We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Asylum Ghost Tours

Closed Now: 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Open today: 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great Tour!

We came here on Saturday night for a 2 hour paranormal investigation. Although we didn’t have an... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ashleigh V
via mobile
Genuine, authentic and spooky - DO THE TOUR!

Tonight we 3 friends entered the Asylum to do the ghost tour. We were welcomed warmly and the fun... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
FamilyTravelsfor5
,
Melbourne
via mobile
Read all 136 reviews
78
All photos (78)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
About
Offering history tours by day and ghost tours/paranormal investigations by night. Sleepovers, overnight paranormal investigations, and film nights.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
20 Kurrajong Way | Inside Mayday Hills Village, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Website
+61 473 376 848
Call
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
86
28
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
86
28
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparanormal investigationmayday hillsguide lauranight tourhistory tourawesome nightgo with an open mindadult tournurses quartersnew ownersgeneral historya lot of funmy partnerthanks guysgreat tourwealth of informationgreat insight
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on Saturday night for a 2 hour paranormal investigation. Although we didn’t have an enormous amount of activity there was just enough to keep me on edge. So much so we extended our tour for an extra hour so it would just...More

Thank Ashleigh V
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We did the historic tour, we have done a few across aus. We found our tour guide to provide minimal info, non existent props most were from other places in vic. Buildings unkept in any form and used from Latrobe. Half the buildings are now...More

Thank Kylie W
Geoff B, Owner at Asylum Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Kylie, We're very sorry you didn't enjoy the tour. Most people do. Our satisfaction rate here, and other places online, is around 90% with either four- or five-star reviews, so most people like things the way we do them. There seem to be a...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Tonight we 3 friends entered the Asylum to do the ghost tour. We were welcomed warmly and the fun began. Our guide, Adrian, was a fabulous host. He tells an intriguing story, with due respect to the patients. He also read our group perfectly and...More

Thank FamilyTravelsfor5
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We did the recommended Asylum ghost tour and it didn't disappoint. The asylum itself at night is creepy enough and then to add the stories told by our guide Bronwyn it had us double checking our surroundings every time we entered a room or different...More

2  Thank Bronwen K
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Its such an amazing building, tour guide was good but felt more stories about actual patients would have been better than general history. Maybe the general history prior to heading off on the tour. A little disappointed with the limited areas of access but understand...More

Thank emmett265
Geoff B, Owner at Asylum Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hi Emmett265, We love the building and facility just as much, so thank you. In regard to patient stories, we are limited by the Privacy Act (they are medical records you want us to talk about, after all) and our own respect for people who...More

Reviewed 7 July 2018

Really interesting tour. The guide was very informative and entertaining. It is such a fascinating place . It is my 2nd time doing the tour. I didn't see any paranormal activity yet did take some video footage that had orbs in them. One guy who...More

Thank rh0des
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Overall the tour was reasonable. We felt the cost ($38 per head) was a touch on the high side for what you get. A recent ghost tour we have done at Fremantle Prison included real life actors and was a more immersive experience e.g. props...More

2  Thank nph20
Geoff B, Owner at Asylum Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hi Nick, Thanks for reviewing. We're sorry you didn't get the experience you're looking for. We don't believe a tacky, staged experience (what you call immersive) is the right way to treat the asylum, considering its history and the dignity of the people who called...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

A last minute decision. Best one I have made. No spoilers but awesome night. We had Kate take us through a fantastic adventure. This is a must visit when in Beechworth. We did the night tour. Well worth it. I would do it again. 10/10.

Thank Conrad M
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I have been to Beechworth many times and had never done the asylum tour. Finally I dragged my partner up with me and booked a tour for Friday night. I wish I had done it sooner! Great tour beginning at 8pm. No jump scares from...More

Thank Hayley C
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Very disappointing, do not waste your time or money. $38 for a boring 1.5 hours. We were not told to dress warmly or wear flat shoes.More

1  Thank na0mirene
Geoff B, Owner at Asylum Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Hi Naomi, We're sorry you didn't enjoy our tour. Most people do, so I am not sure what you were expecting? It is a ghost/history tour, so we spend 90 minutes telling the groups about the history of the place, and tales of the ghosts...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Beechworth
The George Kerferd
454 reviews
.17 km away
Armour Motor Inn
473 reviews
1.20 km away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
209 reviews
1.63 km away
Beechworth On Bridge
412 reviews
1.75 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 37 restaurants in Beechworth
The Provenance
466 reviews
1.39 km away
The Ox and Hound Bistro
439 reviews
1.38 km away
Bridge Road Brewers
892 reviews
1.33 km away
The Ageing Frog Fish Bar
151 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 attractions in Beechworth
Beechworth Historic Courthouse
271 reviews
1.41 km away
Bridge Road Brewery
155 reviews
1.35 km away
Beechworth Telegraph Station
89 reviews
1.39 km away
Beechworth Visitor Information Centre
61 reviews
1.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dane J
15 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Geoff B | Property representative |
Hi Dane, We run tours 7 nights a week. The booking system shows different options on the left side for different tours. Or you can just call us between midday and 9pm 7 days a week.
1
Vote