We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good experience

Staff was friendly and helpful. No surprises with payment or getting started. Rental boat was as... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2018
desto1979
,
Chicago, Illinois
We had to pull our pontoon out of the water.

Larry is one of the nicest people we have met in Monticello. Be even help us. Out boat motor... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2018
JimandBrenda1970
,
Monticello, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
1
All photos (1)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good12%
  • Average0%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible25%
15 Apr 2018
“Good experience”
22 Jul 2018
“We had to pull our pontoon out of the water.”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
15°
Oct
Nov
-6°
Dec
Contact
2419 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1282
Website
+1 574-583-5238
Call
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
4
1
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Larry is one of the nicest people we have met in Monticello. Be even help us. Out boat motor would not go up. He helped us by putting g a piece of wood to hold the motor up. It was heavy but he jumped right...More

Thank JimandBrenda1970
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Staff was friendly and helpful. No surprises with payment or getting started. Rental boat was as expected, good condition.

Thank desto1979
Reviewed 22 December 2017

I bring my Roller Coaster Group from the UK every few years and we always include Lake Safer Boat Rentals (alongside our visit to the excellent Indiana Beach). We have always found the staff and Larry to be very courteous and fun. And we always...More

Thank CoasterCrazyAndy
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We rented an 18 person pontoon, as it is advertised on their website, for 6 hours. When a couple of us were getting off, one of the employees said " there are to many of you on this boat" We stated that there were 18,...More

3  Thank grandma102017
Larry B, Owner at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Hello, We are sorry that you understood our comment that way. Nothing was meant against your party with regards to the amount of people or size of people on the boat. When boat manufactures rate the boats' capacities, they use 150 lbs as an average...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This place wanted to give us the worst boat on they're property we asked for another one they wanted an extra $100 dollars for the same boat was old engine beat up the service was a bunch of teenagers unprofessional didn't even try to give...More

1  Thank La Kary H
Larry B, Boat Stewart at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dearest Customer, You arrived at the Marina inquiring about our cheapest rental option, the Runabout, our most affordable option for small parties. The only option that would add $100 like you said, is our much larger 10 person deck boat, that has a 150 Hp...More

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Over priced at $100 an hour plus gas, plus a $4 lake restoration fee they don't tell you about when you sign the contract and if you use a debit card, they keep the additional deposit for 30 days. The staff are all kids with...More

1  Thank David F
Larry B, Owner at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

I'm not sure how to respond to your comment. First it is not for free. $4 dollars is a fee placed on our rentals from the people who own the lakes. If you use a Debit card, YOUR Bank holds the money for up to...More

Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed at the lake for a week long family reunion. We rented the deck boat for Monday - Friday. Powerful boat, great for skiing and pulling. Holds 10 people for cruising. On Friday, we also rented 4 Wave Runners for an hour each. The...More

1  Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We rented a pontoon boat last weekend for 8 of us (5 adults, 3 kids) and our dog. They staff was super nice and accommodating. It started to rain halfway into our 3 hour rental, so they provided us a 1.5 rain refund, which was...More

Thank Rebekah G
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Bay Side Resort
57 reviews
.35 km away
Arbor Lights Resort
22 reviews
.39 km away
Indiana Beach Lodging
20 reviews
.46 km away
Andrews Lakeside Resort
12 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 51 nearby restaurants
Riverside
87 reviews
1.76 km away
Broadway Joe's Double Dog Dare You
20 reviews
3.91 km away
Esmeralda Family Restaurant
45 reviews
2.28 km away
USA Restaurant
38 reviews
2.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 16 nearby attractions
Whyte Horse Winery
55 reviews
7.31 km away
Madam Carroll
41 reviews
7.00 km away
Kopacetic Beer Factory
13 reviews
7.02 km away
Altherr Nature Park
5 reviews
5.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lake Shafer Boat Rentals staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines