We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Golfing holiday

My husband and I are visiting S Africa on a golfing holiday, around cape Town area. Stellenbosch... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2018
malathis440
,
Darlington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice refreshment course

While working in Stellenbosch and surroundings for a couple of weeks, I decided to refresh my... read more

Reviewed 1 March 2018
Henry R
Read all 67 reviews
27
All photos (27)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good26%
  • Average25%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“halfway house”(4 reviews)
“round of golf”(4 reviews)
“pizza”(8 reviews)
About
Stellenbosch Golf Club celebrated its centenary in 2004. This, the 4th oldest Golf Club in South Africa, changed from a 9 hole golf course to the current 18 hole championship lay-out in 1953. This magnificent golf course has hosted some of South...more
Contact
R44 Strand Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Website
+27 21 880 0103
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$58.10
More Info
from US$50.30
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
15
9
11
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
15
9
11
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalfway houseround of golfpizzasouth africaclubhousedroughtteesshopmenu
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are visiting S Africa on a golfing holiday, around cape Town area. Stellenbosch was one of the courses we played. It's a very welcoming clubhouse and the course difficulty is average. Players of most handicaps should be able to score. There...More

Thank malathis440
Reviewed 1 March 2018

While working in Stellenbosch and surroundings for a couple of weeks, I decided to refresh my golfing skills--boy, that was necessary! Via their website I contacted Erich Kliem, Head Teaching Professional, for a course of six sessions. I can only comment on the lessons, not...More

Thank Henry R
Stellenbosch_GC, Guest Relations Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi Henry R, Thank you for the great feedback regarding your lessons with Erich. We hope you will be booking a round of golf soon after your lesson package with Erich has been completed. We are sure you will thoroughly enjoy yourself. Regards Stellenbosch Golf...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

Most golf courses in South Africa also run a restaurant in the clubhouse. Some of those restaurants are decent, some not so and a few are simply GOOD. When a couple of years ago, ‘Stellenbosch Golf Club’ took the step to install a real Italian...More

Thank Golf-Frits
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Golf- Fritz, Wow, We are so glad you and the many other friend enjoy not only a round of golf at Stellenbosch GC but the special menu our chef has put together. One of the big reasons I struggle with my weight it because...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Course suffering from the drought but seems to have enough water to have sprinklers on. Very hot day slowed the walkers down so it was a 38 degree five hour game. Greens fast and in good condition. Staff very friendly and advance ordering for halfway...More

Thank Yorkshire1245
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi Yorkshire1245, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Most of the courses in the Cape are taking strain with the drought, however we are fortunate enough to have water to keep our greens in great condition. We certainly hope you...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

It took 5 hours to play 16 holes. Course very overbooked not enough time between tee times, to complete 18 holes would have taken 6 hours. Staff not welcoming or friendly to visitors. Would not recommend as there are other and much better courses nearby.More

Thank Karen S
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Karen S, It always saddens us to hear about a bad experience at Stellenbosch GC. We pride ourselves in providing a great facility with friendly and efficient staff. Unfortunately I don't know when you played, to see where it went wrong, slow play is...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Despite the desperate drought it is a great course run by very committed staff and management !! Well done guys enjoyed playing on your course and feel very privileged and your service at the clubhouse is exceptional !!!!More

Thank 55roy
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi 55roy, Thank you for the lovely feedback. Cape Town golf courses are experiencing something unlike ever before. We are doing everything we can to keep the course in the best possible playing condition. We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy more...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018

We telephoned on a Friday to reserve a time & were given 12:08 by a rather vague sounding lady. We turned up well ahead of time & our name was nowhere to be found on the start sheet. However, the shop were happy to take...More

Thank HertsTimelord
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

The drought in the region makes this course probably more boring then in normal circumstances. Holes 7, 8 and 9 are a bit more creative then the rest. The greens and surrounding areas are in good condition. Good organisation for taking orders for the halfway...More

1  Thank HansenGeert
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hi HansenGeert, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. The whole Cape is struggling with the drought, however we are doing what we can to keep the course in the best possible condition. Holes 7,8 & 9 are a...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017

We arrived after booking online to find no tee time but not to worry we could play anyway! Told we would have to wait for a buggy as they were still out from the morning. Had to pay full rate not what was quoted online....More

Thank Yvette K
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Yvette, Sad to hear about your experience at Stellenbosch GC, we always go out of our way to make every golfers experience memorable here. Unfortunately I don't know to what online booking system you are revering to, I am glad that we could accommodate...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Quite disorganised. We booked for 2.00pm but were put down to play at 2.30pm so had quite a wait. There were also no golf buggies available so we were told to start playing and they would bring one out when one came free. However, after...More

Thank Judith P
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Judith, Never nice to start at the back of a busy day! Apologies for the late start, but sometimes things does go wrong and there are delays in a field. I cannot agree more that it is never nice to wait but it has...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stellenbosch Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines