We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gullane Golf Club

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Gullane Golf Club West Links Road, Gullane EH31 2BB, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1620 842255
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 83
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
November golf at its best !

Morning round on No 2 with blue skies, modest wind, firm fairways an really excellent greens - followed by £6.50 All Day Breakfast in busy Clubhouse and a couple of beers watching... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Gullaneboy
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Morning round on No 2 with blue skies, modest wind, firm fairways an really excellent greens - followed by £6.50 All Day Breakfast in busy Clubhouse and a couple of beers watching rugby. What is not to like !!?

Helpful?
Thank Gullaneboy
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your round on No. 2. More 

Florida
Level Contributor
561 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We were with an organized group of golfers playing a match against members. Although the courses are open to the public the members have their own clubhouse and we were treated to a fine buffet lunch before the match and drinks afterwards. Great clubhouse with very modern amenities. Our 12 men played their match on Gullane 1 and our wives... More 

Helpful?
Thank Golferboy18
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Club. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Whilst up in Scotland to watch the Paul lawrie matchplay me and my son played Gullane 2 , we were looked after very professionally from arriving to teeing off , what a stunning course this is , if your up on this side of Scotland play Gullane we can't wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank colinrimington
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of No. 2 and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Played Gullane #2 in the morning and #3 in the afternoon. Customer service was outstanding: the lady on the telephone when reserving the tee times, the reception when checking in, the starter at the beginning of the day. It was a sunny day with just a light breeze which accentuated the wonderful condition of the course and the great views... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
Alison M, Commercial Manage4 at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We will make sure that all members of staff involved in your booking will receive a copy of your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Club again in the future. More 

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Our second day in Scotland we played Gullane #1. It is a challenging course and quite a hike. The rolling hills will give you a workout. We had a great 4 caddy and he was very helpful. I think that people tend to rate a course by how well they played, I didn't fare too well but I still have... More 

Helpful?
Thank TahoeNVTravelers
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we're delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit to the Club. We're sorry you didn't play your best golf but please come and visit us again. More 

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

Wide open, friendly course. Parking is behind the big, white clubhouse. The clubhouse is mostly casual, except for the restaurant. They made us feel like we were intruders. Decent grub at a reasonable price. The course is relatively easy, but is fun to play. The caddies are a good group of helpful, yet unobtrusive men.

Helpful?
Thank Darryn T
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit however we are disappointed that you did not feel welcome in our Clubhouse. If you have a moment please would you call 01620 843 769 so that we can find out further detail from you. I can assure you that the Club aims to give everyone a warm welcome whilst at... More 

St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

We played Gullen #2. The course was in excellent shape. The starter and the rest of the staff were delightful. It has a small range with matts, which is sufficient to warm up on. I have no real complaints. But in full disclosure, the rough is VERY PENAL. In fact, if you hit in in the rough, save yourself time... More 

Helpful?
Thank R S
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that you did not have a good day in the rough of No. 2 losing quite a few golf balls. We do have a policy in place for the rough in order to keep it to a manageable thickness. I hope your experience on No. 2 hasn't put you off our links... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

The 3 courses are some of the best courses I've played at over the years. I played Number 3 recently and was not disappointed. Number one gets all the great reviews, but having played all 3 courses regularly over the years, they are all high quality and need to be played if in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Club. More 

Pinehurst
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

If you're going to play golf in Scotland, do remember there are many courses less famous than the St Andrews Old Course but every bit as historic and challenging. Gullane should be on every golfer's itinerary of a Scottish golf journey. We played Gullane #2. A gem of a course - hard but not impossible. (One might not know that... More 

Helpful?
Thank PleaseNo
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of No. 2 and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
466 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Get ready for a lot of climbing - the hill in front of you will be conquered during each of your rounds on those courses. After you get up the hill, number 2 flattens out but number 1 has more hills on it through the finish. According to the starter at number 1, the course has thicker rough, better greens,... More 

Helpful?
Thank m2swim
Alison M, Commercial Manager at Gullane Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed playing both courses despite finding the terrain quite hilly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Club again in the future. More 

Travellers who viewed Gullane Golf Club also viewed

Gullane, East Lothian
Longniddry, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
Gullane, East Lothian
 

Been to Gullane Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gullane Golf Club and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gullane Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?