We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House Of Blues

225 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1015
+1 504-310-4999
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Food just ok / Service sucked

Took 10 minutes to get our drinks and we had to call “Emma” over to take our order to which she... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
locosd40
,
Spokane, Washington
via mobile
Food was great, live music was even better

We decided to check out the HOB last night because it said there was live music playing. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Madi P
,
North Carolina
via mobile
Read all 455 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“gospel brunch” (59 reviews)
“voodoo shrimp” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
LOCATION
225 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1015
French Quarter
CONTACT
Website
+1 504-310-4999
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took 10 minutes to get our drinks and we had to call “Emma” over to take our order to which she said oh your ready. Then it literally took 25 more minutes to get our food, which was just ok. Went to the restroom halfway...More

Thank locosd40
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your experience at House of Blues New Orleans. Feedback such as yours has been vital to our success over the past 24 years, and we truly welcome any...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to check out the HOB last night because it said there was live music playing. The musician was super good and we had an array of appetizers and full meals. The pic is the 'Juicy Lucy' burger which is amazing! Any day would...More

Thank Madi P
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You can find live music at our house 7 nights a week, plus Friday and Saturday afternoon. Thank you for taking time to write about your visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You have to go to the Gospel Brunch at the House of Blues. Amazing food, amazing service and some amazing talent. They put on a fantastic show. It’s a must do when visiting New Orleans. You have to buy tickets in advance, so do yourself...More

Thank Bumble37
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback about our Gospel Brunch! You are correct, advance ticket purchase is recommended, as this event frequently sells out. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So my friend and I found ourselves wandering around on a Monday when not a whole lot is open. So we head in and try this place out. I got the flatbread which actually was pretty tasty. The staff was friendly and made sure that...More

Thank briardragon
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping by! The flatbreads on our menu are new additions, we're happy you enjoyed yours. We appreciate the time you took to write about our food, staff, and decorations. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended a party during a business trip. Nice location with 3 separate spaces. A stage with dance floor and balcony all the way in. the restaurant area and an outdoor patio. Staff were friendly and the sound system was great. Didn't lose my hearing.

Thank 597tedl
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

All of our rooms are available for private events. Our team works with event planners to customize each event, from decor, food, entertainment, and much more! We appreciate the time you took to write about the party you attended. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, what an experience! The food was delicious, the wait staff friendly and smiling. Enjoyed the show and the bottomless mimosas had me very happy! Great day out to sing, dance and wave that napkin in the air. Worth every penny. Don't forget to buy...More

Thank TipiHaereNZ
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Praise the Lord and pass the biscuits! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed our Sunday Gospel Brunch!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in for the Friday evening shrimp boil. Well cooked with potatoes and corn both good. Bet during crawfish season it's excellent. The band was Captain Bucket and it was a nice add to the evening in the courtyard of House of Blues. Beer was...More

Thank Nana T
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Awesome! Thanks for sharing! We're happy to see you enjoyed your evening with us. Our seafood boils do change from crawfish, crab to shrimp, based on the season. In addition, we offer fresh, chargrilled and our own house version grilled oysters. Check our calendar for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to do Happy Hour here as we were in-between meals and just got off the plane. Not a good idea. The menu had some interesting items on it and the drinks looked promising.My watermelon margarita tasted ok but had NO alcohol in it...More

Thank kstaunton
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We are going to address these issues with our team to ensure everyone is on the same page with food and drink preparation. Do you recall the date and time you visited? It might help...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the service, the ambience and the music. The cocktails (old-fashioned and bloody mary) were unique and delicious. The food was good and our waitress was friendly and efficient. The musician was very good and we enjoyed our evening very much....More

Thank Jean67212
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your feedback means a lot to us! Thank you for taking time to give us a try and for writing about it. We'll see you next time. Cheers!

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The four of.us went for the vampire ball Via style and that was a Huge waste of money. The music was terrible and the energy of the crowd was dark and somber... no smiles no laughter... Just darkness. We tried some of the via rooms,...More

Thank Lady T
Mikelle S, Guest Relations Manager at House Of Blues, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thanks for taking time to write about the Vampire Ball. We apologize the evening wasn't what you were expecting. This is a largely gothic based culture, which is the majority of the music being played that evening, including the band that was promoted for the...More

Nearby
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living
lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty
Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port
of call for folks in search of a good time and a great
story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs
across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied
around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively
well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Mr. Ed's Oyster Bar & Fish House, French Quarter
732 reviews
.06 km away
Huck Finn's Cafe
1,522 reviews
.07 km away
Mena's Palace
269 reviews
.10 km away
Envie Espresso Bar & Cafe
102 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
A Gallery For Fine Photography
10 reviews
.11 km away
The Michalopoulos Gallery
9 reviews
.15 km away
City Segway Tours New Orleans
1,445 reviews
.07 km away
Bullfrog Bike Tours
295 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
samguyana
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from lionlooksright | Reviewed this property |
Either is good - middle balcony for the view of the stage - back of main floor if you have people with mobility challenges or want to be closer to the food.
0
Votes
IndyDenise
22 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Trevor R | Reviewed this property |
We might of had the same voucher. We was able to use it on drinks ordered with our meal. Go hungry and thirsty.
1
Vote
nmcquire
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Janey M | Reviewed this property |
No. The meal is served during the performance and ticket price includes food. I wouldnt recommend the food anyway, or the venue for that matter.
1
Vote