms and 6 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, infinity pool and views... More 

1 Thank Karen W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My brother and I spent a week diving on Protea Banks with these guys, and they are a very good operation. Protea isn't easy diving, and the team at African Dive Adventures expect you to be a good diver, so they don't patronise or mollycoddle you. But they were professional at all times, and did not compromise on safety. We... More 

Thank RossMackenzie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2016

My wife and I joined them for their Sardine Run 2016 as part of our honeymoon. They were the only dive operator operating at Coffee Bay. right from the moment we landed at the airport, they did all they could to make us feel at home. We were picked up by Nhaza, a hilarious driver who navigated us through the... More 

Thank oystershred
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Diving with African Dive Adventures is a highlight of your diving education. It takes experience and serenity to master the challenges... rough sea, sharks and current. The main person responsible for your security is you! On the other hand you will have a phantastic experience while a baited dive . The sharks are smooth ...never interested in you but all... More 

Thank Kondor-99
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great Team offering the best diving at protea banks off shelly beach, the world renowned shark-diving reef safety first then great fun shark dives

Thank karen p
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Spent a few days diving with African Dive Adventures out of Shelly Beach. Had an awesome baited dive with black tips and bull sharks. Saw schooling hammerheads on another dive. We were a little unfortunate with the heavy winds and choppy seas, so that limited our number of dives sadly, as I would have loved to do more. The divemasters... More 

Thank trip-chick-munich
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Unserviced equipment, bad manners (so bad in fact that they wouldn't allow me to use the bathroom!) unprofessional attitude. All of these things combined to give me a terrible experience, I would not suggest this dive centre to anyone, steer well clear!

2 Thank wolf946
Siridive, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Every comment is important to us and hopefully we can learn from it and become a better dive centre. In this case however we can't agree with the writer. You simply do not walk out of an intensive dive briefing that is given to all divers with a huge effort in order to ensure YOUR... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Still feeling quite misty eyed after without doubt the best dive of our lives..... Perfect visibility on the baited dive on South Protea presented us with hundreds and hundreds of hammerheads circling the entire 60 minute dive. Black Tips and Duskies swam in between us as we laughed through our regs at the totally mesmerising experience. On top of the... More 

Thank BoddersH
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Never ever in my life have I ever encountered such rude unhelpful people. It is a disorganised crock of excrement! With badly serviced cylinders which had trouble fitting the regulators. With no introduction from any of the staff, we had no idea who the DM or skipper was or any information about which boat we were on! The air fills... More 

3 Thank Daniel S
Siridive, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this review

This comment is useless and clearly has a personal vendetta. It doesn't require any explanation. A dive centre cannot have twelve 100% ratings and two absolute failures. If a dive centre is excellent, it will always be excellent as this is the nature of excellence. If a dive centre is average, it will come through in the comments over a... More 

Travellers who viewed African Dive Adventures also viewed

Southbroom, Margate

Been to African Dive Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Dive Adventures staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?