We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Explosion! Museum of Naval Firepower

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Royal Naval Armament Depot Priddys Hard Heritage Way, Gosport PO12 4LE, England
Phone Number:
+44 23 9250 5600
Website
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.40*
and up
Portsmouth Historic Dockyard: All Attraction Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 239 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 116
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Super friendly staff and a nice café.

A compact museum. Easy to walk around, can be done in an hour, but better to spend 2 to fully take in all on offer. exhibits arranged into historical and topical sections... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 February 2017
Yvonne749
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is very good value for money especially if you get the combined ticket which includes a boat trip to the Submarine Museum & HMS Alliance and over to Portsmouth and back. If you don't manage to fit everything in you can continue where you left off at a later date.

Helpful?
Thank Ged M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017

A compact museum. Easy to walk around, can be done in an hour, but better to spend 2 to fully take in all on offer. exhibits arranged into historical and topical sections including guns, cannons, torpedoes, missiles and mines.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne749
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
749 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

The museum covers everything explosive from pistols to nuclear weapons. The museum is relatively small and unless your very keen you can see everything in 1-2 hours. We went as it was covered by the annual Portsmouth historic dockyard ticket there is also a ferry between explosion and the dockyard although it is not very regular, I don't think the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilcoxm51
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our entrance price for the museum is in line with other museums and attractions locally and offers our visitors the chance to see a fascinating collection of naval firepower. The waterbus to the museum is governed by tidal movements and due to the location of the... More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

It takes a bit of finding but is well worth a visit. Fascinating exhibits in a harbourside location.

Helpful?
Thank Phil P
Management response:

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are a hidden gem in Gosport. On top of our wonderful collection, the views out into Portsmouth harbour from the camber are outstanding. More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We came here for wedding ceremony and it was absolutely fantastic. The room they do the ceremony in is so nice and well laid out with soft lighting to really set the mood for the happy couple. Not what I was expecting to be fair. We also got to go round the museum it self. Which I must add is... More 

Helpful?
Thank McMu6298
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad the wedding ceremony went well and we look forward to welcoming you back to the museum in the near future. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Superb location in Gosport with waterfront cafe. Ticket price included in Portsmouth Naval Base heritage ticket with free water bus transport Portsmouth-Gosport. However Explosion museum is only open at weekends in winter months so check on availability. Interactive displays suitable for children.

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Management response:

Thank you for your kind feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

We were greeted by a very helpful and friendly girl called Hannah who made us feel very welcome. She informed us about each area and where to look for any information we needed. The venue is very well laid out and is of great historical value. You can easily imagine what went on all those years ago.

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit. Its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

Front desk little help about displays .Expensive cafe ,where dirty tables stay uncleared for ages & food debris on floor.Tables and chairs outside ,rarely enough put up.End up having to erect them ourselves whilst staff look on ! Safety issues outside with young children & proximity to big drop into water. Not enough guides available. Excessive pricing ,especially for pensioners.... More 

Helpful?
Thank vorders99
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your visit from what I assume is well over a year ago due to some of the points you mentioned. I was sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and I would like to assure you we take your feedback seriously. It would have been great... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Held our office Christmas party at Explosion in December 2016 and what an awful night it was. When we arrived there was no heating and it was like an icebox. Some of our ladies had to resort to sitting with their coats on whilst we had our meal. On approaching the staff about it we were told that a new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Went to the dock yards on Portsmouth and paid for tickets and there was signs indicating it was open. Checked online and it was open. Traveled to gosport and went all the way there just to find it was shut. Signs in the gates indicated it should be open. These guys obviously don't have much interest in customer expectations. Cheers... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter p

Travellers who viewed Explosion! Museum of Naval Firepower also viewed

 

Been to Explosion! Museum of Naval Firepower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explosion! Museum of Naval Firepower staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?