We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum

826 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38107-2302
+1 901-527-3427
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
African American Heritage Self-Guided Tour With Transportation
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
African American History Tour of Memphis - Overview Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Visitors can tour the tunnels used by runaway slaves who stopped at this plantation, one of the stations of the Underground Railroad.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“slave trade” (29 reviews)
“small house” (19 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
826 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38107-2302
CONTACT
Website
+1 901-527-3427
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

The modest home does not have major funding, but this was an amazing visit to a home that was part of the Underground Railroad. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and the home was well preserved. This visit would not only give kids a real perspective...More

Thank Paula B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

FYI, enter through the back door. The visit gives a good sense of the physical and emotional bonds of slavery and what escape meant. By storytelling the tour guides gave us a vision of the workings of the underground railroad. The tour did take an...More

Thank Jay C
Reviewed 1 week ago

The docents were eloquent and so knowledgable. You could tell this was a passion to share this history. The artifacts were perfect to tell the story and give hope for the future. Our homeschool group of girls from History through American Girl Dolls class were...More

Thank Nancy B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting this place was quite an experience from me. I live in Dakar, Senegal, where we have Goree Island. However I learned more in this place then in this part of Africa. It is an eye opening experience.

Thank Eloise P
Reviewed 1 week ago

The tour and stories in the Burkle home, shows the great personal sacrifice made by the Burkle family to use their home to harbor runaway slaves. It put them at great personal peril. AMAZING! Don't miss this one when in Memphis, TN!

Thank kathywb2
Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW! We learned sooooo much. It was heartbreaking to visualize what our forefather went through to gain freedom and how we as the 21st people have become complacent. The different methods of communication that were used was so clever. It was also very comforting to...More

Thank Wanda G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited Slaven Haven twice before and given it high ratings. However, the third time was not a charm. While passing through to Mississippi, we were excited to finally get a chance to take the kids to visit. When we arrived, we were informed...More

Thank Nunngirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a wonderfully historical estate on the Underground Railroad. You can go into the cellar, see the tunnel, learn slave history of the USA and we actually SANG! Had a wonderful time with our guide. They were a little short handed so she kept...More

Thank keithflow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was an amazing experience for my 7th grade students. Hearing the history of the Burkle Estate was awesome. Standing in the cellar that served as a safe haven for runaway slaves was surreal.

1  Thank Erical337
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 4 days in Memphis seeing the sites. This looked very interesting in the guide books and we had visited other underground railroad sites. We always learn something new with each visit to another place. There was a school group there when we arrived...More

1  Thank Clarence D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Paulette's
683 reviews
1.27 km away
Cozy Corner
283 reviews
1.33 km away
Terrace At The River Inn
306 reviews
1.14 km away
Tug's
367 reviews
1.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Danny Thomas/ALSAC Pavillion
40 reviews
1.37 km away
St. Mary's Catholic Church
30 reviews
1.53 km away
Memphis Cook Convention Center
39 reviews
1.60 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
chadwickdarbonne
Why does it seem like white visitors get treated so very rude It's not our fault slavery existed. We were not even alive when slaves existed
16 April 2017|
Answer Show all 12 answers
Response from Brenda M | Reviewed this property |
We were treated just fine.
0
Votes
Hailey H
Do you have a gift shop?
7 October 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Kaytrana W | Reviewed this property |
a very small gift shop.
0
Votes
Cpfre
What is admission price?
5 October 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from mjgate | Reviewed this property |
$10 general admission
1
Vote