We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Friendly Club

Although I was up there as a mountain biker rather than a flyer club members were very welcoming... read more

Reviewed 20 April 2018
Mikey1664
,
Dunstable
via mobile
Great place to fly

I've done two week long courses at MGC. Both very enjoyable with excellent instructors. It must be... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Simon F
,
None
Read all 13 reviews
5
All photos (5)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average0%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“long mynd”(3 reviews)
“gliding club”(2 reviews)
“glider”(2 reviews)
About
Gliding club offering trial flights and membership. Learn to fly a sailplane and soar above Shropshire. All ages welcome, learn to fly from age 14. On-site cafe open 8am-8pm, and accommodation available to pre book.
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Church Stretton SY6 6TA, England
Website
+44 1588 650206
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
8
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong myndgliding clubgliderinstructionsmidlandsriding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I've done two week long courses at MGC. Both very enjoyable with excellent instructors. It must be one of the most scenic places to learn gliding. Highly recommended.

Thank Simon F
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey Simon, So pleased you've enjoyed the courses. Hope you'll manage to get up here again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My most recent visit was February 2018, but I learned to fly here in my teens & go back whenever I can. Great scenery & excellent conditions for gliding. Always a warm welcome. Remember it’s mostly volunteer-run. They taught me to fly at a young...More

Thank andyh4182018
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Andyh4182018. Always great to see you at the Mynd. Looking forward to seeing you and your mates again soon for celebrations :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An amazing 80th birthday present was the gift of a 'first glider flight' - quite an exciting experience. Everyone at the Club was so helpful and friendly. Pre-flight instructions were excellent and every effort was made to ensure that this exciting experience was an occasion...More

Thank Val B
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Happy Birthday Val! Thanks for such a lovely comment. It sounds like you had a great time, and we're really glad you could join us for the day. We'd love to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 12 June 2018

I have attended a couple of one day courses this year so far, and have really enjoyed the time I've been able to spend at this very special club. The views are amazing, from the ground and in the air, the folk are friendly and...More

1  Thank TheHitchG
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for your comments. We're really glad you have enjoyed your time here this year. I'll pass on your great feedback to our kitchen team too. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 30 May 2018

I booked a one day course, cost £165. After two whole days I had four launches and perhaps 30 minutes airtime. There were too many pilots trying to fly and I spent most of both days watching others launch or helping cart gliders about. Nobody...More

1  Thank davedave2018
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, We were sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. For any complaints of this nature we take time to investigate the exact details of what went wrong, and...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018

The birthday before last my wife gave me a "trial flight" voucher at the Midland Gliding Club. Through no fault of the club (mostly adverse weather once I had gotten around to booking the flight), I finally had my flight yesterday. It exceeded my wildest...More

Thank Richard H
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Richard, Really pleased that you had such a great time with us, and glad the weather finally played ball to allow the flight to take place! Thanks for your comments, it helps us to know what's working well - I'll pass on your thanks...More

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Although I was up there as a mountain biker rather than a flyer club members were very welcoming and offered use of the club house for food and drink. Had interesting chats with club members (as I have flown before). Interesting to know that one...More

Thank Mikey1664
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thanks Mikey1664 and we hope to welcome you on another visit soon.

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Although the venue was pleasant (despite the daunting drive up the steep single-track roads) and the members/staff welcoming and friendly, the 'Day Gliding' course was poorly managed, with many hours of standing around with no briefing and little or nothing to do. Acting as 'ground...More

3  Thank RobSandy
Sarah P, Committee member at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

We were sorry to hear that you had a less than amazing experience with us recently. We are currently reviewing the types of gliding experiences that we offer and how they can best be delivered so that everyone who visits has a great time with...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

A fantastic place to take a one off "Bucket list" flight, a gift flight for a loved one or to follow a dream and learning to fly a glider.

Thank Rob S
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place after a steep hill-climb and in desperate need of a coffee. Cakes ham egg and chips a bonus. Recommended ;)

Thank Ben H
Sarah P, Committee at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks Ben, we're glad you stumbled upon us and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Diazepine
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sarah P | Property representative |
Hi Diazepine, Can you be more specific please in terms of overbooking? I notice your location is Mali - when did you book in for? Thanks,
0
Votes