We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
All photos (194)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“german bunker”(41 reviews)
“passage grave”(37 reviews)
“medieval chapel”(28 reviews)
La Hougue Bie reopens in Spring 2019. La Hougue Bie delivers a truly memorable experience that is at once thought provoking and peaceful. The site features one of Europe's finest passage graves where you can learn about life in Jersey's Neolithic...more
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
La Route de la Hougue Bie, JE2 7UA
+44 1534 853373
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I visited La Hougue Bie last year & went back this time with my partner as she had never been. The site is quite amazing, how did they build these structures so long ago? The little chapel on the top of the mound is worth...More

5  Thank Stephen B
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit, but feel it was a little over priced at almost £9 each. Nice little museum with some interesting artefacts on display. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. The main attraction was interesting and very beautiful, but unfortunately part of it was closed due to...More

3  Thank mrsflight
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at La Hougue Bie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Thank you for your review of La Hougue Bie, we are glad you enjoyed your visit despite thinking it a little overpriced. We do review our pricing each year and compare it to other attractions on the Island, as we know value for money is...More

Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german bunker passage grave medieval chapel worth a visit burial chamber slave workers on site jersey heritage interesting place forced labour guided tour interesting visit channel islands on display couple of hours stone age wall paintings
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So much interest at this site, from the ancient passage tomb to the coin horde, medieval church and WWII bunker. We virtually had the place to ourselves, which added to the atmosphere. It was entirely self-guided, with a fairly limited amount of information. We had...More

Thank Sarah H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have mixed feelings about this place. Firstly, the bus is only every 2 hours, which means its also only every 2 hours returning, so be mindful of your time. There isn't a great deal to see and expensive for what it is but what...More

Thank ThisIsMyOpinion2
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at La Hougue Bie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you felt your visit was a let down. But there is so much to see at this site from the ancient right up to modern history. We do have a Heritage Pass which offers great value for money if you intend to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately La Hougue Bie doesn't live up to the hype. Parking in a muddy field, a very small 'exhibit' with a very limited range of items on display and absolutely the most disgusting (portable) toilets I have ever seen. There are far, far better attractions...More

Thank GLN176
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at La Hougue Bie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a shame you did not enjoy your visit. Did you speak to a member of staff as you left? We are currently doing building work at the site, so the toilets are a temporary solution. The site has the Neolithic dolmen, the coin hoard...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Hougue Bie on a wet day and were amazed that we could just wander into the passage grave by ourselves. The video presentation was a great introduction and the geology museum was well presented. The ancient churches were also of interest . Its...More

1  Thank MiddlesbroughJulia
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at La Hougue Bie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review of the site.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

How often can you say that you’ve actually been inside a Neolithic edifice, well Hougue Bie was a first for me. The tranquil setting, the beautifully restored chapel and the great documentation of the site and local artefacts were all great draws to this important...More

Thank Ollerbarrow
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We arrived an hour before closing so had to rush round but we really enjoyed it.I succeeded in banging my head in the burial passage but it was very special.We also enjoyed the chapel and the museum but I advise that you leave longer than...More

Thank glyn l
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at La Hougue Bie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

I've done that too, it hurts! Must remember to duck next time!

Reviewed 24 September 2018

We visited to see one of the oldest buildings in the world, we enjoyed the introductory video, marvelled at the views from the top of the mound, peered around the medieval chapel and admired the construction of a Celtic Longhouse. The geology musum was brilliant...More

1  Thank Michelle S
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Climb the mound and see the Chapel with new projector short show or go underneath the mound to see the chamber. You can also see an underground monument to the war victims and visit the geology and Jersey hoard museum. No cafe and a small...More

1  Thank JerseyGirl1981
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Neolithic ritual burial passage from 4000 BC. Can tour the passage and adjoining chapel: great museum with the largest hoard of Iron Age coins on display. We had a guided tour from Edward, very informative!

1  Thank rebecca d
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We were so pleased we saw this place mentioned on Tripadvisor and went on the bus. Plan your trip by bus carefully as the buses don't run that often. The volunteer was very friendly and you can get a hot drink here but that's all...More

1  Thank flowerlady64
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 nearby hotels
Beachcombers Hotel
574 reviews
2.10 km away
Longueville Manor
992 reviews
2.20 km away
Beausite Hotel
232 reviews
2.36 km away
Hotel de France
2,244 reviews
2.56 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 450 nearby restaurants
Five Oaks Eating House
116 reviews
1.47 km away
Longueville Manor
614 reviews
2.21 km away
Cafe Poste Brasserie
180 reviews
2.21 km away
The Bass and Lobster
430 reviews
2.54 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 208 nearby attractions
Samares Manor
412 reviews
3.09 km away
Jersey Zoo
3,173 reviews
3.12 km away
Mont Orgueil Castle
1,442 reviews
3.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
17 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Thomas J | Reviewed this property |
The museum part is accessible but getting to the chapel would be difficult because it is at the top of a mound of earth. The view from the bottom is nice though.
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jerseyheritage365 | Property representative |
No there is not a cafe, but you can buy light refreshments from our ticket office.
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Julian F | Reviewed this property |
Very limited facilities but they do serve hot drinks.