We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maya Chan Beach

K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
+52 983 101 3585
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to spend the day at port

When our cruise ship itinerary was changed due to Hurricane Maria, I decided to book here for our... read more

Reviewed yesterday
bambam26
,
South Bend, Indiana
via mobile
Unbelievable food and drinks!

We had a large group(43 from small children to grandparents) spend the day at Maya Chan during our... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Jaygarv
,
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Read all 1,186 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“floating chairs” (108 reviews)
“rum punch” (77 reviews)
“sea grass” (95 reviews)
LOCATION
K.M. 6.5 Carretera Majahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
CONTACT
Website
+52 983 101 3585
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

When our cruise ship itinerary was changed due to Hurricane Maria, I decided to book here for our day at Costa Maya and we were not disappointed. My only complaint was walking from the ship to the pickup area which is outside the port area,...More

Thank bambam26
Reviewed yesterday

We had a large group(43 from small children to grandparents) spend the day at Maya Chan during our stop in Costa Maya on our NCL cruise. The day is what is sold......a very bumpy road to and from......and very rustic. They do tell you it...More

Thank Jaygarv
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maya Chan is a must visit for anyone wanting a pampered relaxing fun day at the beach. We arrived by cruise shop & walked to the taxi pick up point. From the moment you walk up you encounter nothing but the nicest people. They get...More

3  Thank jillkharper78
Reviewed 1 week ago

So the weather was less than ideal when we showed up in Costa Maya due to Hurricane Nate chasing our ship. We walked to the predesignated meeting spot and were welcomed warmly. We were told that there was a lot of grass on the beach...More

3  Thank TexasEric
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second trip to Maya Chan! Unfortunately the night before seagrass had washed up on shore and our driver had warned us about it. The staff handled it wonderfully. Didn't bother us at all. Because we were repeat customers they gave us a...More

Thank Mari V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our day out at Maya Chan beach. The service we received was excellent all of the staff are very attentive. Food was to die for and drinks came in abundance. Yes there was seaweed on the beach but we appreciated the natural surroundings...More

1  Thank ElaineB001
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I would like to agree with the owner about the negative comments people have left its ridiculous,they are up front about roads sea grass etc BEFORE you go and even at the port, the island has had a lot to deal with...More

2  Thank Mike M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well I wasn't disappointed! I love how upfront and honest they are about the beach and the sea grass situation plenty of opportunity to cancel be it before booking/ after booking/ on arrival how can anyone complain about that! The beach was lovely all the...More

3  Thank Gary H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes they do warn you about the sea grass. Yes they are very honest and upfront about it. It just wasn't for me. It bothered me more than I thought it would. The staff was BY FAR THE BEST STAFF I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED -...More

2  Thank 716ShaS
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We have a 100% satisfaction policy. Please contact me for a full refund. We show all of our guests our current conditions and you had the option to cancel with a full refund. I am sorry you felt that you felt the way. What more...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had another great time at Maya Chan. I booked a cruise last minute and very grateful for them to fit me in. Maya Chan is a great beach getaway. The staff is the best part. They go above and beyond to make sure you...More

3  Thank Adam K
markmayachan, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and hurry back soon. You get our VIP return rate. Cheers,

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nohoch Kay Beach Club
893 reviews
4.92 km away
Fernando's 100% Agave
371 reviews
5.23 km away
Ibiza Sunset
398 reviews
5.22 km away
Pitaya Beach Club Restaurant
64 reviews
5.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mahahual Beach
993 reviews
5.30 km away
Yaya Beach
183 reviews
5.18 km away
The Native Choice Tours
1,928 reviews
6.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AKO1967
11 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola AKO1967, All good snorkeling in Costa Maya is off shore at the Meso-American reef system. The reef is approximately 800 meters from shore. We do not offer a boat service at this time but your welcome to swim or kayak... More
0
Votes
Corky32
22 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola Corky32, If your ship doesn't make port in Costa Maya you will be refunded in full. Let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. Gracias and we hope to see you on the beach!
0
Votes
Cheryl M
16 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MayaChanBeach | Property representative |
Hola Cheryl M, Our current pricing for adults is $59 per adult all-inclusive including round trip transportation. Children are less. Please visit our website for a full list of what is included and the price break down. You... More
0
Votes