We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shackleford Wild Horse & Shelling Safari

108 Middle Ln, Beaufort, NC 28516-2157
+1 252-838-1167
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience

If you are a group, better reserve your ferry ticket in advance to make sure you sail all together... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Mariejana
,
Montreal, Canada
via mobile
SORE FEET!!!!!

I was so excited about this tour!!! Had lovely ferry ride on island we had tour guide who was to... read more

Reviewed 13 May 2017
chery3257l
,
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Read all 56 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take a 15 minute ferry ride over to the pristine Outer Banks Island of Shackleford Banks, which is part of the Cape Lookout National Seashore. There you will be introduced to the Wild Horses of Shackleford Banks. This free roaming herd is believed to have descended from Horses that were brought here roughly 500 years ago, and still survive as one of the last isolated groups of wild horses in the US. You will help your guide track the horses and see first hand the fascinating behavior of horses in the wild, a rare experience with nature that you'll never forget.Bring your camera for pictures that will forever remind you of this amazing place and its fascinating inhabitants. Stay on the island for the length of the tour, or stay all day! Same price! Ferry tickets included in the price of your admission.
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 12:00
LOCATION
108 Middle Ln, Beaufort, NC 28516-2157
CONTACT
Website
+1 252-838-1167
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

If you are a group, better reserve your ferry ticket in advance to make sure you sail all together. You have to chose the time for your way back, you can change your mind and come back earlier, you just need to wait for a...More

Thank Mariejana
George A, Owner at Shackleford Wild Horse & Shelling Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for choosing us for your adventure! With our Safari, we do require reservations so that any group of reservations can stay together due to limited seats in our morning ferries. I am pleased to hear you had a great experience!

Reviewed 13 May 2017

I was so excited about this tour!!! Had lovely ferry ride on island we had tour guide who was to help us find horse and had been promised great shelling (whole shells not broken ones). Walked like 4 miles shells all broken when asked guide...More

1  Thank chery3257l
George A, Owner at Shackleford Wild Horse & Shelling Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We offer our Safari trip in the morning so that our tour is not during the hottest hours of the day. I also want to explain that we can not promise that you will see a certain amount of horses since they are free-roaming around...More

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I was initially very afraid of the warnings they gave about this trip - no bathrooms and the 'rustic' nature of the location. There was no need to be. It's a gorgeous beach and island. Once you see those ponies and the natural beauty all...More

2  Thank Kerri T
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The horses are gorgeous and there are some great shells to be found along the shore. The tour guide provided lots of information about the horses while walking us around the island looking for them (we saw many horses). For our family of 4, however,...More

3  Thank Lisa B
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Tour guide was awesome! We got tons of information about the wild horses and the hike through the middle part of the island was awesome and informative. We were able to find a couple of intact sand dollars and conch shells. Highly recommend this tour!

1  Thank Debbie S
Reviewed 6 July 2016

If you are willing to go into the water above the knees, you will found some big, beautiful, intact conch shells! We found several in very little time. Nice big island with plenty of space for everyone to spread out that's on the tour.

2  Thank kim s
Reviewed 15 June 2016

From the boat ride to the tour itself, was an awesome experience! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and did an amazing job. Would defiantly recommend to all to do.

3  Thank Dcak
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We enjoyed a tour with Sarah. She was very knowledgable and gave us great info about the ponies. We chose the 8:30 am tour because I thought that would give us the best chance of seeing the ponies. We were very fortunate to see ponies...More

6  Thank Kathryn D
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We took the guided tour to Shackleford Island and enjoyed every minute of it! Our guide, Ashley was very knowledgeable and we learned so much. This is one of the only wild herds of horses and they have been on the Island since the 1500's!...More

Thank Tori G
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

This trip was amazing and breathtaking. It was everything I hoped and wanted it to be. We took the ferry over, experienced the guided tour with a very knowledgeable young lady. We got to see all of the horses too! My advice wear a bathing...More

1  Thank Dana C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Aqua Restaurant
390 reviews
.02 km away
Beaufort Grocery CO
551 reviews
.18 km away
The Spouter Inn
661 reviews
.24 km away
Front Street Grill at Stillwater
496 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Island Express Ferry Service
326 reviews
.30 km away
North Carolina Maritime Museum
675 reviews
.13 km away
Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground
331 reviews
.17 km away
Beaufort Historic Site Visitor Center and Museum
118 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MomofMany123
31 July 2017|
Answer
Response from George A | Property representative |
The tour is two hours long.
0
Votes
Nancy W
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kim s | Reviewed this property |
A fair amount of walking will help you to see more of the island & find shells. That being said, you don't have to really walk at all other than to get off the boat. Even to walk a half a mile will get you into some great... More
1
Vote