We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Right in the heart of the town!

We had a spare hour and decided to go round the gardens. We were glad we did as they were... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
tracymrsg2015
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
a wonderful way to spend the morning in Stellenbosch

I can highly recommend this small botanical garden tucked away in the centre of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
52Shelley52
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Read all 669 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good41%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (36 reviews)
“water lilies” (16 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Call
Website
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a spare hour and decided to go round the gardens. We were glad we did as they were delightful. Lots of different types of plants. Really peaceful and colourful. A lovely little cafe and shop in the middle and for 10 rand (...More

Thank tracymrsg2015
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can highly recommend this small botanical garden tucked away in the centre of Stellenbosch...ponds with giant lily pads, gorgeous hot houses, a bonsai garden and much more awaits the visitor, its a visual feast ! and the small cafe nestled amongst some giant trees...More

Thank 52Shelley52
Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing place. A big surprise to find so many wonderful plants right in the middle of Stellenbosch. The variety is astonishing. A very very pleasant surprise. Give yourself a few hours to look at all the wonderful plants, then have a coffee or...More

Thank Sportsbunny
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A place of tranquillity in the hustle and bustle of Stellenbosch. Small, but full of nooks and crannies wit lots of different types of vegetation. Pleasant restaurant.

Thank Jonty333
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 hours strolling through this Botanical Garden exploring plant varieties from all over the world, a sizable bonsai exhibit and herb garden. There is also an outdoor cafe in a lush, tropical setting

Thank PierreFournier
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We're not usually visitors to botanical gardens, so this all came as a very pleasant surprise. Visually very appealing, as we followed the meandering routes through the garden, and with some fascinating (to UK visitors) plant life. The Bonsai collection was particularly impressive. A very...More

Thank The_Old_Brits
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A couple of hours spent walking this diverse botanical garden is definitely recommended. It's nooks and crannies contain a multitude of treasures! I loved the bonsai, and the spectacular flowering water lilies which drew quite a crowd. Despite the drought and water rationing, this garden...More

Thank BevyAbr
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to visit and feel like you’re out of the city without leaving. The garden is well maintained and it is interesting to read the details about the different plants.

Thank Pretmart
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been here many times and it is really a peaceful place in the centre of Stellenbosch .It is just beautiful and the lunch restaurant is not too bad . Now they have introduced a small entrance fee .

Thank KalleBorgholm
Reviewed 13 December 2017

When we arrived we had some food with us and were told No Picnic's allowed. This while there were other people on the lawn having a picnic in front of us!! As it was graduation and we did not have much time we only wanted...More

Thank maryna451
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Oude Werf Hotel
680 reviews
.28 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
866 reviews
.33 km away
Eendracht Hotel
434 reviews
.33 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
922 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
852 reviews
.33 km away
Fat Butcher
479 reviews
.13 km away
Basic Bistro
690 reviews
.34 km away
De Warenmarkt
108 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
289 reviews
.20 km away
Dutch Reform Church
111 reviews
.20 km away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
21 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
31 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes