We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Princeville Makai Golf Club

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 4080 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville at Hanalei, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5115
Phone Number: +1 808-826-1912

The Top Golf Experience on Kauai; Our 27-hole Golf Facility was designed by...

The Top Golf Experience on Kauai; Our 27-hole Golf Facility was designed by Mr. Robert Trent Jones Jr.-in the late 1960s. We recently went through an extensive renovation to 18 (Oceans & Lakes Nines) of our 27 holes (Woods Is Still Open But Was Not Renovated). The new 18 was opened in January of 2010 and is now know as the Makai Course. The new and improved championship Makai course is a breath taking par-72 at over 7,200 yards. We proudly boast some of the most epic ocean/mountain views Hawaii golf has to offer.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 274 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 187
  • 60
    Very good
  • 7
  • 7
  • 2
A stunning course but two very different nines

If you're a golfer and you find yourself on the north shore of Kauai then playing Makai is a must. While not every hole is dramatic, the chasm like drop from the tee on the par 3... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
John B
Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 263: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very expensive, but we paid to play with ocean views. The views did not disappoint. We did not know until after we paid that the full course was "cart path only" due to recent rain. Knowing this ahead of time would have been nice. This makes the cart a liability rather than an aid. This slows down play; walking would... More 

Thank Bobo L
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,403 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 885 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're a golfer and you find yourself on the north shore of Kauai then playing Makai is a must. While not every hole is dramatic, the chasm like drop from the tee on the par 3 #3 and the tough but spectacular 7th par 3 truly make the course. There are ocean views from several of the other holes... More 

Thank John B
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So fun! Self guided tour along the ocean front holes - get your cocktail at 'stop one' and head out for an awesome night on the course! Last stop overlooks hanalei bay for the setting sun. Would do again for sure!!

Thank vvendygirl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did not play the course but took the sunset golf cart tour. It's a self-guided tour with about 7 different stops for incredible views, including Queen's Bath and the course itself. One of the things I enjoyed most on Kauai!

Thank jessl9805
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Although my husband and I did not have our best round, we agreed that it was the most beautiful place we've played thus far. Great customer service and the course was in very good shape. Will definitely go back on our next trip to Kauai. Highly recommend their Sunset Golf Cart Tour. It's a great way to see the sunset... More 

Thank Lynn M
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

My wife and I played the Makai golf course 2 weeks ago while we were in Princeville, the course is nice and well maintained with few holes near the ocean, great views and on back nine you can see the Queen's bath....We played in the afternoon and it was very windy 3 clubs more against the wind. The starter was... More 

Thank AndreMontrealCanada
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

We took the sunset tour in late September. For $50 per couple, you get a golf cart with a self-guided tour card as you traverse the back nine, while finishing on the front nine. There were a few golfers on the course which you could easily work your way around. We started at about 5:00, finishing at sunset at the... More 

Thank dbunn2013
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This was the best $99 we have spent in a while! An hour lesson with a great pro (Andy), rental clubs, scramble-play on the three signature holes (gorgeous!) topped off by a glass of Prosecco on the last hole. Water, towels, pineapple snack provided, and we got some brief torrential rains on one hole to add to the tropical atmosphere.... More 

Thank MSmith338
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

Makai Golf Club is ranked in the top 100 golf courses in the world- a designation well deserved. We golfed twice at the Makai Golf Club- once as part of the clinic with their golf pro and once on our own. The golf course is located on the ocean in Princeville so has outstanding views from some holes. The course... More 

Thank Sarah B
Heidi J, Public Relations Manager at Princeville Makai Golf Club, responded to this review

Aloha Sarah B! I love that you had an amazing time while you were out playing the Makai! We would love to have you back any time and please feel free to bring back some Aloha spirit with you! Mahalo, have a great day! More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Went to Makai today was not informed about the green aeration that was done two days ago, prior to our visit. It cost a lot of money and was very disappointing. Their website did not detail the dates of aeration. We would have played PoiPu again if we knew. We drove over an hour to play. A great course layout... More 

1 Thank Steve Z
Heidi J, Public Relations Manager at Princeville Makai Golf Club, responded to this review

Aloha Steve Z! I'm very sorry to hear about your experience at the Makai. We do our best to alert everyone of our aeration dates when the time comes, however, unfortunately sometimes people do get missed. I'm very sorry you happened to be that person! If you would like to contact me directly so we can talk more about your... More 

Travellers who viewed Princeville Makai Golf Club also viewed


Been to Princeville Makai Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Princeville Makai Golf Club and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Princeville Makai Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?