We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Around Waiheke Tours

20 Wharf Road, Ostend, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 21 252 5593
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Bus trip that covers it all

This trip is excellent as a hop on hop off journey as long as you leave enough time to catch... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lmarsh2014
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Fab as always

Have been on this twice in the last while with family and friends . Really friendly guides always... read more

Reviewed 1 May 2017
niamhs456
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 90 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Around Waiheke Tours is an owner operated business in its seven year and we are the only independent tour operating seven days a week, all year round, on Waiheke. Our mission is to provide value for money tours to enable our guests to enjoy a fun relaxed day on beautiful Waiheke Island. We offer scenic wine tours as well as the original beer and wine tour. We focus on small owner operated vineyards and a small micro-brewery and endeavor to give a personalized experience. We operate comfortable 18 seater buses and we visit vineyards that are not generally accessed by the large corporate operators. We would love to have you as our guest on our unique island. Please don’t feel that because we off Waiheke’s best value tours that we offer an inferior product.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
20 Wharf Road, Ostend, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 21 252 5593
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This trip is excellent as a hop on hop off journey as long as you leave enough time to catch another bus back to the boat.

Thank lmarsh2014
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Have been on this twice in the last while with family and friends . Really friendly guides always giving out little bits of information on what the day holds, the wineries and waiheke !!! we had plenty of time at every vineyard and the guide...More

Thank niamhs456
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We bought a coupon for a wine tour before arriving on the island and planned to phone up to book after we knew what the weather would be each day. Unfortunately, these tours can only be booked online and they don't answer the phone. Tried...More

Thank Gavin P
Waihekeman, Manager at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi Gavin As today is April 20th, and your tour is booked for April 21st I think it is a little premature to be reviewing a tour that you haven't yet taken, 1. It is clearly stated on the voucher you purchased that bookings are...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Wine tour in Waiheke. Booked on bookme the night before. Did the afternoon trip/half day tour so took the 1 pm ferry from Auckland. 14 people on tour. From all over world - USA, Germany, England, Australia, etc. tour started at 2. Could have you...More

Thank Jake K
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Glad you enjoyed our tour and had fun. Thanks

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Just the right amount of time to be part of three vineyards and learn about how the wines are made in Waiheke. Chance to then buy some yummy wine. Great surprise to hear that a lot of the vineyards are sustainable, organic certified or practicing...More

Thank Maree_martin
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We attempt to provide a tour that is different from the larger corporate operators.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Excellent tour - not too long and not too short. Interesting to hear the history of the vineyards, taste the wines and get a couple of extra unexpected treats along the way. Has encouraged me to visit the island again one day and maybe spend...More

Thank Heather M
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We started our day by getting the 9am ferry from Devonport and if your lucky enough you can get a free parking spot for the day at the port. We were met by Julie who was our driver for the half day tour which visited...More

Thank Lesley D
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We have a great driver in Julie and we are fortunate to have a beautiful island with excellent vineyards to showcase.

Reviewed 31 January 2017

The trip was amazing and worth the value. Julie the drive was also good explained everything well and made the day more pleasant. Also the vineyards were beautiful and last but not least the wine tasting was amazing.

Thank Rose V
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We have a great guide in Julie and our job is easier because we have a beautiful island with great vineyards to showcase.

Reviewed 29 January 2017

Attention to detail was lacking from this tour. We had taken this tour previously with Graham and had no hesitation in booking again with friends but were disappointed with the overall tour and organisation. We booked a half-day tour and were confirmed with a 9.00am...More

1  Thank david h
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your review. It is ironic that it should be titled "Attention to Detail". While we are disappointed that you arrived before the advertised of our tour but it was hardly our responsibility that you had misread the tour instructions. We clearly state...More

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I booked a half day wine tour online and was met promptly at the ferry terminal by the guide, Graham. Turns out there was a slight overbooking and the bus was short a seat. As a result, and after some initial confusion, I was put...More

Thank mtltoronto
Waihekeman, Owner at Around Waiheke Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you for for your flexibility and positive response to our over-booking problem. We should be thanking you because it was our problem and you graciously cooperated with us in finding a solution. Thank you for your understanding.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Timbuktu Nomadic Deli
30 reviews
.40 km away
The Carpark
28 reviews
.44 km away
Francos Bakery
20 reviews
.36 km away
Palm Beach Fish & Chips
23 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waiheke Executive Transport
9 reviews
1.59 km away
Goldie Estate
50 reviews
1.39 km away
Waiheke Island Wine Tours
672 reviews
.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Casche91
3 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Waihekeman | Property representative |
About a dozen.
0
Votes
Terri M
27 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Waihekeman | Property representative |
Hi There is a bus service from the Airport to the Ferry Terminal Downtown. Ferries operate every half hour from Downtown to Waiheke Island.
1
Vote