We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

2 Lads Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 16985 Smokey Hollow Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-9749
Phone Number:
+1 231-223-7722
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 16:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 17:00
Fee: Yes
Description:

2 Lads Winery is a small production facility located on Old Mission...

2 Lads Winery is a small production facility located on Old Mission Peninsula in Traverse City, Michigan. We currently have 23 acres of established vineyards. We specialize in cool climate dry red and sparkling wines and have small runs of white wines to round out the lot. Sustainably farming our land is paramount to the health of our soil, vines and grapes at 2 Lads Winery. Come taste the difference.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 236 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 114
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 45
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Put this winery on your wine tasting list.

Really enjoyed our stop at this winery. It is very contemporary with some interesting wines. The late harvest Rieslings were not overly sweet, but with lots of great flavor. We... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 November 2016
Irene S
,
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the sparkling wine and the staff and the view made it a truly great visit. Some great merchandise in the gift shop as well.

Helpful?
Thank SamTaw
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent an hour with Mike at the tasting room. His knowledge and expertise was appreciated by us. What an enjoyable tasting experience. Looking forward to going back in the spring after more wines are bottled here!

Helpful?
Thank PamDoug
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We come up to the Traverse City area every summer from St. Louis with the kids and dogs. We spend one afternoon of our vacation on Old Mission hitting our favorite wineries. 2 Lads is always a must stop for us. One of our favorites for the wine, the atmosphere, and the view. Absolutely love the spicy, earthy Pinots!

Helpful?
Thank Maggie E
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Had a great tour of the facility and tried some amazing wine! Our guide, Kate, was knowledgeable and answered all our questions with ease and expertise. She made our experience exceptional and I would recommend a tour for everyone. The wine is a great price and taste much more expensive. Plus, lots of wine options to choose from! The best... More 

Helpful?
Thank flobberbobber
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Really enjoyed our stop at this winery. It is very contemporary with some interesting wines. The late harvest Rieslings were not overly sweet, but with lots of great flavor. We visited in late morning, so it was not very busy. Had lots of great attention during our visit.

Helpful?
Thank Irene S
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Location and style of winery was great. Nice bar with great overview of the bay. Wine was ok but only due to bad crops due to weather from previous years.

Helpful?
Thank hammers1856
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

The location was nice but the staff was incredibly rude. We walked in, the place was crowded and a customer was sharing a complaint about being passed over during the extensive wait the hostess was abrupt and bordered on downright rude to a woman who had a legitimate complaint. We were handed a number and told the wait would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie O
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Its been here a few years yet previously never went that far-boy was I missing out! Views-stunning! Brought back some of their Rose-oh la la-watermelon tones-unique! while at the bar tasting wine look straight across thru their floor to ceiling glass windows and take in the beauty any time of the year-all seasons!

Helpful?
Thank TCfallcolors
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Wanted to explore the Mission Peninsula area. Found this winery. Very nice atmosphere. Knowledgeable staff. Good tasting wine. Bought a few bottles.

Helpful?
Thank VINCENT C
Mears, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Their brochure said you would get your $5 tasting fee applied to the purchase of a bottle of wine, but they did not honor it. When our bus driver asked them about it, they called his boss and complained about him and us! Staff was unwelcoming. The Riesling was good but the pinot noir was about as full bodied as... More 

Helpful?
Thank SWG2015
2LadsWinery, Public Relations Manager at 2 Lads Winery, responded to this review

SWG2015, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding regarding our group tasting policy. Our complete group policy is on our website (http://www.2lwinery.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Large-Group-Info.pdf) and all of the tour companies are completely aware of how our group tastings are conducted. We hope you forgive the miscommunication and give us another chance. More 

Travellers who viewed 2 Lads Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 2 Lads Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 2 Lads Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?