We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waikoloa Beach Golf Course

600 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
+1 808-886-7888
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Customer Service

For a first time experience, we were left somewhat disappointed. The golf course itself met all of... read more

Reviewed 9 May 2018
Geneva E
Disappointing

Having golfed many " resort courses" throughout the Islands this was a disappointment. The pro shop... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2018
Shirley E
via mobile
Read all 190 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A par-70 Robert Trent Jones Jr. design golf course along the spectacular views of the Kohala coastline.
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good39%
  • Average24%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sand traps” (10 reviews)
“driving range” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
600 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-886-7888
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Waikoloa
from US$182.30
More Info
from US$223.96
More Info
from US$238.53
More Info
from US$176.04
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sand traps"
in 10 reviews
"driving range"
in 7 reviews
"bring extra balls"
in 2 reviews
"raked sand"
in 2 reviews
"free water bottles"
in 2 reviews
"tee box"
in 2 reviews
"tee times"
in 4 reviews
"challenging enough"
in 2 reviews
"practice area"
in 2 reviews
"windy conditions"
in 2 reviews
"play golf"
in 5 reviews
"nice layout"
in 4 reviews
"yardage markers"
in 2 reviews
"round of golf"
in 2 reviews
"lava fields"
in 4 reviews
"see whales"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2018

For a first time experience, we were left somewhat disappointed. The golf course itself met all of our expectations. The fairways, greens and views were spectacular. However, the staff could use a few classes in customer service. Our check in was great, were were directed...More

2  Thank Geneva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalugirl6, Public Relations Manager at Waikoloa Beach Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Aloha Geneva E, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we were pleased with your comments about the shape of our course, we were disappointed that our customer service was not up to par. We have put a lot of effort...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Having golfed many " resort courses" throughout the Islands this was a disappointment. The pro shop staff were not helpful and unfriendly. The course was okay not to the level you expect of a Hawaiian resort course. Been there done that not doing again!More

1  Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalugirl6, Guest Relations Manager at Waikoloa Beach Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Aloha Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have been working on improvements to both of our courses and recently completed aerification. Normally, we do take pride in our guest services, however, it seems we had a bad day the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

The first thing to state is that the greens are in very condition and we were able to play before they were cored at this time of the year. Initially when we booked the pro staff were a little rude which should not be the...More

Thank DBH_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Our first Hawaiian golf experience of our trip. The course was interesting to play but consider the weather forecast as the wind plays havoc. We rented a left hand set of lady's clubs at the course and the condition of the clubs and bag was...More

Thank chrisraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalugirl6, Public Relations Manager at Waikoloa Beach Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Aloha Chrisraine, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Boy, you sure are right about the weather. It has been rough and we were really missing the sunshine. While we can't control the weather, we can control the state of our golf...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Over the many years we have been coming to this island my husband and I have played both the Beach & King's courses more times than we can count. First, I would say the Beach Course is much more interesting, has a nicer layout and...More

1  Thank out-of-here-arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This is a resort course so the green fees are resort prices $$$$$ but the course was not worth $. No sand in the sand traps, no ball washers anywhere on the course, no water or beverage service on the course and the golf cart...More

2  Thank Beenthere216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Conditions were fine, couple holes were interesting, and can be got at a great rate if you do a multi round package. By itself at $149 is steep for what you're getting. Don't be fooled thinking this is the "ocean course" of the two Waikoloa...More

1  Thank mprach024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We like the 9-hole option as travelers. Most places it is 18 or nothing. Interesting that they have "forward" tees for senior men-which are actually the women's tees-but no "forward" tees for women. I am finding this most annoying with golf. They would attract more...More

Thank skwood022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

these are real resort courses. they are wide and friendly. The Kings course is in better shape so if you have a choice i'd do this one.

Thank Edmund1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Hi gang, Played Waikoloa Beach course to wrap up my Hawaii golf trip here on the Big Island. Paid $135+6 tx. Online reservation with Hawaiiteetimes.com sent me a confirmation email but pro shop needed to call because they didn’t show it. I showed them my...More

Thank Nothreeputts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Hilton Waikoloa Village
8,718 reviews
.33 km away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
1,182 reviews
.70 km away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
3,127 reviews
1.01 km away
Kohala Coast Collection
1 review
1.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kamuela Provision Company
1,116 reviews
.65 km away
Sunset Luau at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott
236 reviews
.99 km away
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
1,997 reviews
1.06 km away
Marriott Waikola Beach
372 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dolphin Quest
1,917 reviews
.00 km away
49 Black Sand Beach
504 reviews
.88 km away
Anaehoomalu
638 reviews
.98 km away
Waikoloa Petroglyph Preserve
121 reviews
.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ron R
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TomBethHerndon | Reviewed this property |
One of the golfers I played with said he got rentals from the course. You can call the course and ask that question and get rates. 808- 886-7888. I got good rates by playing 3 rounds.
1
Vote
;