We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Safari Wildlife Park

Features Animals
267 S Lightner Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3851
+1 800-521-2660
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.95*
and up
African Safari Wildlife Park Admission
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good35%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“drive thru” (106 reviews)
“bison” (133 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
267 S Lightner Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3851
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-521-2660
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I double checked their website and do not see anything about them being seasonal. I was a bit disappointed to hear most of the walk through was closed and Giraffes were not out (I believe regulations say the temperature has be be above 50 or...More

Thank Laura F
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we are currently operating in our Fall Season, with only the Drive-Thru being available now. The giraffe cannot be out on exhibit if the weather is at or below 65 degrees or...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been told about this place from a coworker when they knew my husband and I were visiting this area of Ohio, so I convinced my husband to go. He wasn't so sure since we don't have kids and he views activities like these...More

Thank JennD28i
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi JennD28i, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you and your husband had a WILD time at African Safari! Being up close and personal with wild animals is certainly an activity great for all...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went early in the morning, had a blast, the animals are up close and personal. The walk through is a nice way to stroll through and spend your time but not the most amazing walk through zoo type thing I've been to like this....More

Thank Amy B
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Amy B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you had a blast at African Safari! We are now in the Fall Season with very limited animals available in the Walk-Thru due to colder temperatures/end of...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went to the park on a Friday afternoon. We enjoyed the “walk through” safari as well as the drive through. The staff were all friendly and helpful, despite being short staffed that day. We were able to see all the animals...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you and your husband had a great time at African Safari and love supporting local businesses :) We hope to see you back again!

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Went with one of the online discount tickets (45.00 per carload). Some of the animals during the walking tour part were still in their enclosures, made it hard to see them. Camel ride was a disappointment, 1 turn around the small path they have marked....More

Thank 898tarens
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi 898tarens, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfactory experience at the Park. In the Walk-Thru, all of our animals are in exhibits and cannot be fed by the...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I remember coming here as a kid, and I recently visited with my own child. My 5 year old had a great time. I miss the many animals they used to have during the drive through portion. However, it's still a good time. The restroom...More

Thank AJIandKMI
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi AJIandKMI, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you and your child had a great time at African Safari! We are always evolving to have different species available to Guests at the Park and still...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Kinda lax towards everything at the end of the season on except the toll! Save your money folks. Go find a zoo.More

Thank Frank J
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Frank, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience at African Safari Wildlife Park was not completely satisfactory during the off-Season. To help with the cost of admission, we offer various forms of discounts...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Second time back to the park and still as enjoyable as I remember. I would recommend driving an older car and definitely not a rental since the animals are a bit unpredictable. We had one chewing on our window strip because we were told by...More

Thank Linda G
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your second trip back to African Safari :) (Thank you as well for your comments to other Guests about following the rules!) We hope to...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was a great time for all. We drove through twice because the first time was so much fun. The walking zoo part was very nice as well. Highly recommended.

Thank Revluc99
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Revluc90, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you had a WILD time at African Safari and would highly recommend us! We hope to see you back again :)

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We were able to drive through the Wildlife Park seeing Alpacas, Deer of several kinds, Moose, Texas Longhorns, Bisons, Zebras, have several cups of grain and several pounds of carrots with unlimited rides through the park for 3 adults and one child for 66$. We...More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Deanna A
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Deanna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear you and your family had a WILD time at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals :) We hope to see you back again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi
252 reviews
.89 km away
Ciao Bella
399 reviews
.94 km away
Tin Goose Diner
215 reviews
1.52 km away
Casa Las Palmas
204 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Liberty Aviation Museum
182 reviews
1.52 km away
Ottawa County Visitor's Bureau
33 reviews
1.06 km away
Cheese Haven
67 reviews
.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
April C
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Linda W | Reviewed this property |
We drove thru twice which takes about 15-20 minutes each time.You can go thru as many times as you would like .We drove thru twice. The walk thru part also takes about 20-30 minutes. We did stop and take pictures. This... More
1
Vote
dar0270
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sinatralis | Reviewed this property |
I would say 2 hours maybe 2 1/2. The drive through takes some time and then the petting animals will take time too.
1
Vote
Rose T
21 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda W | Reviewed this property |
I would NOT advise taking a pet along unless they were caged. The animals do walk up to your car and put their heads into your car for food. A dog would be distracting to the animals and a potential hazard if they got... More
0
Votes