We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billsboro Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 4760 State Route 14, Geneva, NY 14456-9746
Phone Number: +1 315-789-9538
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 62 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
stopped in their tasting room but really wished we stopped at the winery

We stopped at their small tasting room and loved the wine and the service. It was kinda early so we were the only ones there and the server really took his time talking to us... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 October 2016
Michele W
,
Stratford, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very attractive tasting center in a remodeled 1800's barn and great wine. Also, the wine was a little more affordable than many in the area. Would highly recommend a visit. They focus on dryer red and white wines from grapes grown on their own land.

Helpful?
Thank JSLS131
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have tried several times to get into this winery. They either weren't open or the one time the door was slammed in our face as she said sorry we're closing. This time we came twenty minutes before closing. We were told as we approached to taste wine you have a few minutes left before we closed. We like to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for the feedback. I am very sorry you felt rushed during your visit. It is certainly our policy to serve all customers with the same level of respect no matter how close to the end of the day. I have personally spoken with your server. Perhaps you will give us a try again one day. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Prior to two weeks ago, the winery was considered pet friendly but had an incident and all dogs are to stay outside on patio which is quite acceptable. Wine was excellent and the service people knew their products. We bought a few wines and can't wait to enjoy them at home.

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you Kathleen. We always appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us a positive review. We do apologize for the change in the pet friendly policy and we appreciate your understanding. More 

Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Billsboro makes some nice wines and their tasting room has a great atmosphere. While I realize the days of free tastings and $8-$10 bottles of wine on the Finger Lakes are long gone (RIP Bill from Lakeshore), Billsboro's prices are pushing the limit. Once I hit that $25 mark I expect more than good. There are a lot of better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review, Mark. You are correct that over the past 10 years the quality of FLX wines and tasting room experiences have certainly improved. We feel our tasting fee of $5 for 5 wines is fair. We will always offer another taste of anything upon request. You can pay more and enhance... More 

Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stopped at their small tasting room and loved the wine and the service. It was kinda early so we were the only ones there and the server really took his time talking to us about the wine and other things to do in the area. It was a great tasting and super fun. Next time we are going to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele W
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Michele. We look forward to seeing you at our main location on your next trip to the Finger Lakes. Cheers! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This winery specializes in dry wines but their semi dry Riesling was perfect for my sweeter taste. Lovely stone barn with local art. Outside tables charming with water views. Lovely end to our tour of the Finger Lakes.

Helpful?
Thank Fran542015
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you Fran, we very much appreciate that you took the time to give us a good review. I hope you will be back to visit us on your next trip to the Finger Lakes! Cheers! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Though one of their reds had won the Governor's Cup award this past year (I think it was for their Syrah) we loved their whites. We tried a Pino Gris, Sav Blanc, Albarino, and a white blend that we thought were inventive and different than a lot of the typical semi dry Rieslings from the region. We had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Exie R
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review Exie R. We truly appreciate it. We believe we have a great team here at Billsboro, and are glad that you felt so too! More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We spent the day along Seneca lake and have purchased over $1000.00 worth of wine....we saved Billsboro for last as we had two bottles ar dinner at a local restaurant and wanted to purchase from them we are impressed w the winemaker Vinnie...but after being treated very unwelcoming and very rudely by the preoccupied with their friends staff we have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Dear Tom, We are deeply sorry about your experience at Billsboro. We pride ourselves on having well-trained, well-informed staff and a friendly environment. It seems we have failed in your case. Columbus Day weekend is our busiest of the year, seeing over 1000 people through our tasting room over the course of the 3 day weekend. Of course that does... More 

Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We visited both locations and the same experience with different servers. We obviously interrupted their day. They were more interested in grabbing the tasting fee than in describing the wine attributes. I hope the winemaker takes note: your employees are not doing your product any favors

Helpful?
Thank Anne K
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Anne. I am very sorry to hear about your experience here. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it seems we failed in your case. We certainly have let all our staff know about the review and the importance of treating all customers to an excellent experience. These fall weekends get very busy and... More 

Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have been drawn to this winery because of their Albarino what they produced in 2014. Our standard was pegged in to Martin Codax's Albarino and we found that the same wine produced by Billsboro Road Winery in 2014 was superior to that of Codax's. I have tasted their 2015 Albarino also, but in my opinion, the 2014 vintage was... More 

Helpful?
Thank raroone
Kim A, Owner at Billsboro Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Raroone. The Albarino is a favorite of ours as well. We have the only Albarino in the Finger Lakes, a scant 1 acre planted. It is definitely vintage specific and I would tend to agree with you that the 2014 was exceptional. We will be harvesting the '15 Albarino in... More 

Travellers who viewed Billsboro Winery also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Billsboro Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billsboro Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?