We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lava Ocean Tours Inc

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
+1 808-966-4200
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Expensive but once in a lifetime

Very fast sturdy boat, great crew, and incredible views of lava hitting the ocean (although the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Brad W
Amazing natural adventure!

Listen to instructions and wear rain gear, you're in for a wet, bumpy ride! We had a blast heading... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
2Sgirls
via mobile
Read all 1,051 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Lava Ocean Tours is your exclusive way Explore the Hilo side of Big Island. View volcanic activity on our boat & hikes to see the LAVA. Our state of the art vessels are modern aluminum catamarans including the "Lavaone" 49 passenger 40x14 catamaran powered by 4 Honda 250hp motors. Whether lava is flowing on the land or sea we will get you to the closet viewing point safely possible. We also offer the Ultimate Boat Waterfall Tours departing Hilo to see over 30+ boat only waterfalls and dolphins in uncrowded waters. During Hawaii Whale Season (Dec-Apr) enjoy whale watching in Hilo Bay and surrounding waters on an intimate ocean cruise. Our tours include Lava Boat Tours, Guided Lava Hikes, Volcano Boat Tours, Waterfall & Dolphin Tours, Charter Fishing, Hilo Whale Watching and Private Tours.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good9%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“captain shane” (100 reviews)
“lava ocean” (118 reviews)
“boat ride” (153 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 19:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-966-4200
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Very fast sturdy boat, great crew, and incredible views of lava hitting the ocean (although the view was occasionally obscured by smaller boats that got even closer). The ocean is rough and you will get wet. I took Dramamine before the ride just in case....More

2  Thank Brad W
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Listen to instructions and wear rain gear, you're in for a wet, bumpy ride! We had a blast heading out to the lava flow - beautiful shore line there and back! We were amazed at how close we were able to get to the lava.....incredible...More

1  Thank 2Sgirls
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a brilliant trip on a 7am tour, so it was daylight. We loved the boat trip as much as the lava viewing. We were near the front and loved the ride and got a bit wet, but we didn't mind at all. My...More

1  Thank Joanne024
Reviewed 4 days ago

i've never seen anything like it. the trip was a twofold adventure with the boat ride and close up opportunity to see lava flowing. fabulous.

1  Thank gruss2016
Reviewed 5 days ago

My husband and I wanted to see this place on our honeymoon so much that we decided to go ahead and book it. When we booked the tour, we did not know it was like over 2h of driving from Kona. Either way, we would've...More

1  Thank Andreea V
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Absolutely amazing. Captain Shane, Christa, and the rest of the crew was awesome. Well worth the money.

1  Thank Chiefjal
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a photographer and was excited about this tour in spite of the $250 price. We left on a two hour cruise (per their description) about 5 minutes late. No big deal there, but after being on site for about 25 minutes, they head...More

2  Thank Nittany62
LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Guest failed to mention that The waters were very calm this day which allowed us a faster transfer to and from the Lava. We generally stay at the eruption site from 20 to 30 minutes depending on ocean conditions are two hour tour is based...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

From roll call to exiting the parking lot a few hours later - this was an absolutely amazing experience!! The safety talk was real, the ocean spray was wet :), our time in front of the lava flow was perfect - with each pass, the...More

1  Thank visitor205G
LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We agree an amazing tour it is

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lot fun on the ride to and back from the lava even though being completely soaked. Lava views were great we sailed surprisingly close multiple times. Got fantastic photos. Only downside, compared to a half-day diving tour we did today the 220$...More

Thank SaschaRohner
LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes if you we in a harbor filled with boats and easy access the tours are cheaper however this tour happens in remote place no services available everything must be delivered and the skill level of captains and crew must be outmost and there are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was amazing. Captain is very keen on safety. He wants to ensure the best possible experience but also making sure it is done in safest manner possible. Captain got us right up to the lava for the most unforgettable pictures and videos ever. Not...More

Thank Mandy L
LavaOcean, Manager at Lava Ocean Tours Inc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mahalo

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kaleo's Bar & Grill
907 reviews
11.33 km away
Pahoa Fresh Fish
152 reviews
11.95 km away
Ning's Thai Cuisine
227 reviews
11.37 km away
Tin Shack Bakery
91 reviews
11.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ahalanui Park
302 reviews
1.40 km away
Isaac Hale Beach Park
120 reviews
.31 km away
Hawaiian Lava Boat Tours
85 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MP0878
27 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from AFallenMathematician | Reviewed this property |
I'm 72 and had absolutely no problem when I took this tour in June.
0
Votes
MP0878
27 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Brittany G | Reviewed this property |
Our Boat had a mobile staircase and it was easy to get in and out. It is a rough boat ride so if they have back or neck problems that might be an issue. No one in our group got sea sick but there were several others on the... More
0
Votes
romyone1
5 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Myra A | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can as long as spots are available. We made our reservation in their store in Alii drive 2 days prior, we were lucky to have 4 spots open for us.
0
Votes