We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Shafer Boat Rentals

2419 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1282
+1 574-583-5238
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good experience

Staff was friendly and helpful. No surprises with payment or getting started. Rental boat was as... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2018
desto1979
,
Chicago, Illinois
We always visit (and we are from the UK!)

I bring my Roller Coaster Group from the UK every few years and we always include Lake Safer Boat... read more

Reviewed 22 December 2017
CoasterCrazyAndy
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 7 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good14%
  • Average0%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible28%
15 Apr 2018
“Good experience”
22 Dec 2017
“We always visit (and we are from the UK!)”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
19°
May
23°
13°
Jun
26°
15°
Jul
Contact
2419 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1282
Website
+1 574-583-5238
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Staff was friendly and helpful. No surprises with payment or getting started. Rental boat was as expected, good condition.

Thank desto1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

I bring my Roller Coaster Group from the UK every few years and we always include Lake Safer Boat Rentals (alongside our visit to the excellent Indiana Beach). We have always found the staff and Larry to be very courteous and fun. And we always...More

Thank CoasterCrazyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We rented an 18 person pontoon, as it is advertised on their website, for 6 hours. When a couple of us were getting off, one of the employees said " there are to many of you on this boat" We stated that there were 18,...More

1  Thank grandma102017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, Owner at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Hello, We are sorry that you understood our comment that way. Nothing was meant against your party with regards to the amount of people or size of people on the boat. When boat manufactures rate the boats' capacities, they use 150 lbs as an average...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This place wanted to give us the worst boat on they're property we asked for another one they wanted an extra $100 dollars for the same boat was old engine beat up the service was a bunch of teenagers unprofessional didn't even try to give...More

1  Thank La Kary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, Boat Stewart at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dearest Customer, You arrived at the Marina inquiring about our cheapest rental option, the Runabout, our most affordable option for small parties. The only option that would add $100 like you said, is our much larger 10 person deck boat, that has a 150 Hp...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Over priced at $100 an hour plus gas, plus a $4 lake restoration fee they don't tell you about when you sign the contract and if you use a debit card, they keep the additional deposit for 30 days. The staff are all kids with...More

1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, Owner at Lake Shafer Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

I'm not sure how to respond to your comment. First it is not for free. $4 dollars is a fee placed on our rentals from the people who own the lakes. If you use a Debit card, YOUR Bank holds the money for up to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed at the lake for a week long family reunion. We rented the deck boat for Monday - Friday. Powerful boat, great for skiing and pulling. Holds 10 people for cruising. On Friday, we also rented 4 Wave Runners for an hour each. The...More

1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We rented a pontoon boat last weekend for 8 of us (5 adults, 3 kids) and our dog. They staff was super nice and accommodating. It started to rain halfway into our 3 hour rental, so they provided us a 1.5 rain refund, which was...More

Thank Rebekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Monticello
Bay Side Resort
57 reviews
.35 km away
Arbor Lights Resort
19 reviews
.39 km away
Indiana Beach Lodging
14 reviews
.46 km away
Riviera Resort
1 review
.52 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Riverside
79 reviews
1.76 km away
Broadway Joe's Double Dog Dare You
18 reviews
3.91 km away
Esmeralda Family Restaurant
40 reviews
2.28 km away
USA Restaurant
34 reviews
2.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Madam Carroll
39 reviews
7.00 km away
Whyte Horse Winery
51 reviews
7.31 km away
Kopacetic Beer Factory
8 reviews
7.02 km away
Altherr Nature Park
5 reviews
5.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lake Shafer Boat Rentals staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;