We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Safari Wildlife Park

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 267 S Lightner Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3851
Phone Number:
+1 800-521-2660
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where...

Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 765 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 302
    Excellent
  • 266
    Very good
  • 114
    Average
  • 42
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Was fun feeding the animals

Was still too cold for giraffes and zebras to be out. Most animals just wanted carrots. Walking zoo was not open at the time. Groupon had a great year membership deal.

Reviewed 1 week ago
daniellecR3057QK
Add Photo Write a Review

765 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 760: English reviews
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been there a couple times. Nice plan and experience for children.I was disappointed. I may was expecting more for the for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Mpilar1212
Cleveland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Came here with my animal-loving wife on a couple's getaway weekend. I have been here before, and perhaps it was just me, but it seems to have gone downhill since I was last through Driving through, they had about 1/3rd of the course coned of, ostensibly for repairs or improvements. But it seemed to me for no reason than having... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FishyFred
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was still too cold for giraffes and zebras to be out. Most animals just wanted carrots. Walking zoo was not open at the time. Groupon had a great year membership deal.

Helpful?
Thank daniellecR3057QK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like long lines, then this is the place for you. Thought it might be fun to see the animals on Mother's Day. The first part of the safari included a 20 minute wait in a line of cars waiting to get in past the pay booth. Once we paid, we quickly got back in another line to wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon L
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Jon L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience at African Safari. We understand that the lines can be long and that the crowds are larger on the weekends, especially now leading into the Summer Season. We are doing all we can to address this issue. We... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love taking interationals students there! In most countries, you never get a chance like this-- to feed wild animals, to giggle altogether in your car, and to have a llama spit on you! (It washed out of my sweatshirt!) (He was fighting nearby with another llama and it went downwind!) Children will LOVE this! Just watch out for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank goseeitnow2017
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi goseeitnow2017, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We loved reading your comment - this is the kind of experience we want all of our Guests to have at African Safari! We are so happy to hear you and your party had a WILD time and made some memories with our wonderful animals :) We hope... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Feed a Giraffe through your sunroof! A buffalo licked my window! My kids loved every minute of the trip. I do recommend going during the summer season because the petting zoo isnt operational during off season. We still had a great time but we missed out on the full experience.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan D
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Nathan D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a WILD time at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals! Our Summer Season begins on May 26th - we look forward to seeing you back again so you can experience all... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé, our daughter and I loved feeding all of the animals. We went during off season so some animals weren't quite out yet but even when it was raining we still got too feed so many animals! We used groupon to make it a lot cheaper and we will definetly be returning in the future! My little girl loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank AstroMonroe
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi AstroMonroe, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you and your family had a WILD time at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals :) We look forward to seeing you back again during the Summer Season when all of our animals will be out, and our... More 

Cygnet, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I went to the wildlife park over spring break and when I looked at the website before we left it said that some of the animals may not be out because of the cold weather which I understood. The website also said the pig races, animal shows, and animal rides would not be open. However, the website... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad H
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Chad H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the confusion on the available animals and Activities at the Park during your visit. Our Walk-Thru Safari is set to open with the majority of the animals being on exhibit on or around May 13th. Our first day of the Summer Season is May... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even if you get a Groupon deal for this one, I would say its a waste of money and time. There are no animals in the so called safari and whatever is there is so poorly managed that we felt like coming out of it immediately.

Helpful?
Thank LoneTraveller2k15
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi LoneTraveller2k15, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear you did not have a satisfactory experience at African Safari. We are currently operating in our Spring Season with all of our African animals, like the giraffe, not coming out into the Drive-Thru until May 13th due to current inconsistent day and... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us drove through the Safari Park. You get a free bucket of food with admission price. We bought some extra food. They have lamas, buffalo, camels, deer , moose and some others. The animals have no manners or any personal boundaries. They will stick there entire head in your window looking for food. They licked and chewed on... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenjohnson28
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi kenjohnson28, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you had a WILD experience at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals! We are currently operating in our Spring Season with the remainder of our African animals, such as the giraffe, not coming out into the Drive-Thru Safari... More 

Travellers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Safari Wildlife Park and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from African Safari Wildlife Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?