We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laurance Rockefeller Preserve

Features Animals
Moose Wilson Road, Jackson, WY
+1 307-739-3300
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful hike

The preserve is hard to find. It is not well marked. But, if you find it, it is worth it. We... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
shansbauer2018
,
Hamilton, Ohio
Great visit

They have a sound room here that you simply must enjoy with your eyes closed. Trail goes to the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
gilbertgirl
,
Gilbert, Arizona
Read all 715 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“phelps lake” (222 reviews)
“visitor center” (91 reviews)
“easy hike” (43 reviews)
LOCATION
Moose Wilson Road, Jackson, WY
CONTACT
Website
+1 307-739-3300
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"phelps lake"
in 222 reviews
"visitor center"
in 91 reviews
"easy hike"
in 43 reviews
"parking is limited"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful hike"
in 30 reviews
"sound room"
in 17 reviews
"woodland trail"
in 16 reviews
"death canyon"
in 10 reviews
"mile loop"
in 10 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 13 reviews
"great trails"
in 8 reviews
"short hike"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 18 reviews
"park ranger"
in 8 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 8 reviews
"grand teton national park"
in 22 reviews
"jackson hole"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

The preserve is hard to find. It is not well marked. But, if you find it, it is worth it. We took the left path up to Phelps lake and the right path down. The path up ran along a creek that was running full....More

Thank shansbauer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

They have a sound room here that you simply must enjoy with your eyes closed. Trail goes to the lake and along the trail you have an area to view the raging river and beautiful waterfall. My handicapped hubby could not do a hiking trail...but...More

Thank gilbertgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Some great hikes from this location with beautiful views. Trails are well marked and reasonable for kids (we had 4-16). Great time!

Thank Jeffhoag001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a gem of place to visit. The relatively new visitor centre is a place where you could relax and read a book all day long. The hike to Phelps Lake takes just over an hour but be sure to wear proper footware i.e....More

Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hike, very scenic with beautiful areas and lake . The center is simple but very pleasant, especially the part where you sit and listen to the sounds of nature, very peaceful. They do have very limited parking and you need...More

Thank Ed Gex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled the road to this preserve several times and finally stopped to see what this place was all about. The building is set in a meadow and includes a different sort of architecture. We did not hike any of the trails as it started...More

Thank houstonnative47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect peaceful hike to Phelps Lake. Parking is limited by design, to keep the crowds off the trails. Totally awesome!!! The Park rangers are helpful in suggesting hikes. We went and jumped off huge rock, great photo op. Bring water as there’s nowhere to fill...More

Thank Coffeeloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Magnificent scenery any time of the year! For RVers, find a site at Signal Mountain Campground, conveniently located near the Lodge, groceries, restaurant and lounge! Wifi available in the lobby of the Lodge.

Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just visited this absolutely magical place. Be sure to arrive early to maximize your chances of being allowed access as the number of visitors is limited. Beautiful scenery, lovely hiking areas and great photography opporunities.

1  Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The preserve is beautiful. However, the visitor building was, surprisingly, not open. So unless you plan to take a long hike, there was little to see or do.

Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Jackson
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
1,127 reviews
6.10 km away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
753 reviews
6.17 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
319 reviews
6.24 km away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
1,079 reviews
6.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Teton Thai
626 reviews
6.00 km away
Dornan's Pizza Pasta Company
461 reviews
6.15 km away
Pizza Pasta Co @ Dornans
182 reviews
6.14 km away
Spur Restaurant & Bar
824 reviews
6.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jackson Hole Aerial Tram
1,645 reviews
6.30 km away
Chapel of the Transfiguration
244 reviews
5.97 km away
Jackson Hole Mountain Resort
872 reviews
6.55 km away
Wild Things of Wyoming
61 reviews
6.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cjampilot
15 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Peggy R | Reviewed this property |
It is so beautiful during the summer. Great hikes
0
Votes
Sarah W
7 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rick T | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately the smoke is awful. Not a good day to be hiking today. Sorry it took so long to respond to your question, as we work to keep our dogs happy with those TREATS.
2
Votes
476scottee
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Daniel B | Reviewed this property |
Certainly not as busy as mid summer, still active though. September has other challenges, wildlife is very active late August/September. Sometimes the road is closed because of bear activity. However the fall colors make it... More
1
Vote
;