We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dead Broke Farm

Features Animals
6921 Wildlife Trl, Raleigh, NC 27613-5687
+1 919-596-8975
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Awful experience at this farm. DO NOT EVER GO!!!!

I so agree with you! My friend and I did not have such a traumatic experience, but the horses were... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lilyfayesherman
,
Beaufort, North Carolina
great outdoor camp

I have reviewed this camp before and still must say it's great for those outdoor kids who want to... read more

Reviewed 29 March 2018
Smiley_marcie
,
Raleigh, North Carolina
Read all 334 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“summer camp”(76 reviews)
“she loves”(26 reviews)
About
Dead Broke Farm has a 110 acres of wood trails and more than 75 horses for all experience levels.
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
6921 Wildlife Trl, Raleigh, NC 27613-5687
Website
+1 919-596-8975
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Raleigh
from US$149.00
More Info
from US$369.00
More Info
from US$39.99
More Info
from US$11.00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"summer camp"
in 76 reviews
"she loves"
in 26 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 27 reviews
"camp experience"
in 16 reviews
"hour ride"
in 12 reviews
"great camp"
in 8 reviews
"great summer"
in 14 reviews
"long summer"
in 5 reviews
"learning how"
in 6 reviews
"great ride"
in 9 reviews
"new friends"
in 11 reviews
"laid back atmosphere"
in 4 reviews
"learn how"
in 6 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 4 reviews
"carla"
in 56 reviews
"horses"
in 281 reviews
"saddle"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I so agree with you! My friend and I did not have such a traumatic experience, but the horses were not cared for at all. She got kicked and the guides were smoking and drinking. It was the WORST experience and if I could give...More

Thank lilyfayesherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My guides are not permitted to smoke when working with my horses or customers, but unfortunately I can't seem to hire any non-smokers even though my Help Wanted ads specify that only non-smokers need apply. Drinking (if you mean alcohol) is prohibited and not even...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I have reviewed this camp before and still must say it's great for those outdoor kids who want to interact with animals and have a great time with other kids. I asked my 12 year old to tell me in his words what he thought...More

2  Thank Smiley_marcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Aww, that's awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I had been looking for a dependable, well-mannered trail horse that was also enthusiastic about going for a ride. Dead Broke Farm had just the horse for me. Carla, the owner, clearly knows and loves the horses at her farm, and she gave a very...More

1  Thank ljkenn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I'm so happy you're enjoying Trooper. It's incredibly satisfying to know he went to a loving home where it's a good fit for both you and him. I'm sure you'll have many great years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The ride was good but there were lots of concerns including timeliness, safety, lack of organization and cleanliness. We scheduled a ride for 2:00 but were advised it could take up to an hour after our expected arrival at 2 before we were on our...More

4  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

My two girls ages six and nine, had the best week bonding with their horses and in a relaxed country atmosphere at Deadbroke farm. Expect to pick up kids who look like they had fun on a farm all day, who are tired, proud of...More

2  Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

I couldn't have said it better myself. In fact, if you don't mind, I'd like to use some of your verbiage on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My daughter loves this camp! She went for a week last year, and begged for 2 weeks this summer. She loves the laid back atmosphere, and enjoys all the animals there. She always opts for both trail rides. I'm glad she is able to have...More

1  Thank luanhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

We're so glad your daughter enjoys our farm. Repeat campers are especially nice to have because they love what we do here, and they share their knowledge with our new campers, which is why we offer repeat campers a discount. So happy you took advantage...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My daughter was so excited about DBF's summer camp. To ride the Horse is her favorite activities of the camp. She told me that she loves to spend time with the horse and they are so nice to her. So if your children like to...More

1  Thank Mei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Your daughter was a joy to have at camp, and she's very mature for such a young child. We look forward to seeing her again next week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My grandaughter has loved attending the horse camp. She first attended in April, and not only did she enjoy riding the horses, but learned so much about riding a horse, put on the saddle. They also get to roam the farm with donkeys, chicken and...More

1  Thank rodrigueztwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words. We hope to see your granddaughter again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

What being a kid is all about. This was our second week of "summer camp" here. My daughter made great friends, enjoyed the staff, and of course LOVED the horses. Best camp in the area!

1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you so much! What a compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My daughters (5 & 8) are attending this summer camp, and have really enjoyed it. They love the horses, and the staff!

1  Thank chachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 88 hotels in Raleigh
Residence Inn Raleigh-Durham Airport/Brier Creek
117 reviews
7.66 km away
Courtyard Raleigh-Durham Airport/Brier Creek
92 reviews
7.66 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport-Brier Creek
716 reviews
7.69 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham Airport/Brier Creek
1,276 reviews
7.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bojangles
5 reviews
4.57 km away
Johnson Family Barbecue
48 reviews
5.73 km away
Goodberry's Frozen Custard
35 reviews
6.45 km away
Panera Bread
31 reviews
7.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Falls Lake State Recreation Area
137 reviews
6.51 km away
Winterpast Farm
31 reviews
6.58 km away
Beaverdam Recreation Area
7 reviews
6.51 km away
Frankie's Fun Park
348 reviews
7.77 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nlevy704
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Carla C | Property representative |
Ages 5 and up. We've had teens as old as 18 attend our camp because it's a good deal for the amount of horseback riding they get and the time they get to spend working with the horses. We've even had a grandmother and a... More
0
Votes
Susan H
30 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Carla C | Property representative |
Your choices will be determined by your granddaughter's age. How old is she?
0
Votes
Alyxis B
12 November 2015|
Answer
Response from mdarch | Reviewed this property |
Yes, that's correct. They do offer 1 hour and 2 hour trail rides, but the child must be 6 years old to ride alone for the trail rides, so that's how my 4 year old ended up on the pony ride since she wanted her own horse.
1
Vote
;