We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Helicopter Line West Coast

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Main South Road | SH6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-752 0767
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced...

Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves and pinnacles in this largely inaccessible alpine region. All flights feature a snow landing. Alternatively combine a scenic helicopter flight with an unforgettable guided helihike amongst the glacial ice formations with the professional and experienced Franz Josef Glacier Guides.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$226.66*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
US$175.48*
and up
Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight
More Info
US$226.66*
and up
Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 217 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 155
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
To late

We arrived in town at the end of the day and wanted to do a helicopter tour the next day. Even we we're here on the shoulder season they we're fully booked. So if you want to do... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
IvoDeRooij
,
Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a heli hike tour a couple months earlier. At the day of the trip, they told us at the office it was cancelled due to bad water. We were disappointed that they didn't called/emailed us earlier to tell that the trip was cancelled. Instead we walked the franz josef glacier walk, which was really great!!

Helpful?
Thank Janine B
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We assess the weather for our flights on the day about an hour beforehand as it can be very unpredictable here on the West Coast. We are sorry to hear that your trip was cancelled and hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was enjoyable. Kind... More 

Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
560 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in town at the end of the day and wanted to do a helicopter tour the next day. Even we we're here on the shoulder season they we're fully booked. So if you want to do this book in advance. We ha e no experience with the real trip...

Helpful?
Thank IvoDeRooij
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that we were unable to book you onto one of our tours. As November is the beginning of our peak season we are becoming fully booked and early bookings are recommended. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand and still managed to see the... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Having travelled extensively to Africa, I am used to poorly organized operations, but this one kind of tops the list. There was a mix-up in our reservation. So after waking up at 5:30am to drive from Wanaka, we found out that we couldn't fly until noon. By that time, the sunny morning weather had vanished and we did most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurent L
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that there was a mix up with your reservation, and you weren’t able to get on the morning trip. Looking through our records, the check-in time stated in your voucher doesn’t actually correspond to any of our Heli Hikes. We have been in contact with your booking... More 

London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

With the scenery the way that it is it would be hard to fail at this. It's truly beautiful and should be experienced. The 30min flight was supposed to be 6-8 mins on the snow and the rest flying but we spent far longer on the snow then flew straight down from the glacier which left us feeling a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank freeball
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and you were able to see the glacier at its best with such great weather. Our pilots tend to be quite generous with the landing times so it can vary between 6-10 minutes which can make the flight feel like its shorter overall. We are... More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We did the 30 minute ride to the glaciers. We landed on one and stayed awhile walking around and taking pictures. It was the most amazing sunny day. Try to get in a morning flight because you never know what weather will move in. Lots of fun and beautiful views.

Helpful?
1 Thank Que-girl
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you had good weather so that you got a beautiful view of the scenery Franz Josef has to offer. We agree getting on a morning flight definitely gives you a better chance of sunny weather. Thank you for choosing to fly with us, the West Coast team. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

Took an early morning double glacier flight - weather was ok but the scenery was beautiful and the pilot was fantastic. Highlight of our time in Franz Josef!

Helpful?
1 Thank onthemishnz
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed taking in the views of both the Glaciers. Our pilots are happy to add to the experience by providing commentary during the flight (and maybe a few bad jokes along the way). Thank you for choosing to fly with us, the West Coast team. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I was originally booked in at the Franz Josef Glacier but unfortunately it rained us out. The Helicopter Line was happy to transfer my ticket to Queenstown which was our next destination. On reaching Queenstown, Kate from the Helicopter Line office came to collect us from the centre of town and delivered us to the airfield. The flight itself was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zorrobandito
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you managed to get on one of our scenic flights in Queenstown. Hopefully, if you pass through Franz Josef again, you will have more luck with the weather! Thank you from the West Coast team! More 

Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

there were too much cloud cover. The sights below and above the clouds were great but we missed the middle section. The neat part of the flight was landing on the snow. Please do not wear sandals on this trip. I survived with my sandals but I am a wild and crazy guy. I think the flight should have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 427BeatleBob
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately West Coast weather isn’t always great, but safety is very important to us and we will not fly if it is too cloudy or windy, which is also why we balance the passengers weights and must put the smallest passengers in the front seats. Footwear is normally checked upon check-in and sandals are not... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

A once in a lifetime, incredible and unforgettable experience. Went up with the family (2 adults and 2 kids) which wasn't cheap but was worth it. It was my daughters first snow experience which made it even more special. Although it was only a 20 minute trip incl. landing, the pilot didn't seem to rush us or the trip and... More 

Helpful?
Thank garnik01
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We try to offer the best price for our flights and are happy we could provide your family with such a special experience! Thank you for flying with us, the west coast team! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

We enjoyed the helicopter ride to the glacier and a quick circuit over the top, across the face and landing on the glacier. Our guide Mason met us and ensured our gear and crotons were on and secure. What an amazing place, walking over crevices, in large ice cracks, in small ice caves, all the while Mason 'picking' the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We and our guides are happy to share the beauty of the glacier with visitors from all over the world. We always strive to find the safest and most exciting way around the ice. Thank you for travelling with us, the West Coast team! More 

Travellers who viewed The Helicopter Line West Coast also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Helicopter Line West Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Helicopter Line West Coast and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Helicopter Line West Coast staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?