We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grandfather Mountain

Features Animals
2050 Blowing Rock Highway, Linville, NC 28646
+1 828-733-2013
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Too expensive!

Way to expensive now just to go in, I will not be going back. Shame, since it's such a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kimmieQ75
,
Aberdeen, North Carolina
AWESOME time!

We loved our visit! Great views! Great hiking! The rock on the other side of the bridge was a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alicia H
via mobile
Read all 1,799 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swinging bridge” (444 reviews)
“mile high bridge” (188 reviews)
“fudge shop” (123 reviews)
LOCATION
2050 Blowing Rock Highway, Linville, NC 28646
CONTACT
Website
+1 828-733-2013
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swinging bridge"
in 444 reviews
"mile high bridge"
in 188 reviews
"fudge shop"
in 123 reviews
"animal habitats"
in 108 reviews
"nature museum"
in 77 reviews
"across the bridge"
in 53 reviews
"highland games"
in 29 reviews
"forrest gump"
in 30 reviews
"high winds"
in 31 reviews
"per adult"
in 56 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 84 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 59 reviews
"black rock"
in 20 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 47 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 31 reviews
"audio cd"
in 50 reviews
"black beans"
in 54 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Way to expensive now just to go in, I will not be going back. Shame, since it's such a beautiful area. But, large families should not have to break the bank to visit beautiful NC mountainside.

1  Thank kimmieQ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved our visit! Great views! Great hiking! The rock on the other side of the bridge was a little scary! Forrest Gump hill was cool!

Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We love that Grandfather Mountain is a safe haven for injured wildlife that can no longer survive in the wild, as well as a rehab for injured wildlife who may be able to return to the wild in the future. The fudge shop is excellent...More

Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time around love this place. We just came back because we didn't reach the peak the first time because they were closing so we headed back to make the peak but trails were closed do to high winds

Thank BigJay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sometimes you just have to brave the elements and get over your fears to see heaven on earth. A beautiful vista and if you've never seen then color "petrol blue" - this is where to go. I'm scared of heights but just had to walk...More

Thank Queen14259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved grandfather mountain! It is a little pricey. It was $49 for 2 adults an one kid but we also knew what we were paying when we got there. It’s on the website. Beautiful views! My 5 year old son especially loved it! We...More

Thank Danesa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The bridge and animals are great! The options for picnics are endless. To get through the gate expect long lines and high prices.

Thank Beltz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t know anything about Grandfather Mountain but we are sure glad we found it! The swinging bridge will leave you breathless if the wind doesn’t blow you over first. We also climbed Grandfather Track to witness some outstanding views of the country and the...More

Thank suekd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took us two hours to drive there only to find out that they charge $20 a person admission! Appearently the State of NC is broke and needs to make a fortune at their State Parks!!! Chimney Rock was $15 /person too! Just not worthy of...More

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for writing, although I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. You are, however, mistaken. We are not a state park, but rather a privately owned, nonprofit nature park, with a mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world. We openly advertise our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My second trip to grandfather mountain. I'm a flat lander at heart, but the scenes from the drive up, and upon reaching the top are beautiful. We traveled with 6 grandchildren, who were all excited to walk the mile high bridge on the mountain.More

Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm glad to hear you and your family had such a fun time on the mountain. Maybe you're mountain folk at heart, after all. We look forward to seeing you all again! Sincerely, Frank Ruggiero Director of Marketing &...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Linville Hotels
Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club
40 reviews
2.83 km away
Sugartop Resort
40 reviews
4.60 km away
Sugar Ski & Country Club
52 reviews
4.77 km away
The Branches
4 reviews
5.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Hampton Store and BBQ
166 reviews
3.04 km away
Famous Louise's Rock House Restaurant
306 reviews
4.92 km away
Habaneros
44 reviews
2.81 km away
The Eseeola Lodge Dining Room
48 reviews
2.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Linville Gorge Wilderness Area
175 reviews
1.72 km away
Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline
1,194 reviews
6.65 km away
Linville Falls
30 reviews
1.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
woodymelissa54
20 April 2018|
Answer
Response from jennifera399 | Reviewed this property |
If memory serves me correctly they charged by the car full. Don't quote me on that, but I just passed on the opportunity due to price we just didn't feel the need to pay that price to get sucked into spending more money.
0
Votes
darly51077
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Frank R | Property representative |
Yes, leashed dogs are allowed in the Grandfather Mountain nature park; just not in buildings or in the animal habitats area.
0
Votes
sckey2017
21 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Virginia N | Reviewed this property |
This was a day trip as we own a cabin on the New River...Haven't stayed in the hotels around there. There have been a lot of new hotels built in the last 2 years with ASU bing there.
0
Votes