We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Ball Ferry Line

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 101 E Railroad Ave, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
+1 360-457-4491
Website
Today
07:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 776 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 409
    Excellent
  • 278
    Very good
  • 63
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
a great adventure

my first time on a ferry was great. If you leave at 8am at the right time of year (when I went) you get to see the sunrise and then on the 4pm trip back, the sunset. It was a... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
Stephanie P
,
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 766: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

my first time on a ferry was great. If you leave at 8am at the right time of year (when I went) you get to see the sunrise and then on the 4pm trip back, the sunset. It was a smooth ride with great views and friendly crew.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Blackball Ferry is the only game in town to get to Canada and be able to take your vehicle too. It is a 90 minute trip both ways but the time does go by quickly. The crew are friendly and helpful. They are handicap accessible and do take steps to ensure their safety. I'd suggest staying over night in... More 

Helpful?
Thank James D
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 4 days on the Black Ball Ferry going back and forth with a questionaire for them to answer. Out of all the people traveling, only 1 refused or opted out of filling out the paper. I would had the questionaire out and when I went to collect it, I got to talk to people from all over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackiepavlak
victoria, b.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They are on time....not fancy and could use some fixing up. It is easy to get to and from the terminals and customs officers are friendly. Very dependable. If taking a car....make a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank fcoopfaff
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a delightful, efficiently run experience. I booked a package deal with ferry, CVS shuttle and Butchart Gardens Christmas lights. My tickets were waiting for me when we checked in at the ticket counter. Everyone was friendly and efficient. We had a wonderful 3 days in Victoria - the only way to go.

Helpful?
Thank LWO_11
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This boat has just stairs cars parked so close together that you only skinny parole can get out. If your elderly obese or get motion sickness this is not for you -would not recommend

Helpful?
Thank Rowan A
MVCohoFerry, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review

Dear Rowan A, Thank you for taking the time to review our ferry service. We value your feedback. We'd like to address your concerns so that you might have a better experience on your next visit. In all of our facilities, on our website, and in our printed schedule brochure, we post the following or similar message: If you use... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Black Ball Ferry Line is well run, the ship is spotless, and the customer service is always good! The renovations to the dock on both sides are very nice.

Helpful?
Thank OceanGirl99
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found traveling on the Blackball Ferry line between Port Angeles, WA and Victoria, BC both convenient and easy to do. I would recommend making an advance reservation and arriving plenty early if you are traveling by car. You can get your car in line and then go into town if you don't want to wait there. I traveled the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpl100
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This 90 minute trip crosses the international boundary between the U.S. and Canada. The Black Ball Ferry has an attentive crew and if you have disabled or aged passengers they go out of their way to assist you with your voyage and making connections on either side of the border. Would recommend this to any others seeking a unique border... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron P
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I paid $11 to reserve the space, but unfortunately had to cancel (4 days in advance) due to changing plans. But they told me the reservation cannot be canceled and the reservation fee will not be refunded! And this policy is nowhere to be found on their website nor in booking process! Feels like a ripoff!

Helpful?
1 Thank Soxinly
MVCohoFerry, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review

Dear Soxinly, Thank you for taking the time to review our ferry service. We would like to explain our cancellation policy in further detail. When making a ferry reservation to guarantee your vehicle spot on a specific sailing, you pay a non-refundable reservation fee (as mentioned in our booking process), and you are asked to confirm (by checking the box)... More 

Travellers who viewed Black Ball Ferry Line also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Black Ball Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Ball Ferry Line and other visitors
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Black Ball Ferry Line staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?