We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Bedford Village

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 220 Sawblade Rd, Bedford, PA 15522-7702
Phone Number:
+1 814-623-1156
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu - Tue 09:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 168 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Like History? VISIT!

Great location for basic and local history. The staff is knowledgeable and the location is very convenient to the interstate and conveniences such as motels, restaurants, etc.

Reviewed 19 March 2017
Larry M
,
Long Branch, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Trip advisor says open but closed for the season! Here with 3 children, very disappointed! Make sure to call for hours prior to going!

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy S
Old_Bedford_Village, Social Media Volunteer at Old Bedford Village, responded to this review

Hello Timothy, We're sorry you visited us during our off season! Old Bedford Village is open from 9 am - 5 pm daily (except for Wednesdays when the Village is closed), from Memorial Day - Labor Day. We are also open Thursday-Sunday in September and October. The hours we list on Trip Advisor do not allow us to reflect our... More 

Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Great location for basic and local history. The staff is knowledgeable and the location is very convenient to the interstate and conveniences such as motels, restaurants, etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This is an interactive village. People there dress the part and know about the time period. There are many who work there; for example there is a blacksmith, a basket weaver, candle maker, etc. They are very knowledgeable in their fields. This is a self tour and we were there for their Christmas Candlelight Celebration. I wish there was a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineandJoesTravels
Akron
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had looked forward to visiting this widely promoted site. What a dissapointment. It was in poor repair and reflected a "on our last legs" vendnture. Not worth the price of admission nor your time!.

Helpful?
2 Thank Clyde M
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The visit begins with a drive across a well maintained covered bridge. Very informative staff situated throughout the village to guide you on your way and share a little taste of what life was like years ago. Plan to spend a few hours strolling around the over 30 homes, shops and institutions restored from our past. Very well maintained grounds... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Our visit was disappointing. During the Sunday of the Fall festival there were very little interactive displays. The tire on the hay wagon got a flat, the selection of food and beverages was sparse. We were looking forward to more interaction with employees. They should have people walking around in period costumes and engaging patrons. It was a bit disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Moviestar77
Old_Bedford_Village, Social Media Volunteer at Old Bedford Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you were disappointed, and wanted to take a moment to address some of your concerns. Our Village is staffed largely by volunteers. On the days of the Pumpkinfest event, when you attended, we had our general store, blacksmith's shop, broom maker, potter, basket maker, chandler,... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This is a low-key living history museum. Lots of buildings with interesting artifacts and knowledgeable interpreters. The day we were there was a beautiful fall day. Not a lot of people around, so many of the buildings had no interpreter present. The tavern and candy store had jars for you to put the money in on the "honor system" (tavern... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tgcatmr
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

During the Fall Festival inBedford there is an evening of murder mystery on the first and second Saturdays in October. My Sister wanted to go so we drove a few hundred miles and went. Was it worth it. Yes and No... My sister said no, she expected something different. I on the other hand, had no expectations and I enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank radoncrn
Mount Union, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We had such a great time at the Murder Mystery night on 10/1/16. It was just me and my sister.It was rainy and a bit chilly but we still had so much fun. It was only $10 a person. You are given a story line then you must interview the towns people to solve the mystery. There was nothing scary.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lacy H
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Over 30 buildings to walk though. When we went there were just a few people so we were pretty much one on one with the craftsman that were there. We spent a lot of time talking to each one and they seemed more then happy to answer our questions. There is an App that you can load on your phone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C

Travellers who viewed Old Bedford Village also viewed

 

Been to Old Bedford Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Bedford Village and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Old Bedford Village staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?