We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Lucia Tours & Charters

#3 of 6 Boat Tours & Water Sports in St Lucia Features Animals
1 McKenzie Street | Dolphin Centre, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
+27 35 590 1259
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Hippos & crocs tour

We did the 2h boat trip on the river. Lots of hippos, some crocs. Some birds (eagle, herron... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RBR-66
,
Delft, The Netherlands
Fantastic!

What fantastic staff at Advantage Cruisers. We had a school group who were delayed exiting their... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tiashnee
,
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 166 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
From end May till December the mighty 40ton Humpback Whales migrate alongs the KwaZulu Natal coastline to breed and calf, this is where legal permit holder, Advantage charter operates their boat based whale watching operation since 1998! Our staff is highly trained as qualified marine skippers, they will handle the boat with care, being a surf launch there is always a safety issue, so please do not be upset if the captain is very strict. The Captain's word is law!! This trip is a direct high energy surf launch and we need 3 hours of your time to complete the tour - within season you are Guaranteed to see a Humpback Whale, if you do not see a whale you get 40% refund after the trip - In case of bad weather, rough sea, Sandbanks or tidal issues trips can be cancelled at the last minute - we will not cancel a trip just for no reason, so please respect our decision if we cancel a trip - your R$'s is our income, so obviously we prefer to do the tour and take you out and let you see those magnificent whales and other ocean mammals, but sometimes we do have to cancel trips - we will not tolerate people fiddling around with cameras and backpacks if we have to launch and give our safety briefing - and our captain will have to be strict - IF there is any concern about an equipment issue, my competent staff will deal with it there and then, fixing everything before we head out to sea - and if this results in a delay , please just bare with us - this is not an easy operation as we have a surf launch and no harbor, so we will sometimes encounter hassles on the each, but we have done this since 1998 so we know what we are doing - it is also a very expensive operation, so in the beginning of the season if we do find we have only limited clients we will make the decision to cancel the trip as it might not be financially viable - we appreciate you using our web page to have all your questions answered and do a direct online booking - We also have the legal iSimangaliso Wetland Park Authority concessions for 2hour hippo/croc boat cruises and deep sea Game Fishing - find much more daily pics and description on FB under St Lucia Tours
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1 McKenzie Street | Dolphin Centre, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 35 590 1259
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the 2h boat trip on the river. Lots of hippos, some crocs. Some birds (eagle, herron, kingfisher). The river is wide and fairly straight. The hippos were just floating around in the water, not much happening. So it got quite boring after a...More

Thank RBR-66
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What fantastic staff at Advantage Cruisers. We had a school group who were delayed exiting their camp at Hluhluwe due to an elephant obstructing the road yesterday. We informed the office about the delay & they made a plan for us! Moving the boat to...More

Thank Tiashnee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We drove 2 hours from Durban to Richards Bay only to be informed 15 minutes early that the boat ride had been canceled hours before and "unfortunately they have forgot to inform us" Lack of professionalism, specially from a lady called Riett. Avoid the headache...More

Thank Daniel M
rixx, Owner at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Daniel, the 31st of July copper cables were stolen close to St Lucia Town. The TELKOM company only fixed internet and telephone lines around 15h00 yesterday. The tours were cancelled yesterday morning around 6h30 by the captains of the vessels due to strong winds,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went on the whale watching trip with Advantage Tours. We saw 3 whales, reasonably close, and the captain and assistant managed the boat professionally with interesting facts. However, the captain came out with some offensive comments - he meant these to be jokes but...More

Thank Jienchi D
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jienchi, as manager i did have a talk to the specific captain on the boat that day - his intention was not at all to make offensive comments about the whales, if it did come across offensive to you both he ( and I...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

I'm sure the whale tours are great and all, and we were really looking forward to it. We were booked on one, written down in the book as well. We were told to come back anytime that evening to pay (we had to go to...More

Thank Sandor K
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sandor, i really do want to apologize of this experience - what my staff maybe neglected to say is that our seats are extremely limited, our demand is great, ( few good -weather days, fewer god weather hours ) , and therefor it is...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We booked with Advantage Cruises (they have a shop in the main street) and went on the 4pm boat. The large boat was full so we went on Fannas - which seats 40 on a single deck, but only had about 15 people on it....More

Thank GoLiveYoung
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GoLive Young , thanks for taking the time to give us a review - we do appreciate all kinds of feedback, and will make sure your feedback goes to the correct staff who were on duty that day - much warm greetings from all...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The St Lucia Estuary is a world heritage site and shows off an abundance of wildlife on any given day. We found a great way to see it was from the river estuary itself with an approximate 6km/2hr boat cruise - a great way to...More

Thank Jonathan D
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan, i want to say a great thanks for you taking the time to give us a good review - it is important to get feedback from our clients - hope to see you again some time soon - much warm regards from the...More

Reviewed 17 November 2016

"Advantage" tour's boat was for some 10 peoples ,we embarked on boat ,then tractor push it on the water,and there was very bumpy start on ocean's waves.Then we sail some few kilometers engine was off ,and captain began look for whales,and waves rocked our boat....More

Thank Michael L
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michael, thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review - , yes, clearly whale watching is not for the faint hear-ted - we always warn our guests in our email, attachment, webpage, online-booking page, it is rough and wet and...More

Reviewed 16 November 2016

You will be experience a lot of hippos on fairly close range. Great trip on a sunny day, best avoided on a cold/rainy day as lack of shelter. Bar onboard for drinks. 2 hours boat trip which is enough to experience the river and animals.

Thank Philiph S
rixx, General Manager at St Lucia Tours & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Phillip - we thank you for taking the time to give us a good review - we appreciate feedback from our guests - hope to see you again soon - much greetings from the ADVANTAGE team

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Recommended by the hotel as the best way to see the wild life on Lake St Lucia, this was a bit special. They were past masters at finding the hippos, plus crocodiles and dozens of different kinds of bird life. We've been game viewing many...More

1  Thank John F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Braza
808 reviews
.55 km away
Ocean Basket
922 reviews
.52 km away
Reef and Dune
633 reviews
.37 km away
St Lucia Ski Boat Club
590 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saint Lucia Estuary
580 reviews
.69 km away
Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
389 reviews
.35 km away
EuroZulu Guided Tours & Safaris
231 reviews
.60 km away
Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours
152 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jolee4
28 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rixx | Property representative |
Dear Jolee, yes, we operate in St Lucia South Africa, and our whale watching season is from 1 June till 1 December annually - in this period of time, if you go out with us, and you have NOT seen a whale after 2hours on the... More
0
Votes