We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunken Secrets

Westhill Lane | Fort Victoria Country Park, Freshwater PO41 0RR, England
+44 1983 761214
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A random drive and ended up here.

Visited the island to see my parents, after visiting the island for many years I thought I had seen... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Marky P
Extremely good value for money at just £3.80

Wet Sunday afternoon...... walked past Sunken Secrets..... my wife and I deliberated about whether... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
graham h
,
Romsey, United Kingdom
Read all 49 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Come and see us as we transform this wonderful collection of fascinating archaeology into a new Archaeology Discovery Centre for the Isle of Wight with outdoor activities and walks and hands-on exploration in the ADC and additionally, family workshops to really bring the past to life. Pre-book to recreate your own piece of history from cave painting to shelter building, Tudor purses and nettle string. Housed within the former gun chambers of Fort Victoria, a 19th century coastal defence within a beautiful Country Park, this is a splendid area for cycling and walking along the coastal path near Yarmouth. Our collections reveal submerged stone age landscapes hidden beneath the waves, local shipwrecks and military history as well as exploring the science and technology used to uncover our past. Admission is £3.80 or you can purchase a ticket for three attractions and a cuppa for just £12.00 and then spend a whole day enjoying the Planetarium, Model Railway and our delightful beach-side Café too.
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good52%
  • Average14%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Westhill Lane | Fort Victoria Country Park, Freshwater PO41 0RR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1983 761214
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Visited the island to see my parents, after visiting the island for many years I thought I had seen everything to do. Decided to get in the car with my partner and just drive to see where we ended up. Saw a sign for fort...More

Thank Marky P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wet Sunday afternoon...... walked past Sunken Secrets..... my wife and I deliberated about whether or not to go in.............are we really glad we did as it turned out to be one of the highlights of our short stay on the Island. The owner (a competent...More

1  Thank graham h
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Not worth the money very little of interest here. 7 year old grandson who was very interested to go in lost interest very quickly. Price the same for adults and children very disappointed

Thank kimjune
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Interesting hour or 2 spent finding out about the many local wrecks, whilst my 4 year old enjoyed playing with the interactive bits.

Thank Bobajob72
Katie C, Owner at Sunken Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review, I am so glad you and your 4 year old found lots to see and do. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Wandered into the place not knowing what it was. There was no one at the counter. We spent about two or three minutes in the place, not finding much interesting. On the way out we were told that we'd entered the pay-for museum area, and...More

Thank ctjh
Katie C, Manager at Sunken Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Sorry you feel ripped off that you paid entry when you entered a pay-for-entry museum. I am sure you understand that just because someone is not at the admissions desk does not mean we waive our admission fees. I presume then your complaint relates to...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

My wheelchair using mother & I arrived late on a wet, cold day. All the other things at Fort Victoria were closed or closing, but the lovely lady at Sunken Secrets let us in (very cheap!). We really enjoyed looking at all the marine archeology,...More

Thank lizgiz2017
Katie C, Owner at Sunken Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the exhibition - and for responding to our collections at Sunken Secrets with such enthusiasm, then and now. It was lovely to meet you both and I do hope we see you again soon. We are working...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Although the subject of Marine Archeology is not a passion of mine, the woman who runs the exhibit really has. The museum is small and not much interested me, but the member of staff took S outside and did a mock excavation with her. S...More

Thank ClaireandTerry
Katie C, Manager at Sunken Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. I remember your daughter! She did very well, I really enjoyed supporting her to explore the mock excavation pit and all the finds. It does indeed help reinforce classroom learning - but we hope in a...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Very interesting and informative exhibition for both adults and children about the archaeology and shipwrecks around the Island, alongside other areas for children with a cafe for the obligatory coffee stop - all with a view and a beach & wood walk - worth the...More

Thank ashrawling
Katie C, Manager at Sunken Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you found our collections so interesting and informative. We feel so lucky to have be located in such a wonderful place; you are right that the Fort Victoria Country Park is a real hidden...More

Reviewed 6 November 2016

nice to see and views from the roof are excellent. good cafe and toilet facilities. walk-able from Norton grange and Yarmouth along the sea front

Thank cheryl_hayes1
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I cannot rate the lady who was working here highly enough. We visited shortly before closing time for the collection of attractions, and she rang round all the others to ensure that we could visit them all before they closed. The museum itself has a...More

1  Thank hcneb
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
On the Rocks
521 reviews
1.55 km away
The Gossips Cafe
638 reviews
1.55 km away
The Wheatsheaf
408 reviews
1.51 km away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
573 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Victoria Country Park
80 reviews
.39 km away
Black Rock Charters and Fishing
195 reviews
1.47 km away
Hill Farm Stables
159 reviews
1.29 km away
Yarmouth Castle
202 reviews
1.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunken Secrets staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit