We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Compounce

186 Enterprise Dr, Bristol, CT 06010-7493
+1 860-583-3300
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Bundle up for the Christmas lights

I am no fan of walking around aimlessly in the cold. However, what a great date night! Leave the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Shean L
,
Bristol conneccticut, USA
via mobile
Fun little park

First of all, Boulder Dash needs to be the first roller coaster you ride. It's the #1 wooden... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mike G
,
Norfolk, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 677 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
With over 402 acres of fun, Lake Compounce is the oldest continuously operating amusement park in North America, welcoming families since 1846. Lake Compounce has ten cozy catering pavilions and plenty of room to host your next birthday, party, family reunion, and corporate event! Lake Compounce combines unique and exciting thrill rides and coasters for all ages with a full-sized water park—all for one low price. As the park continues to delight families from all around the New England area and beyond, the balance of evolution and tradition continues to play an important role at the nation’s first amusement park.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good35%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“free soda” (100 reviews)
“boulder dash” (119 reviews)
“amusement park” (116 reviews)
LOCATION
186 Enterprise Dr, Bristol, CT 06010-7493
CONTACT
Website
+1 860-583-3300
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I am no fan of walking around aimlessly in the cold. However, what a great date night! Leave the little ones at home, get your gloves and comfortable shoes for a really great show. My wife brought me for my birthday last year. We got...More

Thank Shean L
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Shean, Thank you for your review. We are so excited to open up for Holiday Lights! So glad that you and your wife had an enjoyable experience and can't wait to have you both back again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, Boulder Dash needs to be the first roller coaster you ride. It's the #1 wooden coaster in the world, and it truly is. Best roller coaster I've ever ridden. They also have one of the oldest roller coasters in the USA, Wildcat....More

Thank Mike G
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mike, We are so happy that you had enjoyed your visit with us! We love Boulder Dash too! Hope you got to try our new coaster Phobia, New England's first triple launch coaster, which is far from basic! Thank you for your review, make...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lake Compounce is well-located for most people in Connecticut and I've never had a bad experience there. I just went for the Haunted Graveyard, but managed to get in at least a few rides. I haven't been in some years and noticed that quite a...More

Thank Lucian G
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lucian, Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you had enjoyed your visit with us!We will pass your feedback and compliment along to our Haunted Graveyard staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Make a detour to visit the park while on a trip to Boston and am glad we did. The park has a good variety of rides, although we were VERY disappointed that Wildcat was not open. Boulder Dash was a really good coaster and Phobia...More

Thank Hokiechip
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your visit! We apologize that Wildcat was not open. We take pride in the friendliness of our employees and will be sure to pass the compliment along! Come back and visit...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great park ...free soda all day only downfall about that is there are cups everywhere they should give each person a cup when they arrive that they can use all day. Otherwise fun for the whole family!

Thank melissav32
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Melissa, We are so happy that you and your family had enjoyed your visit! We try our best to help reduce waste and keep our park clean. Come back to visit us again soon!

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

A great local fun park for a young family. Kids loved it, good value, and surprisingly good rides and activities. Also some good food on offer. Really happy we visited while in the area.

Thank DanielleX79
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Danielle, We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with us, Come back again soon!

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

So we had the opportunity to visit Lake Compounce during the day prior to a special event held at the park. I love this park. The mix of modern while keeping the history alive in the park is a great combination. I love how it...More

Thank Millieherb77
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Millie, We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time with us! We are privileged enough to have you as a guest, come back to visit soon!

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We traveled from NJ on our way back from Boston. I read the reviews about rides being closed and I chose to disregard them. I was wrong. I should have listened to all the TA reviews about major rides being closed. When you have only...More

2  Thank Jay M
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Jay, We apologize that some of our major attractions were closed during the time of your visit. We do our best to ensure that each ride is operating correctly for the safety and enjoyment of our guests, so if a ride had been closed...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We went with family and there was six of us. We rented a cabana which was great and located in the water park.

Thank Becky33333
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Becky, We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your Cabana rental and time at our water park, sounds like you had an amazing day! Come back and visit soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

So for years I have been raving about this place to my wife about how cool the wooden roller coasters in the woods and gloom ride in the woods giving a like no other experience and her and my son wanted to come. After ten...More

2  Thank fireplaceman22
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello, We are truly sorry that your experience at our park was not as you hoped. Safety is always our top priority, and we want to make sure every ride is operating accordingly. For the future, Our guest relations desk is very accommodating and would...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Willows Restaurant
44 reviews
.47 km away
TimeOUT Sports Bar
24 reviews
.47 km away
Kizl's Restaurant Luncheonette
59 reviews
.96 km away
Uncle Sam's Restaurant
7 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
AMC 20 Plainville
27 reviews
6.06 km away
Roger's Orchard's
59 reviews
6.10 km away
Relic Brewing Company
14 reviews
4.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chrvargas
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Eagle-Eye24 | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely NOT, waste of money. If preferred parking was where the 50+ handicapped lot is, maybe it would be.
1
Vote
keith s
21 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WaiPRUSA | Reviewed this property |
yes for all of your questions. You should bring towels and extra clothing, and they have changing rooms in the restroom areas.
1
Vote