We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Interesting place

I’m a skeptic so right up front I don’t believe this place is haunted and putting all the hype... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2018
Glentc
via mobile
More care and less halloween needed.

We visited last weekend. A truly spectacular home once, but alas a lot of work is needed to restore... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Richard R
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 181 reviews
162
All photos (162)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“monte cristo”(45 reviews)
“haunted house”(13 reviews)
About
Contact
1 Homestead Lane, Junee, New South Wales 2663, Australia
Website
+61 2 6924 1637
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
75
45
28
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
75
45
28
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonte cristohaunted houseoriginal homesteadnight ghost tourfloor boardsgrand ballroomwonderful historyinteresting storiesgreat insightghostly encountersopen to the publicwagga waggainteresting placeself guided tourworth the tripreghomestay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We visited last weekend. A truly spectacular home once, but alas a lot of work is needed to restore this to a safe, tourist friendly ,stately home. Is it haunted ? Well , $24 disappeared out of my wallet mysteriously never to be seen again....More

Thank Richard R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with my 15 year old daughter to Monte Cristo on the 21st July. The following day, we visited before coming back to Sydney. Jasmine didn't want to leave Mrs Crawley's room. She said, "I just want to stay in here dad". I took...More

Thank Jasmel
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit and feel the other side moving around!! Magnificent architecture. Lovely outlook well worth the visit!

Thank Ru5ko
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

This was an absolute gem, didn’t expect much initially but the back story and rooms and the house inside was simply awesome and the stories about the homestead fascinating - could have spent hours and hours there.

Thank Kerry M
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

I’m a skeptic so right up front I don’t believe this place is haunted and putting all the hype aside this place is interesting to visit as a grand old homestead that has been restored to its former glory with a lot of history and...More

1  Thank Glentc
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This was a strange place. I can't but help thinking it's a clever way to recoup reno money. But it's a beautiful old house that would have been really impressive when first finished. We did the daytime self guided tour. Had to prompt the lady...More

Thank crstdb
Reviewed 10 June 2018

It's always hard to decide if these kind of houses are genuinely as they were or have been made to appear the way they do with all the dolls and manequins adding a certain amount of spookiness to all the old furniture and dark rooms...More

Thank Richard G
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We were greeted by an older lady who welcomed us and gave us some details of the Homestead and the estate. (She turned out to be Olive Ryan, the lady who owns the estate and with her Husband, restored it over decades). We followed the...More

Thank WW_Traveller023
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

The kids were dying to go through the house. A little bit pricey for what it is, but very memorable and the kids always talk about it. Unfortunately we had an incident where my daughter cut her arm open quite badly on a glass cabinet,...More

Thank Melskarina
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Wow! I have been to the Monte Cristo several times over the years and never ever get sick of it. The homestead is such a delight, the furniture takes you back and the stories will always leave you on the edge of your seat. This...More

1  Thank Cr1ssy
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cherylapearce63
21 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bruce F | Reviewed this property |
Cheryl I don't recall the entry fees, sorry. They run the ghost tour, I think, as part of an overnight accommodation package, at night. There is no restriction on photography.
0
Votes
Jasmine M
29 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Lyn S | Reviewed this property |
It was $12 Adult $6 Children $30 Family & $10 concession. Cash only
0
Votes
buffy L
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Heather M | Reviewed this property |
Junee station and then a taxi as it is too far to walk.
2
Votes