We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hula Daddy Kona Coffee

Features Animals
74-4944 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
+1 808-327-9744
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Hit and run

Stopped there after visiting friends up the road. Bought a shirt along with other products and was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Suzy r
via mobile
Coffee tour

The hostess was kind & knowledgeable. She gets 5 stars. But we were disappointed that the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
hood04
,
Indian Trail, North Carolina
via mobile
Read all 623 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hula Daddy Kona Coffee is the winner of the 2016 Kona Coffee Cupping Competition and the 2015 Hawaii Cupping Competition. Hula Daddy sells roasted coffee beans that have been grown on its own plantation. We offer coffee tasting, farm tours and roasting demonstrations by advance reservation only.
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“coffee beans” (65 reviews)
“roasting room” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
74-4944 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
CONTACT
74-4944 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
+1 808-327-9744
Call
Website
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped there after visiting friends up the road. Bought a shirt along with other products and was told would send shirt as they were out of my size have made repeated calls and was told printer was having trouble getting shirts. I have business for...More

Thank Suzy r
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Suzy We don't have a t-shirt order from you. If we did we would have told you that the t-shirts were going to be delayed and that we would provide you with a refund if you preferred. If we are wrong and you did...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostess was kind & knowledgeable. She gets 5 stars. But we were disappointed that the literature did not state tour times & dates. We arrived on a non touring day. The coffee was good but $$$

Thank hood04
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha We are confused. We tour every day we are open. Every day is a tour day. Are you confusing us with another coffee farm? We hope you come again and do take the tour. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 14 December 2017

You can't get much for $10 in Hawaii, and getting a tour of a working Kona coffee farm and roastery for only ten bucks is a real deal. It includes samples of freshly brewed coffee too and plenty of info to digest. I love coffee,...More

Thank ScottD58
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Scott Thank you for your great review. We thought of your suggestion to sell more coffee. However we are selling out early in the year now. So we are trying to slow down sales so we have coffee year around. Please come again Mahalo...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017

If you're going to visit a coffee farm, then Hula Daddy is the place to see. It's small (boutique) and unassuming. Several things stood out about our visit. 1. The coffee: wow... it's the best I've ever had. I - literally - didn't know what...More

1  Thank AmCan47
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped in on a rainy day for a tour. Incredibly knowledgeable staff and a quick and informative tour. We got to see the actual roasting of the coffee and watch the roast master do her batch tasting.

Thank JoelRC535
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Joel We enjoyed meeting with you. We hope that you are home enjoying our coffee. We look forward to your next visit to our farm or our website. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Great tour of a working Coffee farm. Very interesting information, and great samples, and they have a great tea as well. The tour costs $10 per person.

Thank Andrea B
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Andrea Thank you for leaving a review. We hope you enjoy our coffee and return to visit us on our farm or website. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The tour costs $10, but you get great insight from the owner and the roaster who are so knowledgeable and passionate. Also the location is jaw-dropping: the vista from the hillside down to the coast is worth the price alone! We chose this tour because...More

1  Thank Jinlondon96
Karen Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Aloha It was a pleasure meeting you and showing you our farm. Thank you for leaving a great review. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

An excellent place to visit, friendly staff who know about their coffee, free tours of the small plantation, history of the brand and you can see the whole coffee process from the beans growing to the roasting room. Free taster coffee available and you can...More

1  Thank Orinoco5452
Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Aloha We are so glad you enjoyed our farm. Just to keep the record straight as if this month we require advance resevations and have a charge of $10 a person. We hope you come back soon. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 2 September 2017

What an great free tour! We stumbled across this place through Trip Advisor, and it was a great place to spend a rainy afternoon. We wandered through the coffee plantations and learned about the coffee-harvesting processes and sampled the coffee berry. It was interesting because...More

1  Thank lachlaninnewzealand
Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Aloha We enjoyed meeting you, showing you our farm and our coffee Please come back again. Mahalo Karen

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Morning traffic can be so congested in the Kailua-Kona area, that we decided to detour one morning on a trip south to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, traveling along Kona's coffee road the Mamalahoa highway (SR 180) and through the quaint artist community of Holualoa. We...More

2  Thank John P
Lee P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Aloha. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review. Your ideas are grest and we will follow up in them. Mahalo Karen

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
469 reviews
5.07 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,247 reviews
5.09 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
513 reviews
5.19 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,111 reviews
5.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mi Taqeria Potosina
14 reviews
3.92 km away
Broke da Mouth Grindz
237 reviews
4.69 km away
Kona Coffee and Tea Company
113 reviews
4.62 km away
Privateer's Cove
45 reviews
4.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ueshima Coffee Company
34 reviews
4.56 km away
Mountain Thunder Coffee Plantation
854 reviews
3.70 km away
Mauka Meadows
164 reviews
3.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
incubusfanclm
20 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lee P | Property representative |
Aloha The tour is free and so are the coffee samples. The tours last about 30 minutes. However, we offer the tour the visitor wants not the tour we want to do. So sometimes tours can be shorter and sometimes longer depending... More
0
Votes
Dunderlin
16 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ken G | Reviewed this property |
Under an hour. Unless you want to talk a lot :-)
1
Vote