We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 10001 N. McKinley Drive, Tampa, FL 33612-6401
Phone Number:
+1 813-884-4386
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Located right across the street from Busch Gardens® Tampa, Adventure...

Located right across the street from Busch Gardens® Tampa, Adventure Island® is 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun featuring the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere await slides, corkscrews, water falls, a wave pool, children’s water playground and other family attractions. Choose to race down rapids, dig your toes into the sand or relax all day in a private cabana. Hurtle high and experience a feeling of weightlessness on Colossal Curl™, Adventure Island’s newest family thrill slide.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 767 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 288
    Excellent
  • 220
    Very good
  • 118
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
Water park fun

Great park, recommend getting a cabana for sure 😊 we had a river side one and it was great the meal plan is also very worth the price the convenience of knowing it was all paid... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Bonniefritzler
,
Hillsboro, Oregon
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 689: English reviews
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great park, recommend getting a cabana for sure 😊 we had a river side one and it was great the meal plan is also very worth the price the convenience of knowing it was all paid for was priceless

Helpful?
Thank Bonniefritzler
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Bonnie! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your cabana rental and the All-Day Dining Deal. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon! More 

florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Food policy is horrible. No snacks? How are we to manage food allergies with this insane policy? We will not renew our pass. It just isn't worth it. Very limited food options, insanely priced, and long wait times

Helpful?
1 Thank kakelli
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Adventure Island! We apologize as outside food and drinks are not allowed inside Adventure Island. However, we do accommodate guests with special dietary needs. We certainly do our best to keep our prices as low as possible. In addition, a larger attendance may result in extended wait times, however our ambassadors aim to assist you as... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Our family had a great time at the park. The park is well organized, clean, and has a good variety of rides for all ages. Our children are 12, 10, and 4. They all had a great time and can't wait to go back. The employees were friendly, polite, and cheerful. Great day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette J
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our park, Bridgette. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

First things first do not visit here in the hot summer months without either flipflops or pool shoes. The ground is extremely hot to the point it's unbearably painful to walk barefoot. They have a number of the high and fast thrill rides and also a lazy river. There is a kids section for the smaller guests. You can rent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank isabella1970
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our park, Isabella. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We live in the area and have passes to come here- and we do SO frequently. Our kids (ages 4-10) love every single ride. It's a clean park, lots to do, lines aren't usually too bad, and the food they sell is yummy. I definitely recommend this park!

Helpful?
2 Thank PinkPeyton
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing Adventure Island! We are happy to hear that you enjoy our attractions and culinary options. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Is a good water parks... the colossal Curl is the best attraction Es un buen parque de agua... el Colosal curl es la mejor atracción

Helpful?
Thank Ledner B
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Colossal Curl. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately, due to the horrible food service, lack of healthy food, and horrible overall food, and most of all the absolutely horribly unhappy staff who are extremely rude and do not know how to handle this new policy of not being allowed to bring in your own snacks and food this place is not worth it. Like many other people... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Hello Kelly, we regret to hear your comments regarding your recent visit. There is never a reason for an ambassador to be discourteous to any of our guests. In addition, we appreciate your feedback about our new policy concerning coolers at our park. We have relayed your comments to the appropriate department for review. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a great experience. We were able to cover almost all rides. The floating river was the best place for 😎 relaxing. So we took it twice once after lunch and then towards the end.It was really cool and superb park for enjoying.

Helpful?
1 Thank PoochuSooraj
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Adventure Island! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our attractions. We hope to host you again soon! More 

Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They had slides for all ages . There was a kiddy area and of course a big slide for those more daring. There's a wave pool and a lazy river. My only complaint was there was only one place to eat and the service was the worst ever. They were slow and unorganized. I Don't think anyone there liked their... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tigrssws6
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Adventure Island! We are glad to hear that you enjoy our attractions. However, we regret to hear your comments regarding our ambassadors. Your comments will be relayed appropriately and we appreciate your feedback. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I have year passes to Busch Gardens and figured we would give Adventure Island a try one day. The rides were standard water park rides, and the lines were fairly short. We were having a pleasant enough time until the high school kids arrived. I had to endure an afternoon of boys (who were standing in line... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ohb7
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing our park. The safety of our guests is our top priority. Please email us directly at AIGuestServices@SeaWorld.com to review further. More 

Travellers who viewed Adventure Island also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Adventure Island and other visitors
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Island staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?