We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Convent Gallery

Daylesford Victoria Australia 3460 7 Daly St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
+61 3 5348 3211
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lunch

Nice place to have coffee and lunch if u like galleries and churches. Not a great deal of history... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Robert F
,
Tamworth, Australia
via mobile
Great views from cafe balcony.

Had lunch at the cafe. Was seated on the balcony which had lovely views of the garden and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Struth0
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 376 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A feast for the senses, the gallery is more than a three level haven of fine art in an historic 19th century mansion. With its decadent retail areas, Mediterranean restaurant, relaxing Altar bar and lounge, restored chapel, nuns museum, penthouse apartment...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“gift shop” (39 reviews)
“bell tower” (21 reviews)
“old building” (15 reviews)
LOCATION
Daylesford Victoria Australia 3460 7 Daly St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 5348 3211
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 39 reviews
"bell tower"
in 21 reviews
"old building"
in 15 reviews
"scones"
in 24 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 16 reviews
"entry fee"
in 10 reviews
"altar bar"
in 10 reviews
"bad habits"
in 10 reviews
"great art"
in 9 reviews
"function room"
in 6 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 6 reviews
"small fee"
in 6 reviews
"ghost tour"
in 5 reviews
"small museum"
in 5 reviews
"interesting history"
in 7 reviews
"music room"
in 4 reviews
"steep walk"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Nice place to have coffee and lunch if u like galleries and churches. Not a great deal of history on display.More

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for visiting us Robert! We do hope you enjoyed yourself. We are very proud of our rich history which can be seen and experienced in so many ways. From the distinctive stain glass in the Chapel,to the Nun's cells, Bell Tower and of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch at the cafe. Was seated on the balcony which had lovely views of the garden and Daylesford. Food was nice. Waitress was very friendly and efficient. Later we wondered around the gift shop and gallery.

Thank Struth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Struth0, How lovely to hear you enjoyed you visit to the Convent, we do hope you visit us again soon. Best wishes, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing! Would hardly call this a ghost tour as guide basically just told stories that were often pointless and not even relevant to the gallery and its history. The gallery is beautiful and I am sure it has a very interesting and colourful history...More

1  Thank Alison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Alison, we were so sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience at our Ghost Tour recently. As you pointed out we do have such a rich and interesting history and it is a shame that this wasn't conveyed to you during the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Convent is more than an art gallery. It contains seven galleries featuring work by over 100 local, national and international artists, exhibiting fine art, sculpture, prints, ceramics, glassware and textiles. In addition to artwork it houses a gift shop, cafe, convent museum, chapel, reception...More

Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much Skyfox49 for your recent review. Your description of the Convent is so beautifully written and shows how much you took in during your visit. It is indeed a ''peaceful haven' and a lovely place to step away from the hustle &...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Planned a trip out of Daylesford in the morning to return for lunch at the Convent Gallery. Only to find they are not serving lunch. Only scones, coffee. The gallery is focussed on a gift shop these days. Perhaps a sign of the local economy.More

Thank Bottleart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Bottleart19, thank you for your review. Daylesford is such a busy town through out the year, except for February when our visitors numbers are much lower. Accordingly we are offering our delicious cakes and desserts, all of which are made here in our Convent...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The building is worth checking out on its own, and if you are lucky, there will be a special exhibition inside. Otherwise there are always great local art and product on sale in the shop, and the garden is sweet too.

Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Glenda, thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Regards, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Up the hill. Car park down the hill but you can park at the top and walk down or park half way up the hill and enter from the side. Cafe ok. $5 entry fee. Interesting and small Co vent but done up for the...More

Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Tweetcoz, thank you for visiting the Convent recently. We were surprised you felt there wasn't much inside! With eight gallery spaces, a museum, Bell Tower, Nun's cells, old school rooms, function rooms and cafe there is really something for everyone! It is indeed an...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Convent Gallery was an interesting place to visit. The gardens were lovely to walk through. The restaurant served delicious coffee and scones straight from the oven - yum!!

Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for visiting Julie!! And yes, our scones are SO delicious! We hope to see you again sometime soon. Regards, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worth a visit and an explore. Through the Galleries, around the gardens and into the Convent Museum. Interesting and a small donation at the door does not break the bank, so a worthwhile visit.

Thank Christopher3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Christopher, thank you for your review and for visiting us. There is so much to experience here at the Convent and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gorgeous surroundings, great lunch options. Perfect place to stop in Daylesford. Always a favorite with our family!

Thank jeaniesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conventgallery, Owner at Convent Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you!! We love our special visitors who come back again and again to visit, you are part of the Convent family. Make sure to say hello next time you are here in Daylesford. Take care, Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345638
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Daylesford
Central Springs Inn
150 reviews
.29 km away
Hotel Frangos
133 reviews
.53 km away
Daylesford Central Motor Inn
117 reviews
.84 km away
Lake House
426 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Perfect Drop
561 reviews
.36 km away
Larder Daylesford & L1 Filter Bar
475 reviews
.49 km away
Kazuki's
435 reviews
.31 km away
Mercato @ Daylesford
489 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wombat Hill Botanical Gardens
352 reviews
.35 km away
Daylesford Sunday Market
123 reviews
.47 km away
Daylesford Spa Country Railway
40 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
June M
25 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from conventgallery |
hi June yes there is disabled parking entry straight up Daly st. where our function centre is. we also have a lift to access the the first floor. please gicv us a call if you are visiting and we will direct you to the... More
1
Vote