We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Appalachian Adventures

#3 of 3 Tours in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2093 East Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
+1 540-743-7311
Website
Description:

RENTALS: ATVs, Jet-skis, canoes, fishing, party boats, and MORE! For...

RENTALS: ATVs, Jet-skis, canoes, fishing, party boats, and MORE! For things to do in Luray, VA.

WE BASE OUR OPERATION WITH THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING A GREAT EXPERIENCE BASED ON RESPECT AND FAIRNESS.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 103 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 72
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Heaven on earth

I'm not sure if I wrote a review already for this place but it was wonderful. Our horseback ride was great and our stay in the cabin by the river was romantic. It felt like we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Loveeddieable
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I'm not sure if I wrote a review already for this place but it was wonderful. Our horseback ride was great and our stay in the cabin by the river was romantic. It felt like we were in heaven but in earth. I know it's because the amazing man I was with but Appalachian Adventures did a great job making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loveeddieable
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

It is so REFRESHING to see a review that compliments our efforts. We are very grateful to you and most of all, we are very happy that you were pleased. Our doors are always open for you, as well as for all others who've told us of the great times they enjoyed while in our premises or activities. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite the photos on their website, UTVs are NOT available. When asked about UTVs being shown on the site, they argue the point by saying, "The pictures are just for pretty pictures. They don't show people MOVING, now do they?" Friendliness and customer service obviously aren't their thing. "Appalachian Adventures - when the customer is always WRONG, WRONG, WRONG!" Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rockstar5000
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

Hi, Mr. Rockstar5000, I remember talking to you, and you getting upset because we couldn't allow your wife ride double. The legalities of our operation dictate what we can or can not do; you insisted that the website shows a couple, and I explained that pictures are only for marketing, but my explanation is what we must go by. Other... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had a great time. Great tour guide. Only complaint is that we didn't use up all our time riding. Other than that it was great.

Helpful?
Thank Phil C
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

We do thank you for coming and will ask guide about your comment regarding not using all the time riding. There is always room for improvement, and we grow from honest and constructive criticism. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We were there for a couple's get away for my girlfriend and I. The hosts were very nice hosts and our stay was very pleasant. Very clean cabin. It has an amazing fireplace to cuddle in front of and a fully stocked kitchen. But make sure to bring your paper towels, dish soap, toilet paper, and sponge because they didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay (courteous guests such as you are the reason for which we continue with the business.) We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The only reason for 4* is limited initial info. It would help many, myself included, about available routes, entrance/exit points, etc. Overall, everything is well organized. Very good experience for families with kids.

Helpful?
Thank niksk001
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again. Glad to see that it was a very good experience for you. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This was so much fun! Patricia, who we booked with was very friendly and had great customer service. She was so much fun we wished she was coming along for the ride with us! Once we got to the trail we meet with our tour guide Lee. He was walked us through how to work the ATVs and made sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank E6164TPdianes
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for such nice comments. Appalachian Adventures is the Gateway to the Great Outdoors, and our job is to train, keep you safe, and make wonderful memories. Glad to hear that we accomplished that. Thanks for choosing us. More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor but still went ahead with the booking. Making the booking was painful. I emailed them using their email link and heard nothing back. Phoned them and the lady was aggressive and said she’d phone back as she was currently doing paperwork with another group. She never did so I followed back up with an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Just_a_normal_mom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Ed & I had a great time on our much needed getaway this weekend. We were welcomed with open arms and the adventure started there. We went for a horseback ride Sunday morning and the staff just wonderful. It gave you the personal family type of feeling. During our ride the view was breathtaking. Our horses were Cheyenne & Lady.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loveeddieable
Manchester, PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We rented Three Sisters for the weekend. The trip to get to it (from 211) is an experience. Make sure your vehicle is up to it. The cabin is lovely and we had plenty of room for the 6 of us. There are two figurines on the fireplace and our 30+ in age kids kept wondering where the other sister... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HELJAN
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kindness and review. We also hope that you enjoyed the location for it's prime real-state, next to the Shenandoah National Park, and only 4 miles away from the Luray Caverns, our outdoor activities, and many other Luray attractions. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our arrival was greeted with a nice cabin surrounded by beautiful scenery which made this place a great choice for labor day; however, as we opened the door, we soon realized their was no electricity. Having checked the fridge, I noticed a strange odor and it was unpleasantly dirty, evident by the dried liquid stain on the bottom drawer that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
AppAdv, Manager at Appalachian Adventures, responded to this review

We do confirm that two of these four cabins did suffer an outage of electricity, which, thanks to the professionalism and prompt response of our Electric Company, the problem was solved within the hour. We are very sorry that these people became alarmed and caused their vacation to start on a wrong note. We do send our sincere apologies for... More 

Travellers who viewed Appalachian Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Appalachian Adventures and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Appalachian Adventures staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?