We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Mombasa - Malindi Highway, Kilifi, Kenya
Phone Number:
+254 700 337489
Today
07:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

One of the most beautiful, scenic and tranquil locations on the Kenyan...

One of the most beautiful, scenic and tranquil locations on the Kenyan Coast is now home to a five-star private residential golfing destination, Vipingo Ridge.The exclusive 2,500 acre residential estate is centered around an outstanding Clubhouse with a 18-hole championship golf course. The Clubhouse and the first of the two 18 hole golf courses is already completed and open for residents and guests to enjoy.The estate also boasts abundant other treasures including a beach club, private airstrip, numerous lakes, woodland areas and nature trails; bringing together harmoniously a range of elements of luxury living within a secure, walled and gated community.With so much to offer, Vipingo Ridge is undoubtedly becoming a most desirable residential address, a must for any golfer and the ultimate holiday destination.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 56 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Worth visiting

I had lunch here with some friends this week, at the Club House. The service was good. Friendly and warm staff. The food was good too though I must say my friends loved their food... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2017
Terry M
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

I live in nearby Kilifi and took some friends from England there in 2012 simply because I had heard so much about it.Well.... to be truthful we were all very disappointed.For starters it's not easy to get to unless you have a Car. You turn off the Mombasa/Malindi Highway and drive for about half a Mile until you reach security... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Avee H
TwigaNairobi, General Manager at Vipingo Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Avee H, I am full of intrigue as to why you decided in mid-April 2017 to publish a review going back to your visit during Christmas 2012! In case my mathematics deceives me that was something like 64 months ago! During that period a number of things have happened. In the 30 months I have been at Vipingo Ridge... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Sitting outside on the terrace in the afternoon is a nightmare. Too hot. We asked one waiter to switch on the big fan outside but she bluntly told us that it was too noisy and most guys will take offense. All the guys were white. We decided to move to a more breezy spot. After 10 minutes a white elderly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank knjenga9
TwigaNairobi, Manager at Vipingo Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Knjenga9, Thank you for your comments. At Vipingo Ridge we take all allegations of favouritism very seriously as it goes against our core values and policies. Unfortunately with no specific date and the unfortunate incident being so long ago we are unable to determine who you were served by. However, we can assure you that we do not discriminate... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The buffet at Clubhouse is pathetic & completely tasteless. Its blend & there is much need for a new chef who has skill, experience & passion for cooking. The staff there have a dont care attitude & perhaps the focus of Vipingo Ridge is on golfing & golfers & not other avenues or products they offer. They need to revamp... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Azme
TwigaNairobi, Food & Beverage Manager at Vipingo Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Azme, You came in on Sunday and asked for the a la carte menu and the staff explained the a la carte menu is not available on Sunday until until 4:00pm as we offer a buffet lunch. I understand you were a little upset and suggested you had spoken to someone whose name you could not recall, who advised... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I had lunch here with some friends this week, at the Club House. The service was good. Friendly and warm staff. The food was good too though I must say my friends loved their food more than I did mine. I had the prawn skewers. Their fruit punch/fruit cocktail was fantastic! The view from the Club House is really nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
Management response:

Dear Terry, Thank you for this review. We are sorry the tower fans were not helpful during this rather hot, humid and still period. We have thought of ceiling fans in the dining area and we will certainly review this. The Sundowner has different opening times to the Clubhouse and if you could let me know – virginia@vipingoridge.com – the... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Visited supporting partner in an event. Most tables were 'reserved' no place to sit, no signage on the buffet for vegetarian or non pork eating persons and the servers were not sure. Really nothing that toddlers could eat on the buffet. They ran out of everything by 4pm. No water, no soda, no running water in the bathrooms, no icecream.... More 

Helpful?
Thank aatifa e
TwigaNairobi, General Manager at Vipingo Ridge, responded to this review

This review has been posted on the wrong TripAdvisor site. I believe it is intended for The Beach Bar, where the triathlon, the event the reviewer refers to, started and finished. Mike Round-Turner General Manager Vipingo Ridge Ltd More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely lot. Fabulous views that stretch for miles! The furniture needs some attention/cleaning. The craft fair had a diverse set of vendors tending to nearly every need.

Helpful?
Thank liberatedbytravel
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The view and the "wow" factor of the club house is a must see. However, there is a real lack of effort on the food front. it was extremely poor.

Helpful?
Thank Salima M
Management response:

Good morning, Vipingo Ridge would like to thank you for your visit and taking time to explore our facility. We appreciate the comment about food and in order to understand it and take appropriate remedial action, we ask for specific details in order to avoid a repeat experience. If this is agreeable to you, we would appreciate receiving it at... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

The food was very good but the ambience and view are the real draw. I enjoyed it and would go again plus recommend the place but wouldn't eat there every day. Too expensive. It's a treat and escape from the heat. Cool up there with a wonderful view as night sets. The evening fires light and mix with the clouds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam G
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Beach bar looking to rival the best French beach bars. Welcoming owners and wonderful white sand and relaxed atmosphere. Delicious food and a great way to enjoy an afternoon. It deserves to succeed.

Helpful?
Thank mct63
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

If this had 7 stars, would have given it 7*! What a treat! I was part of the Zulfiqar Cup tournament hosted on the wekeend of 23 September as part of society of 90 of us! I flew from the UK just for this and was worth every minute, The staff - were outstanding, very friendly, courteous and always at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abbas M
Management response:

Hello Abbas M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the fact that you chose Vipingo Ridge Resort for accommodation and golf and for participating in the just completed Golf Tournament organised by the Zulfikar Cup September 2016. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here from the food, PGA Baobab... More 

Travellers who viewed Vipingo Ridge also viewed

Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 

Been to Vipingo Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vipingo Ridge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?