We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
+1 910-755-5200
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Careful the tees you pick to play this one.

This is a first class course nestled in southern NC. The course is well laid out and if you pick... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
clloydm
,
New Bern, NC
Great course

We played here at Carolina National And what a great course. The greens were in excellent shape as... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
dutch228
,
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Read all 84 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“bag drop” (5 reviews)
“tee boxes” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:00 - 19:00
LOCATION
1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
CONTACT
Website
+1 910-755-5200
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a first class course nestled in southern NC. The course is well laid out and if you pick the correct tees for your skill level is fun. There are a LOT of hazards that come into play so be aware of the places...More

Thank clloydm
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the positive review. You are absolutely right regarding placing your shots. The scenery can also be a curse. Our multiple tee placements can make or break a low score. Our yardage books from the pro shop are invaluable.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We played here at Carolina National And what a great course. The greens were in excellent shape as was the rest of the course. The employees are courteous and helpful. I strongly recommend you all come out and play Carolina National.

Thank dutch228
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Dutch. I couldn't have said it better myself. Maybe I should hire you as an ambassador!

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Inside the ropes the course is in its best shape, fairways are full, ruff filling and the greens are the best in the area the weather has had impact on the bunkers but for most part that are in great shape, tee boxes at all...More

Thank Lee G
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a good review. Tell your friends!

Reviewed 9 August 2017

..everyone treated like members before t..ing off...range balls...chipping and putting balls at your desire..water in cart along with towels..the course in excellent shape...was at one time a sponsored name on Shallotte First Tee local game card..wish they would again be on card..otherwise fees too high...More

Thank semperrc
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We had played this course several times but not in the last 10 years. We always love it here and still did but the course conditions are not what we had known them to be in the past. The layout is fantastic and it is...More

Thank William C
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Could you tell us specific parts of the course where we could improve? My guess would be the greens because we did aerify and sand two days before you played. I would hope...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I recently played this course twice. The price was very reasonable for 18 holes, as I have paid a lot more for worse courses. The course was well maintained and the staff was friendly. I enjoyed some of the tee box locations, including a par...More

Thank Brandon Y
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We take pride in delivering a quality product at a great price. We think our customers like that too. We hope to see you again on your return trip.

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Course was in good condition but the lack of any maps of the individual hole layouts hindered us from fully enjoying the experience as we had never played here and didn't know which way the fairway curved or where hazards or greens were placed. There...More

1  Thank Jeff A
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your round with us. The next time you join us, be sure to ask about purchasing a yardage book in the pro shop or you can view it on our website for free. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Course was in good shape. Staff is very friendly, they unload you bags and set up your cart for you.

Thank DerrekPulley
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for the positive review. We are happy with the direction our conditions are heading. We have a World Amateur and our Member Guest tournaments in the next two months, so we are looking for our maintenance staff to continue their hard work.

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We played the National last week on our bi annual golf tour. We were expecting it to be poor following comments on TA and by Pro shop staff at other courses. However the course was in excellent condition, with nice fairways and quick (hard to...More

Thank hayburn6
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thanks for the fantastic review. I couldn't have said it better myself. It has been dry already this season. We did not have as many April showers as we would like, so we weren't expecting May flowers :) Our conditions should only continue to improve...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

What's happened to Carolina National? Played the course today and was not impressed with bare spots in fairways, no sand in the bunkers and wash areas around the course. Also, the club house is old. There was very little merchandise and they had NO golf...More

Thank Tim G
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Tim, New merchandise is coming in daily. New mowers are running. Come back in a few more weeks and see difference for yourself. See May 8th.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Beaches-N-Cream
179 reviews
6.47 km away
Provision Company
438 reviews
7.26 km away
Archibald's Deli
99 reviews
6.72 km away
Surfers Cafe
90 reviews
6.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Apache
27 reviews
3.29 km away
Holden Beach
253 reviews
5.78 km away
Mary's Gone Wild
15 reviews
6.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit